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Upcoming Events! 
  

Monday 9/11/2023 

Board Meeting In person at the DMV 
2300 W. Broad St. Richmond VA, 
23220 

 

 

 
 

Click here for more details on the 

next Board Meeting Details 

 

In Virginia, the Buyers Guide is part of the Buyers order.  

According to § 46.2-1529.1 (A) “the Buyer’s Guide 

required by federal law, shall be completely filled out and, 

in addition, signed and dated by the buyer and 

incorporated as part of the buyer’s order.”  Federal law 

requires Virginia dealers to post/display a Buyer’s Guide 

in each vehicle before you display a vehicle for sale or let 

a customer inspect it for the purpose of buying it.  

Motorcycles, trailers, and travel trailers are exempt from 

the Buyer’s Guide requirements.  Dealers who do not 

post/display a Buyer’s Guide may be subject to Virginia civil penalties up to $1,000 

per vehicle, and up to $50,120 per violation in Federal  enforcement actions.  Click 

HERE for more FTC information. 

August 2023 

Issue 148 

Inside this issue: 

Regarding the Virginia Buyer’s order, some dealers are charging a reconditioning 

fee or other fees not allowed. Virginia law (Code 46.2-1581(8) states in part the “…

advertised price or credit terms shall include all charges which the buyer must pay; 

except buyer selected options, state and local fees and taxes, and manufacturers or 

distributor’s freight or destination charges, and a processing fee, if any. If a 

processing fee or freight or destination charges are not included in the advertised 

price, the amount of any such processing fee and freight or destination charges 

must be clearly and conspicuously disclosed…” Board policy is that adding fees 

specifically not allowed by Virginia law to the advertised price is deceptive.  First 

time violators will receive a written warning and second time violators will receive a 

$1,000.00 civil penalty (if appealed, granted an informal hearing). Third time 

violators will be granted an informal hearing and eventually appear before the 

Board. If you have any questions regarding “fees” that you can legally charge to a 

customer you should contact the MVDB, VADA, or VIADA. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewMeeting.cfm?meetingid=38469
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewMeeting.cfm?MeetingID=38469
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/board-meeting-library/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1529.1/
https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/resources/dealers-guide-used-car-rule
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1581/
https://www.ftc.gov/system/files/documents/plain-language/cfr_buyers_guides_english.pdf
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Dealerships must maintain hours (§ 46.2-1533)  and 

maintain a retail location (§ 46.2-1510) even if a majority 

or all of their business is selling to other dealers 

“wholesale”.  The Code of Virginia does not authorize a 

separate license to “wholesale” dealers, Virginia has one 

dealer license – a license that allows a dealer to sell motor 

vehicles at an approved sales location that is not a 

residence.  All licensed dealers in Virginia have the same 

requirements of location and maintaining hours whether 

they sell zero vehicles, 20 thousand vehicles or only sell 

vehicles to other dealers (wholesaler). 

REMINDERS                       Cyber Safety Tool 

The vast majority of smaller businesses rely on information technology to run their businesses 

and to store, process, and transmit information. Protecting this information from unauthorized 

disclosure, modification, use, or deletion is essential for those companies and their customers. 

With limited resources and budgets, these companies need cybersecurity guidance, solutions, 

and training that is practical, actionable, and enables them to cost-effectively address and 

manage their cybersecurity risks. This NIST Small Business Cybersecurity Corner puts these key 

resources in one place.  https://www.nist.gov/itl/smallbusinesscyber 

 

Working telephone in the name of the  

dealership. 

§ 46.2-1510 (4) requires “a working telephone 
listed in the name of the dealership.”  If using a 
cell phone as your Dealership phone number, 
the account must be active, and set up in the 
name of the dealership. 

