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REMINDERS pg. 2, 3, 4,  

 

Upcoming Events! 

Next meeting is  
Monday 07/10/2023 
Board Meeting In person at the DMV 
2300 W. Broad St. Room 702, 
Richmond VA, 23220 
 

Click here for more details on the 

next Board Meeting Details 

Our Field Representatives are uncovering more unlicensed salespersons 

during their random inspections.  Dealers are reminded to submit the 

MVDB 61 (salesperson application) for salespeople, F & I employees, 

dealer-operators, managers and anyone who will be involved with 

customers in selling vehicles. Allowing your employees to sell vehicles 

without first being licensed could cost you up to $1,000 in civil penalties 

per vehicle sold. It is the responsibility of the dealership to make sure that 

all employees involved in the selling of vehicles are properly licensed. 

Remember that applicants may NOT engage in any sales activities until 

the sales license is processed by the MVDB. 

 

June 2023 

Issue 147 

Inside this issue: 

To ensure MVDB can  

communicate promptly with 

Dealers, and that you receive all 

the MVDB correspondence; the 

Board recommends all dealerships 

and dealer-operators do the 

following:  

• An “official” email address is 

registered with MVDB.  If you 

need to submit or update your 

email address please send to 

dboardreply@mvdb.virginia.go

v.  Please include your Dealer 

Certificate number and name 

for processing.…    Cont’d on pg. 4 

In 2023 Virginia was the first state to 

put forward legislation that will 

outline concrete protections to the 

franchise system and support 

consumer choice. 

To address the manufacturer-

controlled model, HB 1469 bill 

protects dealers as independent 

sellers of new vehicles. Under the 

HB 1469 bill, a manufacturer CAN 

NOT do the following: 

• Negotiate the sale or lease of a 

vehicle directly with 

consumers....Cont’d on pg. 4 

https://mvdb.virginia.gov/board-meeting-library/
mailto:dboardreply@mvdb.virginia.gov
mailto:dboardreply@mvdb.virginia.gov
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REMINDERS                         IDO Recertification 

ALL Independent Dealer Operators (IDO) of  independent dealerships must recertify 

their IDO qualification every two years by either taking a digital course (via zoom) or an 

in person classroom course through an approved MVDB vendor.  Click HERE for 

more information about the Recertification program.  Please note that dealers with 

Franchise endorsements are exempt from recertification.  If  you are unclear about your 

recertification deadline click HERE, and if  you have any other recertification questions, 

contact Ann Majors at the MVDB.  She may be reached at 804-998-7785 or email at 

ann.majors@mvdb.virginia.gov. 

Please join us in welcoming our newest Board 

member, Donald Sullivan of Sullivan Auto Trading 

in Fredericksburg, Virginia.  Don has been with 

Sullivan Auto Trading for more than 30 years and 

previously served on the Board.  The Motor Vehicle 

Dealer Board consists of 19 members, 17 dealer 

members appointed by the Governor, and 

approved by the General Assembly. Ten members 

are Franchise dealers, one member is a consumer 

advocate (not involved in the dealer business), 

and seven are Independent dealers.  The DMV 

Commissioner, the final Board member, serves as 

the Board’s Chairman. Don will serve as one of the 

seven Independent dealer members.  Each Board 

member serves for four years and may be 

appointed for one additional four-year term.  All 

Board meetings are available to stream and 

watch live, so click HERE during the scheduled 

Board meeting to connect and watch. 

Some dealers have failed to provide proof of state 

safety inspection for their retail sales as required by 

Va. Code.  Recent MVDB field inspections 

revealed that many dealers mistakenly believed 

they could access the safety inspection 

information online from the Va. State Police, only 

to find that the inspection record was not 

available.  Safety inspection records from the 

State Police can only be accessed for a limited 

amount of time.  To ensure the dealer retains 

documentation of the safety inspection, the Board 

recommends dealers make a photocopy of the 

inspection certificate and maintain a copy with 

their dealer records.  Creating a photocopy or 

scanned document of the safety inspection 

certificate ensures the dealer will always be able 

to provide proof of safety inspection prior to retail 

sale, as is required by Va. Code §46.2-1529.  Va. 

