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Upcoming Events!

Monday 11/13/2023

Board Meeting In person at the DMV
%g(z)gow. Broad St. Richmond VA,

Click here for more details on the
next Board Meeting Details

Current Buyers Order

All dealers must submit a compliant buyers order with their initial dealer
application. The Board staff will review and ensure your buyers order is
compliant with Virginia laws. If you need to change the buyers order please
submit your new/updated buyers order to the Board staff for approval. Click
HERE to view the Buyers Order Checklist which list all the elements each
compliant buyers order must contain. When dealers renew their license
certificate the dealer must complete and submit the MVDB 58 checklist and
return the completed checklist with their renewal. On this MVDB 58, the dealer
certifies that they have provided the MVDB with the most current buyers order
being used by the dealership.

Renting Dealer Licenses and Dealer Tags

The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board and the
Department of Motor Vehicles are committed to
putting a stop to dealers who lease and/or rent
dealer license plates. Va. Code Section § 46.2-1575
(12) authorizes the Board to suspend or revoke the
license of any dealer who leases, rents, lends or
otherwise allows the use of a dealer’s license plate
by persons not specifically authorized under the
Virginia Motor Vehicle Dealer Act. Dealers may not
rent or allow others to use their dealer certificate
either. Like renting tags, any dealer who rents or
allows others to use their dealer certificate may
have their dealer license suspended or revoked by the Board.

As a reminder, a salesperson may not purchase vehicles with their own funds
and pay the dealer a fee or commission for each vehicle they sell. A good “rule
of thumb” to determine if you may be in violation of Virginia Law is to look at
who is paying whom. If a licensed salesperson or anyone is using a dealer tag
issued to your dealership or using your dealer certificate number and paying
you money — then you are probably in violation of Virginia Law.

AUCTION ACCESS

$1,000
2024 Dealer Plate + auction access
Wilmington, DE


https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewMeeting.cfm?meetingid=38469
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewMeeting.cfm?MeetingID=38469
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/board-meeting-library/
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/MVDB-44.pdf

Proof of Insurance

Our Field Representatives are seeing an uptick in
dealerships with lapsed liability insurance on their
dealer plates. The Virginia Code is very clear that all
dealer tags must be insured, and the dealer must
provide proof of liability insurance for each dealer
tag in their dealer tag inventory. Itis incumbent on
the dealer to ensure the liability insurance they may
have submitted for renewal is still active and valid
when the Field Representative comes for an
inspection. For example, the dealer may renew
their license certificate in July and the proof of
insurance submitted to the main office staff for
renewal is valid until September. The Field
Representative may come for a random inspection
in October and find the liability insurance has
lapsed. The dealer is now in violation of § 46.2-
1547 and may be issued a civil penalty up to $1,000,
per day, per uninsured tag. In short, make sure you
always have proof of valid/active liability insurance
available for review.

REMINDERS

MVDB Forms

Please make sure you always have the most cur-
rent and up to date MVDB forms. Our website
contains the most current forms available with
the most current fees and requirements. For
example, the MVDB 2, Surety Bond form states a
$25,000 per claim amount against the bond.
Even though this MVDB 2 form is dated
07/01/2012, it is the most current revision. Old-
er versions of this form state incorrect claim
amounts and older MVDB 2 forms will not be
accepted, so to save yourself time, be sure to
always download the most current forms from
our website https://mvdb.virginia.gov/
formsandpublications/. All our forms are listed
in a PDF format, and for added convenience,
some of the forms you need are “fillable”, and
you may complete and print these forms directly
from your computer. Be sure to ALWAYS include
your Dealership License Certificate number on
all forms and correspondence with the Board.
Please DESTRQY ALL OLD FORMS you may have
in your inventory. Click HERE for a complete
listing of the MVDB forms.

Salesperson Applications

All new/initial salesperson applications require a criminal background check and the Board
requires dealers to conduct the background checks PRIOR to submitting the MVDB 61. It is
recommended that dealers wait for the criminal background check be “complete”, before
submitting the application. Be sure to include the vendor’s name and file number directly on the
MVDB 61. Completing these small tasks will ensure the quickest processing of a new sales license
application. Secondly, as a reminder, since the dealer has completed the background check, the
dealer only submits a $50 per salesperson license fee (5100 if the dealership has a 2 year renewal.)
Lastly, if you are a dealer, please remember to inform the Board when salespersons are no longer
employed at your dealership. For your convenience, we have a MVDB 41 “notice of termination”
form on our website that you may email to the Board. Conversely, if you hire a salesperson please
send in the MVDB 61 to transfer the salesperson to your dealership or apply for a new/initial sales
license as described above.



https://mvdb.virginia.gov/formsandpublications/
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/formsandpublications/
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/formsandpublications/

Encrypt your Personal Information

When communicating with the MVDB please be
sure to encrypt any “Personal Identifying
Information (PIl) you transmit. For example, when
you send a salespersons application to the MVDB,
you are sending PII (social security/DMV customer
number, email address, contact info, etc.), To
protect the individual’s PIl, please encrypt the
application by using VIRTRU or an encryption
software of your choice. Similarly, get in the habit
of using encryption software anytime you send
attachments containing Pll to the MVDB. Click
HERE if you would like to begin using VIRTRU
encryption service.