REMINDERS 

No Salesperson shall be employed by more than 

one dealer, unless the dealerships are owned by the 

same person.  New salespersons hired by dealers 

are unlicensed employees and can perform other 

functions at the dealership and be in training up 

until they receive their license. Unlicensed salesper-

sons cannot be involved in F&I, negotiations with 

customers or act in the capacity of a Salesperson 

until they have their license.  Virginia code § 46.2-

1518 states the salesperson shall carry and display 

the sales license on request. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1533/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1510/
https://www.nist.gov/itl/smallbusinesscyber
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1510/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1518/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1518/
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Law enforcement agencies and communities across the United States continue to be plagued by record and near
-record levels of vehicular crime as monthly theft totals nationwide consistently exceeded 75,000 in 2022. 
According to new analysis conducted by the National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB), the insurance industry’s 
association dedicated to predicting, preventing, and prosecuting insurance crime, more than 1 million vehicles 
were stolen last year, marking a 7% increase over 2021. This is part of a disturbing trend wherein vehicle thefts 
have increased by over 25% since 2019. Any WANADA dealer can tell you that 2023 isn’t faring much better, 
and it isn’t just Tik-Tok inspired thefts of late model Korean cars. The Auto Finance Journal reports that nearly 
5% of all digital transactions are suspected to be fraudulent including those transactions conducted digitally at 
dealerships. “The pivot to increasingly digital transactions since the beginning of the pandemic means the 
overall risk to individuals and organizations is even greater than it was pre-pandemic,” notes the journal staff, 
citing fraud statistics from TransUnion. 

In response to these alarming trends, WANADA has been sending out alerts to both the dealer and area law 
enforcement communities of suspicious or known fraudulent activity in our region. Because enforcement is lax 
when an individual attempts to purchase a car under false pretenses, such individuals typically make multiple 
attempts at many different dealerships.  WANADA is also currently engaged with a software developer and 
expects to roll out an enhanced version of the current system with additional features and capabilities later this 
year. In addition to facilitating communication, WANADA regularly meets with law enforcement officials on 
this topic. Last month, WANADA CEO John O’Donnell and Vice President of Operations Joe Koch met at 
length with nearly 40 auto crimes investigators from Baltimore, Prince George’s, Montgomery, Fairfax and DC 
to discuss the latest tactics and best practices for hardening your sales and finance staff against these threats. 
Many of these tips are included in the Fraud Prevention Worksheet WANADA recently distributed.  

WANADA also continues to support law enforcement politically, encouraging lawmakers to provide funding 
and manpower for units devoted to identifying, stopping and prosecuting auto crimes perpetrators. In this 
connection, WANADA CEO John O’Donnell and representatives from the Fitzgerald Auto Malls and Jim 
Coleman Automotive organizations recently attended an event for the Montgomery County Police Foundation 
where they were able to interact with members of the Foundation Board and police force, including 
Montgomery County Police Chief Marcus Jones. For more information on these efforts, our fraud 
communication system, or other questions, please contact John O’Donnell at jod@wanada.org or Joe Koch at 
jk@wanada.org. 

REMINDERS                         IDO Recertification 

ALL Independent Dealer Operators (IDO) of independent dealerships must recertify their IDO 
qualification every two years by either taking a digital course (via zoom) or an in-person classroom 
course through an approved MVDB vendor.  Click HERE for more information about the 
Recertification program.  Please note that dealers with Franchise endorsements are exempt from 
recertification.  If you are unclear about your recertification deadline click HERE, and if you have 
any other recertification questions, contact Ann Majors at the MVDB.  She may be reached at 804-
998-7785 or email at ann.majors@mvdb.virginia.gov. 

https://www.autoremarketing.com/autofinjournal/transunion-fraud-attempts-in-u-s-rise-122-amidst-growing-digital-transactions/
https://wanada.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/05/Dealer-Fraud-Prevention-and-Awareness-Worksheet-2023.pdf
mailto:jod@wanada.org
mailto:jk@wanada.org
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/independent-dealer-operators/
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/DealerOperatorDeadlineDates.pdf
mailto:ann.majors@mvdb.virginia.gov
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This is going to start as grim.   It gets better. 

Aftermath®, (which is the name of an actual ServiceMaster company), 
pioneered the field of performing crime scene services and trauma 
clean up. They coined this terminology. 