Code §46.2-1539 states, in part, that a dealer shall 

safety inspect a vehicle between the time the 

vehicle comes into the possession of the dealer 

and the time the vehicle is sold at retail.  

https://mvdb.virginia.gov/independent-dealer-operators/
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/DealerOperatorDeadlineDates.pdf
mailto:ann.majors@mvdb.virginia.gov
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/about/#media/video/live_event.asp
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1529/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1539/
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Dealer processing locations 

The Department of Motor Vehicles has new 

locations for dealers to get their dealer title and 

registration transactions processed. Two 

additional dealer processing locations have 

opened up for dealers to utilize, bringing the 

total to five locations. The dealer processing 

centers are able to process manual dealer title 

and registration transactions (i.e. original, 

replacement, substitute and supplemental titles, 

and all registration transactions). Work can either 

be dropped off or mailed and will be processed 

within five business days of the date it is 

received.  Since mailing timeframes will vary, 

DMV recommends that dealers send all mail 

with a tracking number. Completed work can 

either be picked up or mailed back with pre-

paid return envelopes provided by the dealer. 

Check DMV’s Dealer Services  page online to 

get more information on each new location.  

 
Fee Calculator 

DMV has updated the fee calculator on their 

website. It includes the ability to differentiate 

between individual and dealer/business. If you 

enter the full VIN of the vehicle, DMV will search 

available records to find vehicle information that 

will be used to pre-fill some of the required fields. 

By providing the VIN and other details about the 

vehicle’s sale, you can get an accurate 

calculation of all fees including Highway Use Fee 

(HUF) that will be owed to DMV at the time of 

titling and registering.  Find the fee calculator at 

Fee Calculator (virginia.gov).  

. 

Submitting Held Releases in Online Bundles 

If you finalized a transaction with a title held, 

and now you’ve received the title and need 

to submit it to DMV, please ensure the follow-

ing: 

• Include all paperwork that goes with the 

title that you haven’t already submitted 

with your original transaction. Please re-

member that the title number should be 

written in the margin of all supporting doc-

uments. 

• Held releases should be placed in an en-

velope labeled “title held release” and 

sent with your bundle. More than one held 

release can be included in the same en-

velope as long as the Virginia title number 

has been identified on the paperwork.  

• Place the Held release envelope on top of 

your bundle coversheet and send it with 

your bundle to the Online Vehicle Work 

Center at 2300 West Broad Street, Rich-

mond, Virginia 23269. 

Please note for transactions where you origi-

nally processed with a held, and received the 

title before mailing your bundle, you can put 

the title with the original pull ticket and notate 

in the comments/notes section the title num-

ber and the change that needs to be made 

on bundle coversheet.  

Requests for NMVTIS Held releases MUST in-

clude the Virginia title number and “NMVTIS 

title release.” Please put NMVTIS held releases 

in a separate envelope than standard held 

releases.  

https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/commercial/#dealer/auction.asp
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/apps/fee_calc/Select_Transaction.aspx
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Cont’d from pg. 1 

• Review often the dealership email and contact 

information to ensure it “matches” MVDB records 

by requesting an Audit Sheet for your dealership.  

Please email your Audit Sheet request to your 

Field Representative or 

dboardreply@mvdb.virginia.gov. 

• Dealers may also view much of the contact 

information the Board has for the Dealer through 

our website, “Search Active Dealer” feature.  

When searching for your dealership, check to see 

if the information on the website is accurate for 

your dealership. 

• At the time of dealer license renewal, accurately 

indicate on the  MVDB 10 (Section 4) the 

dealership email and the dealer-operator’s email 

address.  

• In addition, watch for Board notices, 

announcements, and other educational 

information emailed to you through Sendpulse our 

email marketing tool.  Here are a few other tips: 

• Make sure the Board is listed as a “trusted 

site” in your email. 

• Check your spam or junk account for any 

emails from the Board. 

• Place the MVDB in your email address/

contacts. 

• If you have storage limits on your hosting 

email provider, please make sure you stay 

below your limits. 

MVDB staff makes every effort to record dealer 

contact information promptly and accurately; 

therefore, if there are any questions, please contact 

the Board at 804-367-1100 or via email at  

dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov. 

Cont’d from pg. 1 

• Retain ownership of vehicles until they are sold or 

leased instead of selling vehicles to dealers for 

dealer inventory. 

• Consign vehicles to dealers instead of selling 

vehicles to dealers for dealer inventory. 

• Negotiate directly with consumers the sale of 

products like service contracts, guaranteed asset 

protection (GAP) agreement or waiver, or any 

other vehicle-related products and services. 

