

COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

Richard D. Holcomb Commissioner

Department of Motor Vehicles 2300 West Broad Street

Post Office Box 27412 Richmond, VA 23269-0001

March 1, 2014

To: Virginia Automobile Dealers Association (VADA), Virginia Independent Automobile

Dealers Association (VIADA), Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB), and all Virginia

Motor Vehicle Dealers

From: Karen Grim, Senior Assistant Commissioner

Driver, Vehicle and Data Management Services

Subject: Upcoming Changes to the Print on Demand (PoD) 30-day Temporary Tag

Program

This letter is to inform you of the upcoming changes impacting dealer PoD temporary tag transactions. These changes were mentioned in our February 4, 2014, communication to all dealers and will be implemented on March 6, 2014.

DMV has enhanced the PoD temp tag program to include modifications to the original and the extension transactions for temporary tags.

Dealerships will no longer have the capability of issuing more than two consecutive temp tags to a vehicle. If a third PoD temp tag is attempted, the following error message will appear: "T2160 - VIN/CUST MAX NO. REACHED. SEND REQUEST TO PODTEMPTAG@DMV.VIRGINIA.GOV". In the rare case that an additional temp tag is needed, the dealership will need to send a detailed email to the PoD temp tag address (podtemptag@dmv.virginia.gov) indicating why the additional 30-day temp tag is needed. The email should include the following information:

- Dealership Name
- Certificate number/dealer number
- Customer Number
- Customer Name
- Vin number
- Purchase Date
- Detailed description of why the vehicle cannot be titled into the customer's name
- Provide supporting documentation

Dealer Services will be available to process all requests during the following business hours: (This excludes all federal and state holidays)

- Monday Friday 8:15 a.m. 5:00 p.m.
- Saturday 8:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m.

All requests will be handled on a priority basis and should be processed within a period not to exceed two hours. The dealership will receive a confirmation email indicating whether the issuance of a subsequent temp tag has been approved or denied.

Phone: (804) 497-7100 TDD: 1-800-272-9268 Web site: www.dmvNOW.com

All Virginia Motor Vehicle Dealers Page 2 March 1, 2014

The following reminders provide important information impacting dealer transactions.

- Currently, the Online Dealer program has fields for 'Sales Price' and 'Manufacturer Rebate/Incentive'. Effective March 6th an additional field will be present for 'Total Vehicle Price'. This will assist in determining an accurate sales price which is used to calculate sales and use tax (SUT).
- Dealers currently not participating in the PoD temp tag program are encouraged to contact a PoD vendor as soon as possible. For a list of PoD vendors, visit www.dmvNOW.com > Commercial Services > Dealer Services > Print on Demand Temporary Tags.
- All vehicles must be titled within 30 days of purchase, as required by law.
- PoD temp tags on bond paper and plastic sleeves are no longer authorized for use. This change was effective July 1, 2013. All PoD temp tags must be printed on the weather resistant paper supplied by DMV Dealer Services.

It is important to note that continued use of the plastic sleeves and bond paper may result in the loss of your privileges to participate in the PoD program. Also, law enforcement may ticket vehicle owners whose vehicles display the bond paper and plastic sleeves for illegal use of license plates.

To place an order for the weather resistant paper, email podtemptag@dmv.virginia.gov.

For more information contact the Dealer Services Help Desk at (804) 367-0901.