Their services include, and I quote, “unintended death remediation”, 
which is a term I had not heard before. I looked it up: it’s a death in 
which the body is not found for days, weeks, or even months. 
Aftermath services includes homicide and suicide cleanup, hoarding 
cleanup, and specialty biohazard services, like tear gas cleanup.  
Before thirty (30) days ago, I had no knowledge of any of this.   

They site a five (5) step “Aftermath® Remediation Process,” which 
includes the assessment, the protocol to control the affected area, the 
removal, deodorizing, and verification to ensure the cleanliness. 

It’s awful this kind of service exists, right? 

Now let’s bring it back to our business, the automobile business. 

When we don’t handle the problems in front of us, bad things happen. You can stop problems from developing 
though.  These are also called “preventative measures.”  What procedures can you put in place or what policies can you 
implement in order to stop problems before they happen? 

If you hear or see a problem in the making, bring it to someone’s attention in your chain of command.  If you don’t 
know who that person is, then please ask. 

It’s much less expensive to solve a problem “now,” versus assuming someone else will get around to it or fix it.  They 
won’t. Own it and fix it.  Problems are like rotten fish; they smell worse and worse each day. 

Mitigative measures are defined as those techniques which you use to conclude a problem after it has festered.  It’s well 
known to be more expensive than fixing the issue early upon discovery.   

The more time you spend personally living and acting with a preventative problem paradigm, the less time will you be 
required to be reactive and, dragged into the time sucking muck of mitigative measures.  You may have heard an ounce 
of prevention is worth a pound of cure and it’s true.  For the complete article from Tom Kline, click HERE 

REMINDERS                              Dealer Records 

§46.2-1528 gives the Board or authorized representatives of the Board authority to examine 

dealer records, during the posted business hours of dealerships.  §46.2-1529 requires all Motor 

Vehicle Dealers to keep the originals or a copy of all original records at the site (dealership) of 

origination for five (5) years.  Dealer records would include records regarding employees; lists of 

vehicles in inventory for sale, resale, or on consignment; vehicle purchases, sales, trades, and 

transfers of ownership; collections of taxes; titling, uninsured motor vehicle, and registration 

fees; odometer disclosure statements; records of permanent dealer registration plates assigned 

to the dealer and temporary transport plates and temporary certificates of registration; proof of 

safety inspections performed on vehicles sold at retail; and other records required by the 

Department or the Board shall be maintained on the premises of the licensed location. 

https://bettervantagepoint.com/aftermath-services/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-1528/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1529/
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Board Actions 

Alpha Auto & Cycle, LLC and Robert J. Fluellen - 
On April 3, 2023, an informal fact-finding conference 
was conducted to address the alleged violations of 
failure to maintain posted business hours, unlicensed 
salesperson, failure to obtain title within 30 days, and 
complying with previous warnings. Based on the 
information provided at the conference, the Board 
assessed a civil penalty of $2,400, and a satisfactory 
inspection within 30 days.  Robert J. Fluellen may 
appeal to a Formal Hearing. 

ESR Auto and Kevin Johnson - On May 9, 2023, an 
informal fact-finding conference was conducted to 
address the alleged violations of failure to maintain 
posted business hours and complying with previous 
warnings.  Based on the information provided at the 
conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $750 
and a successful inspection within 30 days.  Kevin 
Johnson has appealed this Board Decision to a Formal 
Hearing. 

Valley View Motors, LLC and Karen Munns - On 
May 19, 2023, an informal fact-finding conference was 
conducted to address the alleged violations of failure to 
maintain established place of business requirements, 
maintain posted business hours, and comply with 
previous warnings.  Based on the information provided 
at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of 
$1,000, and a satisfactory inspection.; with the $1,000 
civil penalty being waived if the satisfactory inspection is 
achieved on or before October 10, 2023.  Karen Munns 
may appeal to a Formal Hearing. 

