
  

 

 

 

DEALER TALKDEALER TALKDEALER TALKDEALER TALK    
August 2010 Volume 13, Number 76 

 

 
2201 W. Broad Street 
Suite 104 
Richmond, Virginia 23220 
Phone: (804) 367-1100 
FAX: (804) 367-1053 
Toll Free: (877) 270-0203 (Intra-State only) 
E-mail: dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov    
Website: www.mvdb.virginia.gov   
Bruce Gould, Executive Director  
Peggy Bailey, Office Manager  
Frank McCormick, Field Rep. Supervisor 
 
 

NOTE:  We make every effort to 
ensure information in Dealer Talk is 
accurate, but it is not a substitute 
for legal advice. 
 
 

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 

Mission Statement 
 
The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will 
administer sections of the 
Commonwealth’s Motor Vehicle Dealer 
Laws and regulations as charged; while 
providing a high level of customer 
service for the automotive consumer  
and dealer community. 
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GOVERNOR MCDONNELL ANNOUNCES 
84 NEW JOBS FOR WYTHE COUNTY - 
EVATRAN TO INVEST $3.5 MILLION IN 

PLUGLESS POWER SYSTEM 

MANUFACTURING OPERATION - 

RICHMOND - Governor Bob McDonnell recently 
announced that Evatran LLC, a subsidiary of MTC 
Transformers and the manufacturer of the world's first 
"hands-free" electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), 
will invest $3.5 million in a new facility in Wytheville 
in Wythe County that will manufacture Plugless 
Power™ charging technology for electric vehicles. The 
project will create 84 new jobs.  Virginia successfully 
competed against North Carolina and Ohio for the 
project. 

MTC Transformers, a manufacturer of specialized 
electrical transformers focusing on niche market 
segments, was founded in Wytheville in 1985. The 
company started Evatran in April 2009. 

Speaking about the announcement, Governor 
McDonnell commented, "The state-of-the-art 
technology that will be used at Evatran's new 
manufacturing facility in Wytheville is vital to the 
electric vehicle industry. In light of today's need to 
ever increase energy conservation, I commend the 
company's key involvement in alternative energy 
solutions such as Plugless Power™. 

 

 

 (Continued on page 2) 
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Calendar of Events 
 

All Meetings held at DMV 
Headquarters 

2300 W. Broad Street, Room 
702  Richmond, VA 

 
 
Monday, September 13, 2010 
Time:  9:00 a.m. 
Dealer Practices Committee 
Meeting 
 
Monday, September 13, 2010 
Time: Immediately following Dealer 
Practices 
Licensing Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, September 13, 2010 
Time: Immediately following 
Licensing 
Advertising Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, September 13, 2010 
Time: Immediately following 
Advertising 
Transaction Recovery Fund 
Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, September 13, 2010 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Full Board Meeting 
 
NOTE: Meetings may begin later, 
 but not earlier than  
 scheduled. 

 
 

GOVERNOR MCDONNELL ANNOUNCES 84 NEW JOBS 
FOR WYTHE COUNTY - EVATRAN TO INVEST $3.5 

MILLION IN PLUGLESS POWER SYSTEM 

MANUFACTURING OPERATION - 

(Continued from page 1) 

Evatran is the manufacturer of Plugless Power™, the 
world's first "hands-free" charging system for electric 
vehicles. Utilizing a unique dual-component system based 
on inductive technology, Evatran's Plugless Power™ 
streamlines the process of charging electric vehicles by 
eliminating the nuisance of the cord and the plug.  The 
result is a system that is convenient, universal and 
reliable. Evatran's customers are manufacturers, dealers 
and drivers of electric or extended-range hybrid vehicles. 
Other customers utilizing Plugless Power™ may include 
corporations, municipal governments, utilities, residential 
developers, homebuilders, retailers and small businesses. 

According to Rebecca Hough, co-founder and director of 
sales and marketing for Evatran, "We are eager to apply 
the capabilities and dedication of Virginia workers to 
create a transportation infrastructure that responds to 21st 
century demands. Evatran is proud to build on the quarter 
century's worth of domestic job creation begun through our 
parent company MTC Transformers, one of Virginia's 
fastest-growing manufacturers. We are delighted that our 
innovations in clean transportation have so much potential 
to boost the local economy in Wythe County, our home 
since 1985." 