• Alter a franchise agreement to make dealers 

delivery agents. 

 

HB 1469 makes clear that manufacturers may not 

coerce dealers by threatening to withhold incentives.  

The bill makes clear that a manufacturer cannot 

unilaterally amend their franchise agreement.  VA 

Code provides various protections to dealers related 

to changes in the franchise agreement. Franchise 

agreements must be filed with the Virginia DMV for 

review and comment by dealers and to ensure 

consistency with VA law. A franchise agreement 

cannot simply be terminated on a whim by a 

manufacturer if a dealer does not agree to 

something.  

 

Lastly, HB 1469 makes clear that an existing 

manufacturer cannot get around the franchise laws 

by simply setting up a subsidiary to distribute certain 

vehicles.  VA Code prohibits a manufacturer from 

owning or operating a dealership in VA except under 

certain circumstances. The changes proposed in this 

bill would apply those prohibitions only to existing 

manufacturers with dealers in VA, or to any subsidiary 

where a manufacturer has 25% or more ownership.  

For complete information, contact the VADA. 

REMINDERS                         Franchise Renewals 

If you are a Franchise dealer and renewing your license, please be sure to state all your 

franchise and service agreements on the MVDB 10 renewal license form.  On the second 

page of the MVDB 10 renewal form, in box number 7 there is space to list all the line-makes 

of the vehicles you are authorized to sell in Virginia.  (Do not list individual models of 

vehicles.)  For example, a franchise dealer might list the manufacturer as Volvo, the 

address of Volvo, and the line-makes Volvo.  Box number 7 has space for 4 line-makes, but 

if you have more than 4 franchise agreements, please list them on a separate page.  In 

box number 8, list the name and address of individual awarded franchise(s) or sales 

agreement(s).  For example, the owner and the owner’s home address that was the 

individual awarded the franchise or sales agreement.  Again, if you need additional space, 

list the Franchise names and addresses on a separate sheet and include in your renewal. 

mailto:dboardreply@mvdb.virginia.gov
mailto:dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov
https://vada.com/news-updates/
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/MVDB-10.pdf
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/forms/files/MVDB-10%20(8-1-2017).pdf
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The Federal Trade Commission is sending 

payments totaling more than $3.3 million to 

customers of a Washington D.C.-area auto 

dealer. In October 2022, the FTC charges a local 

Washington DC area auto dealer with adding 

hundreds, or even thousands, of dollars in illegal 

junk fees to car prices and for discriminating 

against Black and Latino consumers by charging 

them higher fees and financing costs. 

The FTC’s suit against the Dealer charged that 

the defendants’ junk fees caused consumers to 

pay more than the advertised price or lose any 

discounts they had negotiated. 

Recipients of these refunds should cash their 

checks within 90 days, as indicated on the 

check. Consumers who have questions about 

their payment should contact the refund 

administrator, Epiq, at 877-701-3692, or visit the 

FTC website to view frequently asked 

questions about the refund process. The 

Commission never requires people to pay 

money or provide account information to get a 

refund. 
 

REMINDERS                       Maintaining Dealer Records 

 §46.2-1528 authorizes the Board or representatives of  the Board ability to examine 
dealer records, during the posted business hours of  dealerships. In addition, “If  a 
licensee is found to have violated this chapter or any order of  the Board, the actual cost 
of  the examination shall be paid by the licensee”.  §46.2-1529 requires all Motor Vehicle 
Dealers to keep the originals or a copy of  all original records at the site (dealership) of  
origination for five (5) years. Dealer records will include (but is not limited to) records 
regarding employees; lists of  vehicles in inventory for sale, resale, or on consignment; 
vehicle purchases, sales, trades, and transfers of  ownership; collections of  taxes; titling, 
uninsured motor vehicle, and registration fees; odometer disclosure statements; records 
of  permanent dealer registration plates assigned to the dealer and temporary transport 
plates and temporary certificates of  registration; proof  of  safety inspections performed 
on vehicles sold at retail; and other records required by the Department or the Board. 
These records shall be maintained and available to MVDB Field Representatives for 
inspection during your posted business hours listed with the Board. 

Agency updates Safeguards Rule to better 

protect the American public from breaches 

and cyberattacks that lead to identity theft 

and other financial losses. 