2K Automotive, LLC and Anthony Bivins - On May 
16, 2023, an informal fact-finding conference was 
conducted to address the alleged violations of failure to 
maintain posted business hours, failure to provide title 
within 30 days, and comply with previous warnings.  
Based on the information provided at the conference, 
the hearing officer recommended assessing a civil 
penalty of $1,500.00 and a satisfactory inspection.  
Anthony Bivins may appeal to a Formal Hearing. 

Maraton Group, LLC and Martin U. Onyirimba - 

Historical Overview leading up to the Formal Hearing: 

On December 20, 2022, an informal fact-finding 

conference was conducted to address the alleged 

violations of failure to provide dealer records, safety 

inspection prior to retail sale, provide title within 30 days, 

and having used deceptive acts and practices.  Based on 

the information provided at the conference, the Board 

assessed a civil penalty of $27,800 a satisfactory inspection 

and successful completion of the 2-day Dealer-Operator 

course. On April 17, 2023, Martin U. Onyirimba appealed 

the Decision and requested a Formal Hearing. On May 

23, 2023, a formal hearing was conducted.  Based on the 

information provided at the conference, the Board 

assessed a civil penalty of $28,300. satisfactory inspection 

and successful completion of the 2-day Dealer Operator 

course.  Martin U. Onyirimba may appeal to Circuit Court 

in his jurisdiction. 

 

 

 

 

Merlex Auto Group and Amin Kandahari - Paid a 

$4,550 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, 

misuse of PoD and deceptive acts and practices. 

Unique Auto Import and Amin Kandahari - Paid a 

$1,700 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records 

and misuse of PoD. 

Elite Auto Nation of Petersburg LLC and Syed 

Mudashar Hussain Shah - Paid a $3,850 civil penalty 

for failure to maintain dealer records and provide proof of 

safety inspection prior to retail sale, and misuse of PoD. 

 

Cont’d on pg 6 
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Board Actions 

NVA Motors and Oussama El Guennouni - Paid a $750 

civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records and 

provide proof of a salesperson paid on a W-2. 

Dorn Motor Co and Raymond Dorn - Paid a $250 civil 

penalty for failure to maintain dealer records. 

Vermeer Mid Atlantic, LLC and Mark Boyle - Paid a 

$250 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records. 

The Car Ministry and Lawrence J. Gordon - Paid a 

$1,000 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records and 

records of transport tags. 

AJ Auto Sales, LLC and Raed Al-Mustafa - Paid a $900 

civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, unlicensed 

salespersons, transport tag records and comply with previous 

warnings. 

Prime Dealz Auto LLC and Seyed Mohammed M 

Mirhosseini - Agreed to pay a $11,200 civil penalty for 

failure to maintain dealer records and provide proof of 

insurance prior to retail sale, misuse of PoD and failure to 

provide proof of salespersons paid on a W-2.   

Artex Motors and MD Mashequr Rahman - Paid a 

$2,000 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records and 

provide proof of safety inspection prior to retail sale. 

M & M Autobrokers and Mark Albert Malek - Moved to 

debt set-off for failure to pay a $6,900 civil penalty for failure 

to maintain dealer records, misuse of PoD tags, and no 

records of D-tag use. 

Elite Autonation LLC and Syed Mudishar Hussain 

Shah - Paid a $2,200 civil penalty for failure to maintain 

dealer records and provide proof of safety inspection prior 

to retail sale, misuse of PoD and deceptive acts and 

practices. 

B & J Used Auto Sales, LLC and Duard Vanhoy - 

Moved to Debt Set-Off for failing to pay a $1,200 civil 

penalty for failure to provide liability insurance on each D-

tag. 

Freedom R.V Rentals Inc and Ronnie Ipson - Paid a 

$1,000 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records and 

provide proof of safety inspection prior to retail sale. 

Freedom Auto Group LLC and Bibi Mariam Kakar - 

Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to pay salespersons on a 

W-2. 

H and F Wholesale LLC and Brian O’Neil Holland - 

Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain records of D-

tag usage. 

Auto Land of Thornburg and Shamim A. Hashmi - Paid 

a $750 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records and 

provide proof of safety inspection prior to retail sale. 

