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DEALER-OPERATOR COURSE & TEST 
 
Legislation adopted by the 2005 General Assembly will require, beginning January 1, 2006, all applicants for a 
dealer-operator license for an independent dealership to complete a course of study before taking the dealer-
operator test.  Those who are listed with the Board as the dealer-operator of independent dealerships as of 
December 31, 2005, will be “grandfathered”.  That is, they will not be required to take the course of study.  
(Dealer-operators of franchise dealerships are exempt from the course requirements.) 
 
If, on December 31 you are the dealer-operator of an independent dealership, you will not be required to take the 
course of study as long as you maintain your dealer-operator license. 
 
The Virginia Community College System and the Virginia Independent Automobile Dealers Association (VIADA) 
have teamed up to present the two-day required course at least once each month at one of the many Community 
College campuses throughout the state. 
 
The first two–day course was held at the Norfolk Campus of Tidewater Community College (TCC) on December 14 
and 15.  The January course will be held at the Community College Workforce Alliance’s North Run Corporate 
Center. ( Located across the street from the J. Sargeant Reynolds Parham Campus.)  The North Run Corporate 
Center is located 1630 East Parham Road, Richmond, Virginia 23228. More information and registration materials 
are available by calling 804-523-2292 or the Web at www.ccwa.vccs.edu.  Type “dealer” in the “Find a Class” box. 
The course will run from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm each day. 
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HOLIDAY HOURS 
 

In observance of the upcoming holidays, all state 
agencies, including the Dealer Board, will be closed on 

the following dates: 

 
 

CHRISTMAS 
December 23, 2005 
December 26, 2005 

 
NEW YEARS 

January 2, 2006 
 

LEE-JACKSON DAY 
January 13, 2006 

 
MARTIN LURTHER KING DAY 

January 16, 2006 
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BOARD ACTIONS 
 
Dealer Records:  A Dealer in Haymarket had a history 
of unsatisfactory inspections related to numerous, on-
going violations of record keeping requirements.  In 
February of 2003, the dealer was assessed and paid a 
$1,500 civil penalty for violations of record keeping 
requirements.  As these problems continued, an 
informal fact-finding conference was convened.  Based 
on the evidence and the hearing officer’s 
recommendation, the Board voted to assess a $3,000 
civil penalty and revoke all licenses and certificates 
issued to the dealer by the Board. The dealer will have 
33 days to either pay the civil penalty or appeal the 
Board’s decision and request a formal hearing. 
 
Temporary Tag Records:  An informal fact finding 
conference was convened for a Richmond area dealer 
for alleged record keeping violations related to 
temporary tags.  After hearing all of the facts, the 
hearing officer believed that the dealer had not 
maintained records as required by law, but the Board 
Staff had erred in citing the wrong section of the Code.  
The hearing officer recommended and the Board 
agreed that no action be taken at this time against the 
dealer. 
 
Salesperson Application:   In June of this year, an 
informal fact finding conference was convened to 
determine what action, if any, should be taken by the 
Board against a licensed salesperson who had been 
convicted of two felonies related to the business of 
selling motor vehicles.  Based on the facts of the case 
and the hearing officer’s report, and acting under the 
authority granted to the executive director by the 
Board, the executive director revoked the salesperson’s 
license.  The salesperson appealed this decision. 
 
In August of 2005, a formal hearing was conducted.  
Based on the information provided at the conference, 
the hearing officer recommended that the Board impose 
civil penalties totaling $4,000 and suspend the sales 
license for nine (9) months. 
 
After considering the facts of the case and the hearing 
officer’s report, the Board voted to assess a $4,000 civil 
penalty and a six month suspension and require that 
the salesperson submit a letter from the General  
Manager and owner of the dealership employing the 
salesperson, stating whether or not the salesperson is 
in good standing with the dealership.  This decision may 
be appealed to circuit court. 
 

(Continued on page 3) 
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in Dealer Talk is accurate, but it is not a substitute 
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Calendar of Events 
All Meetings held at DMV Headquarters 

2300 W. Broad Street, Room 702  
Richmond, VA 

 
Monday, January 9, 2006 
Time: 8:30 a.m. 
Dealer Practices Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, January 9, 2006 
Time: Immediately following Dealer Practices 
Licensing Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, January 9, 2006 
Time:  9:30 a.m. 
Advertising Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, January 9, 2006 
Time: Immediately following Advertising 
Transaction Recovery Fund Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, January 9, 2006 
Time: 10:00 a.m. 
Full Board Meeting 
 
NOTE: Meetings may begin later, but not 
  earlier than scheduled.  Meeting 
  end times are approximate. 
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BOARD ACTIONS 
(Continued from page 2) 

 
Request for a Variance from the Minimum 
Hours Requirements:  The Board has the 
authority to exempt dealers, “for good cause”, from 
the minimum hours requirements as stated in the 
law.  A dealer who specializes in the sale of 
ambulance type vehicles requested a variance to 
reduce his minimum hours of operation to 9:00 a.m. 
to 12:00 p.m. every Monday for a total of three (3) 
hours per week.  In his request, the dealer stated 
that none of their business is “walk in”. After some 
discussion, the Board decided to table this request 
until the January Board meeting. 
 