Your computer may have encryption on the device
you are sending from, but that does not guarantee
protection of Pl More than likely your email
service is still transmitting through the “cloud” and
can be accessed. End to end encryption prevents
unauthorized access to email and files containing
sensitive data and meets compliance
requirements. But most importantly, encryption
maintains the privacy of citizens’ Pll and their trust
in your ability to safeguard their privacy. Follow
this link for FTC’s guidance on Cybersecurity for
Small Business.

Rebuilt Disclosure

When a dealer sells a "REBUILT" salvage vehicle
to a purchaser, a best practice recommendation
is for the purchaser and dealer to both sign

the VSA 59. This rebuilt vehicle disclosure state-
ment must be included with the sales docu-
ments, title paperwork, other required docu-
ments, taxes, and fees that the dealer submits
to DMV. Virginia Code §46.2-1602(A)(4) states
that "It shall be unlawful for any person to sell a
rebuilt vehicle without first having disclosed the
fact that the vehicle is a rebuilt vehicle to the
buyer." Virginia Code §46.2-1600 defines a re-
built vehicle as: (i) any salvage vehicle that has
been repaired for use on the public highways, or
(ii) any late model vehicle that has been re-
paired and the estimated cost of repair exceed-
ed 75% of its actual cash value, excluding the
cost to repair damage to the engine, transmis-
sion or drive axle assembly. For further infor-
mation, please contact DMV Dealer Services at
dealerservices@dmv.virginia.gov, or 804-367-

0901.

Don’t Be a “Hey Dude”

Recently, the FTC issued a $1.95 million civil penalty to Hey Dude shoe company for suppressing negative
reviews and other violations. “As this case makes clear, when retailers publish consumer reviews online,
they cannot suppress negative reviews to paint a deceptive picture of the consumer experience. And when
retailers don’t ship merchandise on time, they must give buyers the option to cancel their orders and
promptly get their money back,” said Samuel Levine, Director of the FTC’s Bureau of Consumer Protection.
“We will continue to hold online retailers accountable for violations of the FTC Act and other laws we

enforce.”

Hey Dude violated the FTC Act by suppressing negative consumer reviews of its merchandise, according to
the complaint. From January 2020 to June 2022, the company, which uses a third-party online management
review interface, chose to have all five-star reviews (the best rating) posted on its website with little scrutiny.
In many instances, however, it rejected and did not publish less-favorable reviews.

So don’t be a “Hey Dude” and mislead customers by advertising deceptive reviews.

Click HERE for the full FTC article.


https://support.virtru.com/hc/en-us/articles/115012442108-Install-and-activate-Virtru-for-Gmail
https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/small-businesses/cybersecurity
https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/small-businesses/cybersecurity
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/news/press-releases/2023/09/online-shoe-seller-hey-dude-inc-pay-195-million-violating-ftcs-mail-internet-telephone-order-rule
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa59.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter16/section46.2-1602/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter16/section46.2-1600/
mailto:dealerservices@dmv.virginia.gov

DMV News

Electronic Titling

As part of DMV’s renewed efforts to provide superior service to Virginians, the agency is expanding its
already extensive menu of online options on its newly designed website. DMV’s electronic titling program
is a secure online method that electronically transfers a vehicle’s ownership from one Virginia resident to a
buyer who is titling the vehicle in Virginia. If qualified, a resident can transfer ownership and register a
motor vehicle without visiting a customer service center or mailing documents to DMV. Customers will not
receive a paper title; instead, the title will be held electronically by DMV. The seller, buyer, and vehicle
must meet certain requirements in order to take advantage of the e-titling program.

Requirements for e-title transfer include:

e Buyer and seller must be Virginia residents with myDMYV accounts

e Sale is one owner to one buyer

* No liens present on the title

* No holds on customers’ accounts

» Sale for a passenger vehicle (car, sport utility vehicle, truck; no trailers, mopeds or all-terrain vehicles)

Dealer Title Only (DTO)

Applying for a dealer title only (DTO) is also known as getting a title flip. By obtaining a title in the dealer’s
name dealers can avoid many common title issues.

e Obtaining a title in your dealership’s name is a great way to prevent paperwork headaches for your
title clerks.

e Have you ever lost or misplaced a title that had multiple reassignments included? If you had applied for
a DTO you could have avoided the trouble and expense of going back to the selling dealers to find the
original owner in order to get a duplicate.

e Getting a DTO helps your dealership to be able to maintain title inventory easily by only requiring you
to keep the title and not have to worry about all of the extensions to go along with the title.

e It’s only $15 per title.

e Online dealers can conveniently process a DTO in their online system right there at the dealership. To
ensure you have this capability or to learn how to use it, check with your vendor who can provide
further details about their system.

e When Virginia moves towards electronic titling the dealership will already have inventory titled.