Hi-Tech Auto Sales, Inc. and Beverly A. Vaughan - Paid 

a $1,750 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records 

and provide proof of safety inspection prior to retail sale. 

Fast Track Auto LLC and Brandon Kim - Paid a $750 

civil penalty for failure to maintain posted business hours. 

RAF Auto Sales and Abdul H. Hazaymeh - Paid a $3,750 

civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, provide 

proof of safety inspection prior to retail sale, non-compliant 

dealership sign and misuse of PoD. 

Commonwealth Classics, LLC and William Desrosiers - 

Suspended for failing to pay a $500 civil penalty for failure to 

maintain dealer records, and provide proof of safety 

inspection prior to retail sale. 

Black’s Auto Sales, LLC and Shawnta M. Edwards - 

Agreed to pay $13,200 for failure to maintain dealer records, 

and misuse of PoD. 

Affordable Auto Sales & Towing LLC, and George I. 

Gray - Agreed to pay $2,650 civil penalty for failure to 

maintain dealer records, provide proof that salespersons are 

paid on a W-2, and provide proof of liability insurance on 

each D-tag. 

NM Motors LLC and Anita Lal - Suspended for failure to 

pay a $750 civil penalty for failure to maintain posted 

business hours. 

DMS Auto Sales & Repair LLC and Samrawot S. 

Gebreslassie - Suspended for failing to pay a $250 civil 

penalty for failing to maintain dealer records. 

Phoenix Automotive and Conrad Holtslag - Paid a $750 

civil penalty for failure to maintain posted business hours. 



The Following Courses are Registered Through VIADA 

2023 Course Schedules 

 

September 12 - 13 :  Harrisonburg or Lynchburg : (TBD) 

  

September 26 - 27 :  Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113) 

 

October 19 - 20 :  Norfolk : (Norfolk Waterside Marriott 235 E Main St, Norfolk VA) 

 

November 7 - 8 :  Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113) 

 

November 14 - 15 :  Danville : (Courtyard by Marriott 2136 Riverside Drive Danville, VA 24540) 

 

December 5 - 6 :  Chantilly : (Home2Suites 43340 Defender Dr. Chantilly VA 20152) 

 

December 12 - 13 :  Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113) 

 

 **You can register for your IDO Course on the VIADA website HERE ** 

Or call 800-394-1960 
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Independent Dealer Operator Course Schedules 

REMINDERS                              Safety Inspection 

Some dealers have failed to provide proof of state safety inspection for their retail sales as re-

quired by  Va. Code.  MVDB field inspections revealed that many dealers mistakenly believed 

they could access the safety inspection information online from the Va. State Police, only to find 

that the inspection record was not available.  Safety inspection records from the State Police can 

only be accessed for a limited amount of time.  To ensure the dealer retains documentation of 

the safety inspection, the Board recommends dealers make a photocopy of the inspection certifi-

cate and maintain a copy with their dealer records.  Creating a photocopy or scanned document 

of the safety inspection certificate ensures the dealer will always be able to provide proof of 

safety inspection prior to retail sale, as is required by Va. Code §46.2-1529 .  Va. Code §46.2-1539 

states in part that a dealer shall safety inspect a vehicle between the time the vehicle comes into 

the possession of the dealer and the time the vehicle is sold at retail. The provisions of this sec-

tion shall also apply to watercraft trailers and watercraft trailer dealers. 

https://viada.org/pre-license/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1529/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1539/


Improper Use of Dealer Tags! 

Dealers may not use a dealer tag on a vehicle that is being used for towing. 

§ 46.2-1550 (A)  states in part, “Except as otherwise explicitly permitted in this 

article, it shall be unlawful for any dealer to cause or permit dealer’s plates to 

be used on…” 

1. Motor vehicles such as tow trucks, ... 

4. Vehicles used in conjunction with any other business. 

The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will administer sections of  the 

Commonwealth’s Motor Vehicle Dealer Laws and Regulations as 

charged; promote the best interest of  both the automotive 

consumer and dealer community; while providing a high level of  

customer service. 

What’s Wrong With This Picture? 

Issue 148 

804-367-1100 
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