The Federal Trade Commission announced a 

newly updated rule that strengthens the 

data security safeguards that financial 

institutions are required to put in place to 

protect their customers’ financial 

information. In recent years, widespread 

data breaches and cyberattacks have 

resulted in significant harms to consumers, 

including monetary loss, identity theft, and 

other forms of financial distress. June 9, 2023, 

the FTC’s updated Safeguards Rule requires 

non-banking financial institutions, such 

as mortgage brokers, motor vehicle dealers, 

and payday lenders, to develop, implement, 

and maintain a comprehensive security 

system to keep their customers’ information 

safe. 

“Financial institutions and other entities that 

collect sensitive consumer data have a 

responsibility to protect it,” said Samuel 

Levine, Director of the FTC’s Bureau of 

Consumer Protection. Please click HERE to 

read the entire article on the FTC website. 

https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/recent-ftc-cases-resulting-refunds/refund-programs-frequently-asked-questions
https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/recent-ftc-cases-resulting-refunds/refund-programs-frequently-asked-questions
https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/recent-ftc-cases-resulting-refunds/refund-programs-frequently-asked-questions
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1528/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1529.1/
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/news/press-releases/2021/10/ftc-strengthens-security-safeguards-consumer-financial-information-following-widespread-data
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What is Corporate Governance and  
Why Is It Important?  

Governance consists of a compendium and 

series of policies and procedures which 

safeguards the business to protect the owners 

and shareholders, thereby building and 

enhancing the company’s long-term value and 

“blue sky.” 

 

Most problems at dealerships start with customer 

issues, followed by employee problems, followed 

by unintentional advertising mistakes.  So, 

continued success and building the value of the 

company in the dealership environment 

depends on the employees to ensure customers’ 

trust is maintained at the highest standards.  

Employees should conduct themselves to merit 

consumer confidence so they can be assured 

the dealership will transact business in 

accordance with the spirit and intent of the laws.  

 

The good use of judgment in dealerships enables 

smooth transaction in daily business activities, 

which is at the core and heart of good 

governance, risk, and compliance (GRC) 

activities. To be compliant, all employees must 

adhere to the rules and regulations with federal 

and state laws and the dealership’s policies and 

procedures. This is the core of corporate 

governance; it’s how the employees behave 

and the ethics surrounding the interactions with 

fellow employees, as well as with the customers.   

The compendium of policies and procedures will 

safeguard and guide dealership team members 

through compliance with these dealership 

principles. Without operating within these 

guidelines, dealers risk their dealer’s license 

which could be revoked or suspended.  

Reputation is a key factor in customer trust and 

satisfaction. Without customers, dealerships have 

no business.  Dealerships’ integrity must be 

beyond questioning.   

 

Compliance is an umbrella term for any all laws 

and regulations which dealerships are subject to 

following.  There are laws surrounding the selling, 

buying, financing, servicing, and customer 

communications.  

 

Both lawyers and regulators can challenge 

dealers on these issues.   Regulators are those 

. governmental agencies which have 

oversight into dealer operations.  Here’s a 

sampling of some of the regulators:  

 

Motor Vehicle Dealer Boards  

The Attorney Generals 

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau 

(CFPB) 

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) 

A Member of the House of Representatives 

(Federal and State) 

A Member of the Senate (Federal and State) 

The State Police 

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 

The Treasury Department 

 

Dealers should be prepared to engage with 

these overseers and should constantly make 

the effort to assure the highest level of public 

respect and confidence. How? By 

maintaining an unwavering standard of 

honesty and integrity, the business will be 

able to continue for many years.    

Dishonesty on the job should be cause for 

immediate discharge.  Dishonesty at the 

dealership in any form should be considered 

unacceptable.  

 

How do you know the employees performing 

the way you want?  It requires checking.  

Policies and procedures aren’t worth a 

whole lot if someone isn’t checking to ensure 

compliance. This is at the core of a robust 

GRC program.  Someone has to audit.  Then, 

the dealership should be prepared to fix the 

newly discovered issues and document 

them. 

 

Please click HERE to read the entire article by 

Tom Kline. 

https://bettervantagepoint.com/what-is-corporate-governance-wash-rinse-repeat/
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Board Actions 

Blake Ford and Joseph Blake Blythe - Paid a $5,000 

civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records 

and unlicensed salespersons. 

 

Proauto Expo Inc and Talha Chaudhry - Paid a $500 

civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, 

unlicensed salespersons and proof of safety inspec-

tion prior to retail sale. 

