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TRUTH INTRUTH IN
LENDINGLENDING
Please remember that if, in an advertisement, you
state both the interest rate (“APR”) and the number of
payments, you must then include a full disclosure
under the Federal Truth in Lending Laws.  The APR
stated by itself is fine.  When the number of payments
are included, you must then include the full disclosure.

By statute, Virginia incorporates into its laws, the
Federal Truth in Lending/Leasing Regulations.  In other
words, when it comes to Truth in Lending/Leasing,
Virginia Law and Federal Regulations are the same.
The only difference is that violations of Virginia Laws
carry a civil penalty of up to $1,000 per occurrence
while the Federal Regulations carry penalties
exceeding $10,000 for each occurrence.  It is our
understanding that the Federal Trade Commission

CAR TAXCAR TAX
Governor Gilmore's historic no car tax plan was
enacted by the 1998 General Assembly.  Phased
in over a five-year period, the personal property
tax for qualifying vehicles will be eliminated for
taxpayers on the first $20,000 of their vehicle's
value.

Dealers play an integral part in ensuring that your
customers receive the tax relief due them
because the titling and registration information
you supply to the Department of Motor Vehicles
(DMV) is used by local government officials to
identify which vehicles qualify for tax relief.
Therefore, it is important to ensure that:

1. the bill of sale, title application, and
registration form include the correct name of
your customer(s),

2. the title application and registration form for a
leased vehicle show the leasing company, not
the lessee, as the owner,

3. all DMV paperwork shows the correct gross
vehicle weight, and

4. the garage jurisdiction shown on DMV
paperwork is actually the county, city, or town
in which the vehicle will be garaged rather
than the city or town included in the mailing
address.

Through a combined partnership of businesses,
localities, and the Commonwealth, we can provide
real tax relief to all taxpayers who own qualifying
vehicles.  If you have questions, please call DMV's
Customer Service Desk for Personal Property Tax
Relief at (804) 356-6476.
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(FTC) is currently involved in at least one “Truth in
Lending” situation involving a Virginia dealer.

REMINDERS &REMINDERS &
USEFUL TIPSUSEFUL TIPS
Power of Attorney.  Please note that the VSA
70 (“Power of Attorney”) cannot be used to
disclose mileage (odometer readings) as it does
not conform with the requirements of the Federal
Truth in Mileage law.  Therefore, the VSA 70
should only be used in instances where no
mileage disclosure is required.  Only the VAD
70A, “Secure Power of Attorney”, meets the
Federal Truth in Mileage law.  Of course, the title
itself is a secure document and may always be
used to disclose mileage.

Correspondence.  Help us help you by
including your “dealer number”, your name, the
dealership name, street and mailing address (if
different) and telephone number on all
correspondence you send to us.  Having this
information helps us provide faster service to
you.

Advertising.  One of the most common errors
made in dealer advertising is omitting the "sale
end date".  Whenever you advertise a "sale", you
must indicate a sale end date.

Internet.  Many dealers are now using the
internet to sell their products.  This maybe
through on-line classified advertisement or your
own WEB page.  In either case, please remember
that advertising laws and regulations apply to all
types of advertising, including these done over
the internet.

Check Your Renewal Packages. When you
receive your license renewal package from the
Board, please check it carefully.  Be sure that
there is a preprinted application card in the
package for each and every salesperson in your
employ.  Check especially for salespeople you
have recently hired.  If you are missing any
applications, contact the Board right away.  Also,
remind your sales staff to carefully read and
answer every question on the application.

Do You Own More Than One Dealership?  If
you do, you may want to consider shifting your
license renewal dates so that all of your
dealership licenses are renewed in the same
month.  In addition, you may want the renewal
materials for all of your dealerships sent to a
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Calendar of Events

Monday, November 16, 1998:
Place: DMV Headquarters
Time: 9:00 a.m.
Transaction Recovery Fund Committee Meeting

Monday, November 16, 1998:
Place: DMV Headquarters
Time: 10:00 a.m.
Licensing Committee Meeting

Monday, November 16, 1998:
Place: DMV Headquarters
Time: 1:00 p.m.
Dealer Practices Committee Meeting

Monday, November 16, 1998:
Place: DMV Headquarters
Time: 3:00 p.m.
Advertising Committee Meeting

Tuesday, November 17, 1998
Place: DMV Headquarters
Time: 8:30 a.m.
Finance Committee Meeting

Tuesday, November 17, 1998
Place: DMV Headquarters
Time: 9:00 a.m.
Franchise Law Committee Meeting

Tuesday, November 17, 1998
Place: DMV Headquarters
Time: 9:30 a.m.
Full Board Meeting
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ACTIONS:
• At its September meeting, the Board

considered six claims against the Motor
Vehicle Dealer Transaction Recovery Fund.
After reviewing each claim, the Board
voted to pay five of the claims and deny
one.  Dealers who are the subjects of
these claims will be given 30 days to pay
the consumer.  If the dealer fails to pay
the consumer, then payment will be made
from the Fund.  Once that is done, the
dealer will have 30 more days to repay the
Fund.  Failure to repay the Fund will result
in license revocation.

• Advertising Violations: During the months
of July and August, Board staff issued 24
first violation “educational/warning
letters”.  One “second violation” letter was
sent.  Second violations are subject to a
$500 civil penalty.  These numbers are
considerably lower than in previous
months, which may indicate that our
educational efforts are paying-off, thereby
leveling the advertising playing field.

• Civil penalties were assessed by the Board
against five dealers who employed, in a
sales capacity, individuals that were not
licensed as salespersons.  Penalties ranged
from $200 to $5,000 depending on the
severity and previous violation history of
the dealer.