REMINDERS IDO Recertification

ALL Independent Dealer Operators (IDO) of independent dealerships must recertify their IDO
gualification every two years by either taking a digital course (via zoom) or an in-person classroom
course through an approved MVDB vendor. Click HERE for more information about the
Recertification program. Please note that dealers with Franchise endorsements are exempt from
recertification. If you are unclear about your recertification deadline click HERE, and if you have
any other recertification questions, contact Ann Majors at the MVDB. She may be reached at 804-

998-7785 or email at ann.majors@mvdb.virginia.gov.



https://mvdb.virginia.gov/independent-dealer-operators/
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/DealerOperatorDeadlineDates.pdf
mailto:ann.majors@mvdb.virginia.gov

Clean Sheet Day

Raise your hand if you love clean sheet day! &

Please allow me to state this clearly: I. Love. Clean.
Sheets.

Who doesn’t love sliding into buttery, soft, clean
sheets...(That’s not really a question.) It feels great,
right? What day is clean sheet day in your house?
For me, it’s FriYaY!

You know what else feels great? When you know
you are (1) ready for problems (you have a plan), (2)
you are transacting your business in a way to avoid
problems to begin with to reduce risk, (3) you have
awareness of what issues your insurance policies will
and will not cover, and (4) when you are educating
your employees on what is right and what isn’t.

As history should guide our actions, here are a few
recent enforcement actions which should have our
attention.

For the full article, please click HERE. Tom Kline
https://bettervantagepoint.com/clean-sheet-day/

REMINDERS

Advertising Certified

A factory-certified pre-owned car (CPO car) is a
gently used vehicle sold by a franchised new car
dealer of the same brand. They're typically gently
used, accident-free, low-mileage vehicles that are
only a few years old. Not long ago, only luxury
automakers had CPO programs. Today, nearly
every automaker offers certified used vehicles,
including cars, pickup trucks, SUVs, and minivans.
They’re different from other used cars in that they
typically come with warranty coverage backed by
their original manufacturer. Not every car
displayed on a Franchise dealer’s lot will be a
certified pre-owned vehicle. You will only find
factory CPO cars at dealerships of the same brand.
For example, you will only find a certified pre-
owned Honda CR-V at a Honda dealer. If you see
one marked “certified” on a Toyota dealer’s lot, it
won’t be a factory-backed CPO vehicle. Genuine
factory-certified used cars are backed by their
original manufacturers. Vehicles purchased
through a factory program can receive warranty
service at any of the brand's franchised new car
dealerships. The MVDB advises Virginia dealers
who advertise the term “Certified Pre-Owned”
should only advertise this term based on warranty
coverage backed by the vehicle manufacturer.

Communication

When communicating with the Board, please be sure to put your certificate license number,
name, phone number, and dealership name on ALL correspondence sent to the Board. We re-
ceive many emails, calls, and faxes from dealers missing this information. To ensure your re-
quests are processed timely, please be sure to include your license number and the name of your

dealership at a minimum.

Also, do not forget to use encryption when emailing personal identifying information!



https://bettervantagepoint.com/clean-sheet-day/
https://bettervantagepoint.com/clean-sheet-day/

Board Actions

Dealer Practices

Informal Fact-Finding Conferences

Bavarian Auto Sales and Mohammad Stwodah - On
August 8, 2023, an informal fact-finding conference
was conducted to address the alleged violations of
failure to maintain posted business hours and comply
with previous warnings. Based on the information
provided at the conference, the hearing officer
recommended assessing a civil penalty of $750 and a
satisfactory inspection. Mohammad Stwodah may
appeal to a Formal Hearing.

Carisma Motors, LLC and Husan Abdelaziz - On August
22, 2023, an informal fact-finding conference was
conducted to address the alleged violations of failure to
maintain dealer records, maintain posted business
hours, and comply with previous warnings. Based on
the information provided at the conference, the Board
assessed a civil penalty of $1,000.00, a satisfactory
inspection, and the successful completion of the 2-day
Dealer-Operator course. Husan Abdelaziz may appeal
to a Formal Hearing.

Formal Hearings:

ESR Auto and Kevin Johnson - On August 10, 2023, a for-
mal hearing was conducted to address the alleged viola-
tions of failure to maintain posted business hours and
comply with previous warnings. Based on the information
provided at the formal hearing, the Board assessed a civil
penalty of $750.00. Kevin Johnson may appeal to the ap-
propriate Circuit Court.

