
 

How to Become a Dealer in Virginia         

Checklist 
 

Steps Step Name Process 
 

Step One Franchise 
or  
Independent 

Both Independent and Franchise dealers require a qualified dealer-operator.  You can find out how 
to become a qualified dealer-operator in either our Independent Dealer-Operators or Franchise 
Dealer-Operators section. 

☐ 

Step Two Register 
Business with 
the SCC 

If you are a LLC, Corporation, Partnership, or a sole proprietorship, register your business with the 
State  Corporation Commission by clicking here. 

If you are using a trading as name (fictitious or DBA) it must be filed with the SCC. 

☐ 

Step Three ZONING: Your 

location must  
satisfy all zoning 
regulations. 

By law (§46.2-1510), your dealership location is required to satisfy all local zoning regulations. 

Your local zoning  official must sign and date the MVDB 19 zoning form.  Submit completed form 
with your application within 30 days of the zoning approval date. 

Read more details on the MVDB website under ZONING located here. 

☐ 

Step Four Dealership 
Requirements 

Have sales, service, and office space devoted exclusively to the dealership of at least 250  square 
feet in a permanent, enclosed building and not used as a residence. 
§ 46.2-1510 
 

House all dealer records on dealership premises as required by Code of Virginia § 46.2-1529.  
 

Equip your office space with a desk, chairs, filing space, a working telephone listed in the  name of 
the dealership, and working utilities including electricity and provisions for space heating, an 
internet connection, and a valid email address. § 46.2-1510 
 

Display business hours and have required signage § 46.2-1533 and § 46.2-1534 of the Code of 
Virginia.  A dealer must be open a minimum of 20 hours per week. Ten (10) of these  hours must 
be between 9 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. 
 

Have contiguous parking space designated for the exclusive use of the dealership adequate  to 
permit the display of no less than 10 vehicles. § 46.2-1510 

 

Step Five Get Bonded and 
Insured. 

Secure a $50,000 surety bond.  Make sure the name on your Bond, MVDB 10, and SCC documents are 
exactly the same.  The Bond must remain in effect for three (3) consecutive years from dealership 
opening. 

Secure Liability insurance that insures each dealer plate issued to your dealership. 

☐ 

Step Six Complete and 
Submit 
Required  Forms 
to the MVDB 

 
☐ Doc Name Description 

MVDB 2 Bond Application  
Submit the original, owner and witness signed MVDB 2. 

MVDB 9 Application for Dealer plates (you are eligible to receive up to 4 
times the  number dealer plates based on the number of 
salespersons employed).  A copy of your proof of liability insurance 
indicating the number of plates insured, is required. Policy may state 
ALL plates insured. 

MVDB 10 License application for initial license(s).  Include Federal employer 
identification number if applicable 

MVDB 19 Certification of Zoning Compliance dated within 30   days of submission. 
Must have zoning approval for each license type. 

MVDB 61 Salesperson application for initial and transfers. 
A background check must be completed and submitted on the MVDB 61 
for each owner, partner, and initial sales applicants. 
Completed background checks must not exceed 30 days from the date 
of submission. 
Dealer-Operators must have a sales license. 

 A copy of a compliant Buyer’s order. See the buyers Order Checklist  

HERE 

 SCC Documentation. Make sure the company and dealership name on 
the surety bond matches the MVDB 10 application name and the State 
Corporation Commission filing name EXACTLY. 

 SCC filing documents of any “trading as” or fictitious name. 
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https://mvdb.virginia.gov/independent-dealer-operators/
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/franchise-dealer-operator/
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/franchise-dealer-operator/
https://sccefile.scc.virginia.gov/
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/MVDB-19.pdf
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/h-t-b-dealer/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1510/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-1529
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1510/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-1533
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-1534
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1510/
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/MVDB-10.pdf
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/MVDB-2.pdf
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/MVDB-9.pdf
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/MVDB-10.pdf
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/MVDB-19.pdf
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/MVDB-61.pdf
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/MVDB-44.pdf
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/MVDB-10.pdf


Checklist 
 

Step Six - 
continued 

 Franchise dealers must attach a copy of the franchise agreement and original franchise letter, 
which includes the manufacturer or distributor’s service agreement. The manufacturer or 
distributor must also be licensed by the DMV. 

 

All forms are available for printing from our website HERE. 

 

Step Seven Opening 
Inspection 

After approval of your dealership application, your assigned Field Representative will contact you 
after receiving your license items, to schedule an opening inspection. 

When the location complies with all Virginia Code requirements.  Upon a satisfactory inspection, 
the MVDB Field Representative will give you your certificate, licenses and dealer plates, and your 
dealership will be open for business.  

Know and understand Virginia Advertising laws. Advertising laws may be found  under Virginia 
Code § 46.2-1581, Virginia Regulations, and advertising guidance documents   may be found on 
our website link HERE. 

 
Dealership Employee Requirements: 

 Each dealership salesperson must be licensed by the Board, employed by the 
dealership, paid on a W-2, and may not be classified as a “1099 independent 
contractor.” 

 See Virginia Code § 46.2-1537, and § 46.2-1500 salesperson definition. 

 

 
☐ 

Step Eight Take Those 
Extra Steps to 
Make Life 
Easier 

 In order to issue 30-day temporary tags (PoD), you must have an agreement with one of 
the following vendors. Click HERE to link to the DMV and the PoD vendors directly. 

 

 Visit our website at https://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/ for additional, pertinent and code 
section information. 

 

 While on our website, click HERE to sign up for electronic (email) issues of our 
newsletter Dealer Talk and other emailed information notifications. 

 

 Become an On-Line Dealer and perform many of your DMV-related dealer 
transactions from your office.  Visit 
http://www.dmv.state.va.us/webdoc/pdf/dmv25.pdf for more information. 

 

 

 
 
 
 

The information here and much more can be found on our How to Become a Dealer section of our website. 

Required Fees 

$270.00 Dealer Certificate 

$50.00 Each Additional License Type Endorsement 

$350.00 Motor Vehicle Transaction Recovery Fund Paid Annually for the First 
3-years of operation. 

$60.00 First 2 Dealer Plates 

$26.00 Additional Dealer Plates (each) 

$50.00 Salesperson’s License (each) 

 

https://mvdb.virginia.gov/formsandpublications/
http://mvdb.virginia.gov/codes-and-regulations/
http://mvdb.virginia.gov/codes-and-regulations/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/gdocs.cfm?agencynumber=506
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1537/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1500/
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/commercial/%23dealer/pod_intro.asp
https://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/dealer-talk-news-letter/
http://www.dmv.state.va.us/webdoc/pdf/dmv25.pdf
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/h-t-b-dealer/