• Also, at the September Board meeting, all
licenses issued by the Board to a dealer
were revoked.  The dealer willfully failed to
comply with the Motor Vehicle Dealer Laws
subsequent to receiving a written warning
from the Board and for leasing, renting,
lending or otherwise allowing the use of a
dealer’s license plate by persons not
specifically authorized to do so).

• At the July Board Meeting, a dealer was
assessed a civil penalty for selling vehicles
from a location other than from their
licensed location.  This dealer has since
asked for an administrative hearing.

             (Continued next column)

ACTIONS:
(Continued from previous column)

• Two of the dealers who were assessed a
civil penalty at the July Board meeting for
allowing an unlicensed individual to sell
vehicles for that dealer, have requested an
administrative hearing.  A third dealer has
paid the assessed civil penalty.

• A dealer who had his license revoked at the
July Board meeting for selling/renting his
temporary tags/dealer tags has requested
an administrative hearing.

Editors Note:  Dealers have the option of
“appealing” any of the above Dealer Board
decisions by requesting a hearing in front of a
hearing officer.

GUILTY OFGUILTY OF
CURBSTONINGCURBSTONING
We are often under the impression that
judges and law enforcement officials do not
take the crime of curbstoning very seriously.
About a year age an Amherst man was found
guilty of “curbstoning”.  As you probably
know, curbstoning is the practice of selling,
motor vehicles without a license.  A DMV
investigator working with the local sheriff’s
office gathered the evidence for this
successful prosecution.  The curbstoner
pleaded guilty to selling seven cars although
authorities believed he had sold at least 33
automobiles over a three-year period.  The
curbstoner was fined $2,500 and 12 months
in jail, all of which was suspended.

This case is clear evidence that working with
local law enforcement officials, judges will
take the crime of curbstoning seriously.
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"NEW" ADVERTISING"NEW" ADVERTISING
REGULATIONSREGULATIONS
Article 9 of the Motor Vehicle Dealer Laws (Title
46.2 of the Code of Virginia) address “dealer
advertising.”  In order to clarify these laws, the
Board has adopted a set of Regulations known as
the “Motor Vehicle Dealer Advertising Practices
and Enforcement Regulations.” (Virginia
Administrative Code 24 VAC 22-30-10 et. Seq.)
The Regulations clarify some of the laws, which
are rather general by setting out specifics.  The
regulations also provide a comprehensive
document on motor vehicle advertising.

Based on comments received from dealers and
experiences of the staff in enforcing the
regulations, the Board began a regulation review
process about one year ago.  This process has
now been completed and attached you will find a
revised version of the advertising regulations.  As
you review the attached, language that is
underlined is “new” language and language that
is stricken through is “old” language that has
been deleted.  In order to determine the end
result, simply read the language that is neither
underlined nor stricken and the language that is
underlined.  Please contact the Board Office if
you would like a copy of the regulations, which
only show the final results.  The revisions are
effective October 1, 1998.

The review process included seeking and
receiving input from dealer associations, public
discussions at Dealer Board meetings, publication
of proposed changes in the Virginia Register of
Regulations, summaries and updates published
in past issues of “Dealer Talk” and through a
series of public hearings conducted throughout
the Commonwealth.

A summary of the changes to the regulations are
as follows:

• The regulations frequently use the word
“advertisement” however the old regulations
do not define this word.  Further, new
technology such as the Internet has changed
the way in which business can be conducted.
In order to stay current, the new regulations
include definitions for: Advertisement”,
“Internet” and “On-Line Service”.

   (Continued next column)

"NEW" ADVERTISING"NEW" ADVERTISING
REGULATIONSREGULATIONS (Continued from previous
column)

• The Dealer Advertising Laws and Regulations
state that when advertising a “used” car, the
fact that it is used must clearly be stated.
The old regulations indicated that by way of
example, the term “special purchase” by itself
was not sufficient to indicate that a car was
“used”.  When using that term, the
advertisement must include a disclosure that
this is a “used car”.  The new regulations
have added the term “program cars” as
another example of a term that requires a
disclosure.  This has been the practice for
many years.

• The 1998 General Assembly amended Article
9 of the Motor Vehicle Dealer Act relating to
Motor Vehicle Dealer Advertising.  Specifically,
changes were made effective October 1, 1998
concerning the typeface to be used in
disclosing processing fee, and freight and
destination charges in advertisements.  These
Code changes have been incorporated into
the new regulations.

• The old Regulations prohibit the use of
“dealer rebates” and offers to match down
payments or guarantee minimum trade-in
allowances.  The new Regulations clarify what
constitutes a dealer rebate by adding the
term “offers of cash or money back” as a form
of a dealer rebate.

• The Code of Virginia states that “‘free,’ ‘at no
cost,’ or other words to that effect shall not
be used unless the ‘free’ item is available
without a purchase.”  Defining “other words
to that effect” has been a source of some
confusion to dealers.  The new Regulations
include a list of prohibited terms.  Please note
that terms not listed could still be judged as
not being allowed.

• Finally, the Board has used this opportunity to
“clean up” some of the language in the old
regulations.  For instance, substituting the full
word ‘advertisement’ where it once referred
to an ‘ad.’

If you have any questions about these
regulations, do not hesitate to call the Board
Office.
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ATTENTION ALL DEALERS:
Inside this issue, please read about the following:

1. TRUTH IN LENDING
2. CAR TAX
3. REMINDERS & USE FUL TIPS
4. CALENDAR OF EVENTS
5. ACTIONS!
6. GUILTY OF CURBSTONING
7. "NEW" ADVERTISING REGS.