Administrative Actions:

Lakeside Motors and Tony Burnett Jr. - Paid a $250
civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records
and provide proof of safety inspection prior to retail
sale.

Branner’s Auto Sales LLC and Michel Branner - Paid
a $750 civil penalty for failure to maintain posted
business hours.

Richmond Auto Sales LLC and Jerusalem Tekel -
Paid a $750 civil penalty for failure to maintain deal-
er records.

SS&K and Shahin Hamraz - Agreed to pay $2,350
civil penalty for failure to provide proof of liability
insurance on each D-tag.

One Stop Automotive Sales and Service and Bryan
J. Thornhill - Paid a $1,000 civil penalty for failure to
maintain dealer records and unlicensed salesper-
sons.

Abingdon Automart LLC and Robert Andrew Jessee
- Paid a $250 civil penalty for improper use of a
dealer tag.

Top Cars LLC and Jamil Abdalaziz and Tajwarul
Haque — Agreed pay a $2,400 civil penalty for failure
to maintain liability insurance on each D-tag.

501 Auto Sales LLC and Asad Imtiaz - Paid a $750
civil penalty for failure to maintain posted business
hours.

Mario’s Motors, Inc. and Mario R. Cabrera Jr. - Paid
a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer
records.

Rich Tree Auto, Inc and Kenneth Anthony - Paid a
$750 civil penalty for failure to maintain posted
business hours.

Good Samaritan Ministries and Michael McClary -
Paid a $600 civil penalty for failure to provide proof
of liability insurance on each D-tag.

Cont’d on pg. 7
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Dealer Practices

Administrative Actions:

Auto Outlet Sales and Rental LLC and Corey White - Paid a $1,000 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer rec-
ords and unlicensed salespersons.

Starr Trading LLC and Mathew B. Starr - Paid a $1,000 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records and pro-
vide proof of safety inspection prior to retail sale.

Spotlight Auto LLC and Jacqueline Washington - Moved to Debt Set-Off for failure to pay a $1,000 civil penalty for
civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records and provide proof of safety inspection prior to retail sale.

All Cylinders and Louis Welk - Paid a $1,000 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records and provide proof of
safety inspection prior to retail sale.

Matthew Marscheider, Phoenix Auto Sales, LLC. - On June 26, 2023, an informal fact-finding conference was con-
ducted to address the alleged violations of making a material misstatement on a sales application and having been
convicted of a felony. Based on the information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of
$250. Matthew Marcheider may appeal to a Formal Hearing.

Kasey Strosnider, BK Motors, LLC. - On July 17, 2023, an informal fact-finding conference was conducted to address
the alleged violations of having been convicted of a felony, convicted of any criminal act involving the business of
selling vehicles, and convicted of fraud. Based on the information provided at the conference, the Board revoked all
licenses and certificates issued to Kasey Stronsnider. Kasey Stronsnider may appeal to a Formal Hearing.

Richard A. Roof, Jr., Sales Applicant. - On August 7, 2023, an informal fact-finding conference was conducted to
address the alleged violations of having been convicted of a felony. Based on the information provided at the con-
ference, the Board approved Richard A Roof, Jr. to apply for a salesperson license.

Independent Dealer Operator Course 2023 Schedules

The Following Courses are Registered Through the VIADA
a4 )

November 7 - 8 : Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113)

November 14 - 15 : Danville : (Courtyard by Marriott 2136 Riverside Drive Danville, VA 24540)
December 5 - 6 : Chantilly : (Home2Suites 43340 Defender Dr. Chantilly VA 20152)
December 12 - 13 : Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113)

**You can register for your IDO Course on the VIADA website HERE **
Or call 800-394-1960

\_
Page 7



https://viada.org/pre-license/

MVDB Mission Statement

The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will administer sections of the
Commonwealth’s Motor Vehicle Dealer Laws and Regulations as
charged; promote the best interest of both the automotive

consumer and dealer community; while providing a high level of

customet service.

What's Wrong With This Picture?¢

P

Improper Use of Dealer Tag!

Virginia dealers need only use one type of tag on a vehicle at
one time. This is a violation of § 46.2-1550, misuse of D-tag,
and misuse of PoD 30 day tag. This dealer issued a 30 day PoD
tag — which means this vehicle is sold and no longer in the
dealership inventory.

Locate Us:

2201 West Broad St.
Suite 104

Richmond, Va. 23220
We are located inside
The BookBindery Building

Contact Us:

804-367-1100
Executive Director:

William R. Childress ext:3002#

Field Representative Supervisor:
Lisa Mack-Nelson ext:3005#

Operations Manager:
Rick Sipe ext:3003#

Agency Analyst/Education:
Ann Majors ext:3016#

Email:
dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov

Dealer Talk Editor:
Ann Majors
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https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1550/