Motor Vehicle Transaction Recovery Fund:  At 
the September Board meeting, the Transaction 
Recovery Fund Committee and the Board 
considered and approved the following two claims: 
 
• A consumer filed a claim against Betterdays 

Auto Sales, a dealership owned and operated by 
Mr. Augustine Amagoh of Richmond.  The 
dealership is no longer in business. The 
consumer had been awarded judgment in court 
for “improper conduct, fraud and/or violations of 
the provisions of the Dealer Laws in connection 
with the sale of a motor vehicle”.  The Board 
approved payment from the Fund in the amount 
of $3,240.00. 

 
• A consumer filed a claim against Imperial Motors 

of Christiansburg, a dealership owned and 
operated by Mr. Gregory Nagy of Christiansburg.  
The consumer had been awarded judgment in 
court by a jury for Common Law Fraud and 
violations of the Virginia Consumer Protection 
Act.  The Board approved payment from the 
Fund in the amount of $12,318.65. 

 

 
 

DEALER-OPERATOR COURSE & TEST 
(Continued from page 1) 

 
Registration information is also available through the 
MVDB at 877-270-0203 and VIADA at 800-394-1960.  
 
The cost is $300 and must be submitted by check or 
credit card, payable to the college, and submitted with 
the registration. 

DEALER-OPERATOR COURSE & TEST 
(Continued from previous column) 

 
Course delivery dates at these colleges will be announced 
in the near future. 
 

Blue Ridge Community College 
Central Virginia Community College 
Danville Community College 
J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College 
John Tyler Community College 
Lord Fairfax Community College 
Germanna Community College 
Patrick Henry Community College 
Paul D. Camp Community College 
Virginia Highlands Community College 
Wytheville Community College 

 
Remember – anyone can take the class.  You may want 
to consider sending your sales/general manager, title 
clerk, dealer-operator and you may even attend yourself! 
 
Also, in late December, a new dealer-operator test will be 
implemented.  The new test will require the applicant to 
correctly answer 80% of the questions on the test.  
(Sixty-four out of eighty questions.) 

The test will continue to be given on the automated 
testing machines located in DMV Customer Service 
Centers.  A Study Guide can be seen and printed from 
our WEB site (WWW.mvdb.virginia.gov), click on 
“Dealer/Salesperson Info” and then click on “Forms”.  
Scroll down the list of forms and click on MVDB 34 for the 
dealer-operator Study Guide and MVDB 35 for the 
salesperson Study Guide, or one can be mailed to you by 
calling 804-367-1100 or from outside of Richmond, toll 
free at 877-270-0203. 

 

 
ADi Motorsports 

 
 

Governor Warner recently announced that ADi 
Motorsports, a subsidiary of American Detail, Inc., 
will expand its facility in Halifax County. The 
company will create 32 new positions to do the 
fabrication, detail and top and body repair for race 
cars. This expansion includes the launch of a new 
race team in the Grand American Rolex Sports Car 
Series at Virginia International Raceway (VIR). 
Virginia successfully competed against North 
Carolina for the project. 
 
 

(Continued on page 4) 
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ADi Motorsports 
(Continued from page 3) 

 
"ADi Motorsports' expansion in Halifax County is a 
significant announcement for the region as well as 
the motorsports industry," said Governor Warner. 
"It is exciting to see our Virginia Motorsports 
Initiative accomplish its purpose of supporting 
existing industry and promoting motorsports-related 
jobs. Virginia has a strong cluster of racing venues 
and motorsports businesses, and I am gratified that 
ADi Motorsports has chosen to build on the existing 
assets of Halifax County and VIR." 
 
American Detail moved to VIR after 15 years of 
servicing the commercial paint, body and graphics 
needs of its customers in Greensboro, North 
Carolina. American Detail moved to VIR to become 
situated in an area that would allow the company to 
pursue racing customers and an eventual race team 
ownership. American Detail founded ADi 
Motorsports in early 2005 after adding Shawn 
Bayliff, a former Karting, Sprint Car and Sports Car 
Club of America champion, to head up its racing 
program. 
 
"We are very happy to be a part of what we feel will 
become a major hotbed for the migration of more 
race teams," said Hassel Moran, President, ADi 
Motorsports. "We look forward to helping those 
teams with all their needs, as well as demonstrating 
our racing prowess in the highly competitive and 
fast-growing sport of sports car racing and the 
Grand Am Rolex Series. The growth of VIR and the 
attention to making it a first-class facility makes it 
the perfect place to continue with our racing 
business plans." 
 
"We are so excited about working with ADi on this 
announcement," said William Fitzgerald, Chairman 
of the Halifax County Board of Supervisors. "It is a 
great opportunity for Halifax County to diversify our 
economy and expand our motorsports market." 
 
Mike Eades, Executive Director of the Industrial 
Development Authority of Halifax County stated, 
"ADi understands that Halifax County is serious 
about the motorsports industry. The Virginia 
International Raceway complex provides us with a 
unique selling point to this booming industry." 
 
 

HELPFUL TIPS AND 
REMINDERS 

 
Temporary Certificate (DSD 5):  Virginia law states 
that you must retain an original copy of each of these 
forms you complete and issue for a period of five years.  
Further, they must be maintained “ . . . in a manner that 
permits systematic retrieval.”  (Va. Code Section 46.2-
1529.) 
 
Salesperson License Required:  Please remember 
that salespersons must be licensed in the name of your 
dealership in order to sell or participate in the sale of 
motor vehicles.  Allowing someone to sell vehicles 
without first being licensed could cost you up to $1,000 
in civil penalties per vehicle sold.  The “Dealer Database 
Search” feature on the Board’s WEB site 
(www.mvdb.virginia.gov) allows you to view a list of 
salespersons licensed to your dealership. 
 

 