 

Rick’s Used Cars Inc and Rickie L. Seward - Suspend-

ed for failure to pay a $2,400 civil penalty for failure 

to maintain dealer records, liability insurance on 

each D-tag and odometer records. 

 

Empire Auto Imports and Saleh Edries - Paid a $5, 

250 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer rec-

ords and unlicensed salespersons. 

 

White Top Auto and Waleed Ahsan - Paid a $750 civil 

penalty for failure to maintain posted business hours. 

 

Autos Y Mas LLC and Mario Ruben Perez Sanches - 

Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain deal-

er records. 

 
Saint Auto Sales LLC and Treyvond Lockhart and Do-

monique Jones - Paid a $1,000 civil penalty for fail-

ure to maintain posted business hours and comply 

with previous warnings. 

 

B & E Auto Sales LLC and Diamonte S. Parrish - Sus-

pended and moved to Debt Set-Off for failure to 

pay a $1,750 civil penalty for failure to maintain 

dealer records, unlicensed salespersons and failure 

to maintain liability insurance on each D-tag. 

 

Martin Auto & Truck LLC and Jay Irvin Martin - 

Agreed to pay $1,950 for failure to maintain dealer 

records, misuse of PoD tags, deceptive acts and 

practices and failure to provide title within 30 days. 
 

Spotlight Auto LLC and Jacqueline Washington - 

Paid a $750 civil penalty for faire to maintain posted 

business hours. 

 

Shorehaven Motor Sports LLC and Steven C. Epstein 

- Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain ex-

clusive use of the dealership space and maintain 

dealer records. 

 

Mini of Alexandria and Everett A. Hellmuth - Paid a 

$250 civil penalty for misuse of PoD temp tags. 

 

Autos Direct of Manassas and Sana Ullah Kargar - 

Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain 

dealer records and unlicensed salespersons. 

 
CMA’s Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram of Lynchburg and 

Elizabeth M. Borches - Paid a $1,000 civil penalty for 

failure to maintain dealer records and unlicensed 

salespersons. 

 

Fredericksburg Motors LLC and Hafizullah Wafa - 

Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain 

dealer records and proof of safety inspection prior 

to retail sale. 

 

UL Auto Sales Abdul H. Hazaymeh - Paid a $3,250 

civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, 

proof of safety inspection prior to retail sale and 

failure to comply with previous warnings. 

 

Neons Auto LLC and Omar Maad Al-Qaraghuli - 

Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain post-

ed business hours and failure for the dealer-

operator Abdullah Al Qaraghuli to have a sales li-

cense. 

 
Premier Auto Collection LLC and Mohammad Akh-

tar - Paid a $750 civil penalty for failure to maintain 

posted business hours. 

 

Renaissance Ford and Jamar Noel Brinkley - Paid a 

$3,000 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer 

records, unlicensed salespersons and misuse of D-

tags. 



The Following Courses are Registered Through VIADA 

2023 Course Schedules 

 

 

July 11 - 12 :  Danville or Bristol : (TBD) 

 

July 18 - 19 :  Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113) 

 

August 8 - 9 :  Chantilly : (Home2Suites 43340 Defender Dr. Chantilly VA 20152) 

 

August 15 - 16 :  Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113) 

 

September 12 - 13 :  Harrisonburg or Lynchburg : (TBD) 

  

September 26 - 27 :  Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113) 

 

October 19 - 20 :  Norfolk : (Norfolk Waterside Marriott 235 E Main St, Norfolk VA) 

 

November 7 - 8 :  Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113) 

 

November 14 - 15 :  Danville : (Courtyard by Marriott 2136 Riverside Drive Danville, VA 24540) 

 

December 5 - 6 :  Chantilly : (Home2Suites 43340 Defender Dr. Chantilly VA 20152) 

 

December 12 - 13 :  Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113) 

 

 

 

 **You can register for your IDO Course on the VIADA website HERE ** 

Or call 800-394-1960 
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Independent Dealer Operator Course Schedules 

https://viada.org/pre-license/


§ 46.2-1550 states in part that: It shall be unlawful 

for any dealer to cause or permit dealer’s 

license plates to be used on Courtesy vehicles. 

The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will administer sections of 

the Commonwealth’s Motor Vehicle Dealer Laws and 

Regulations as charged; promote the best interest of both 

the automotive consumer and dealer community; while 

providing a high level of customer service. 
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