The Virginia Economic Development Partnership worked 
with Wythe County, the Joint Industrial Development 
Authority of Wythe County, Wytheville, and Rural Retreat, 
and Virginia's a Corridor to secure the project for Virginia. 
Governor McDonnell approved a $150,000 grant from the 
Governor's Opportunity Fund to assist with the project. The 
Virginia Tobacco Indemnification and Community 
Revitalization Commission approved $235,000 in Tobacco 
Region Opportunity Funds for the project. The Virginia 
Department of Business Assistance will provide training 
assistance through the Virginia Jobs Investment Program. 
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HOLIDAYS HOURS 
 

In observance of the 
upcoming holidays, all state 
agencies, including the 
Dealer Board, will be closed 
on the following dates: 

    

    

 
MONDAYMONDAYMONDAYMONDAY    

SEPTEMBER 6, 2010SEPTEMBER 6, 2010SEPTEMBER 6, 2010SEPTEMBER 6, 2010    
    

    
    

    

FOR LABOR DAY!FOR LABOR DAY!FOR LABOR DAY!FOR LABOR DAY!    
 

ATTENTION ON-LINE DEALERS 
 

 
Are you an “on-line dealer”?  Virginia law requires that when 
you title and register a vehicle for a purchaser via the on-line 
system (CVR or triVin), the customer must pay the fee charged 
to you by the vendor for processing the transaction on-line.  
This fee is known as and listed separately on the buyer’s order 
as an “On-line Systems Filing Fee”. 
 
It has come to our attention that many if not all on-line dealers 
“automatically” add this fee to the Buyer’s Order when 
completing a sale.  Typically, once the sale is completed, the 
paperwork is handed-off to another employee (Usually the 
“Title Clerk”) to complete.  The title clerk either enters the 
transaction into the on-line system or if it is a situation where 
the transaction cannot be completed on-line, brings the 
paperwork to a DMV Customer Service Center to obtain title and 
registration. (On-line Dealers may not bring work to DMV select 
agents) 
 
If it is determined that the transaction cannot be completed on-
line, you must refund the “On-line Systems Filing Fee” you 
collected from the customer.  Our field representatives have 
discovered that often times, this refund is not being made.  
Please review your procedures and be sure that if you are 
collecting an “On-line Systems Filing Fee” and the transaction is 
not completed on-line, that you are refunding the fee to your 
customers.  Failure to do so could result in the MVDB assessing a 
civil penalty or even the suspension or revocation of your dealer 
license. 

(An on-line dealer is a dealer that has a contract with a vendor 
(CVR or triVin) providing for an electronic link (interface) 
between DMV and the dealer.  This interface provides a means 
for Virginia dealerships to issue registration cards, metal license 
plates and decals at the point of sale and electronically update 
DMV's vehicle files. Titles are printed at DMV overnight and 
mailed the morning after DMV receives the transaction.) 
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PRINT ON DEMAND 
TEMP TAGS 

 
Are you one of the nearly 800 
dealers who have signed-up for Print 
on Demand (PoD) temporary tags?  If 
your answer is “YES” -- that is great. 
If your answer is “NO” – you are 
missing out on the convenience and 
advantages PoD Offers.  Just ask one 
of the 800 who have signed-up! 
 
With PoD, you print 30-day tags as 
you need them – you eliminate all 
the issues related to obtaining, 
securing and accounting for 30-day 
tags.  In addition, as of May 2011, 
PoD will be the only option available 
to issue 30-day tags. 
 
Avoid the last minute rush -- sign-up 
now.  There is no cost to you to sign-
up for PoD.  For more information 
and a list of vendors offering the 
PoD service, go to our WEB site 
(www.mvdb.virginia) and click on  
Print on Demand Temp. Tags in the 
“What’s Hot” area of our home 
page. 
 
 

SPOT DELIVERY 

In 2009, the General Assembly 
passed a bill that required, by July 
1, 2010, all dealers to change the 
“spot delivery” notice that must be 
on the buyer’s order.   Dealers have 
had a year to make this change.  
Please double check to be sure you 
have made this update to your 
buyer’s order.  The MVDB staff has 
observed that many dealers have not 
updated their buyer’s order.  Non-
compliance with this change in the 
law could lead to a civil penalty of 
up to $1,000. 

 
 

GOVERNOR MCDONNELL ANNOUNCES $20 
MILLION DUPONT FACILITY IN 
CHESTERFIELD COUNTY 

~Will Manufacture State of the Art Components of Lithium 

Ion Batteries for Electric Vehicles ~ 
 

RICHMOND - Governor Bob McDonnell recently announced that DuPont 
will invest $20 million to establish a facility in Chesterfield County to 
make the first nanofiber-based polymeric separators for high-
performance lithium ion batteries for electric vehicles and many 
other potential commercial uses.  

 The facility, an early commercial-scale plant to produce the 
new material for this growing market, will be located at a leased 
building in Chesterfield County and will begin operations in early 
2011. Virginia competed with other locations for the investment. The 
company is eligible for an $800-per-job grant through the state's 
enterprise zone program.  DuPont is also working with U.S. Sens. Jim 
Webb, and Mark R. Warner, and Representative. J. Randy Forbes, for 
help securing federal tax credits. 

Governor McDonnell stated “The federal government is putting 
a big push into this administration into some of the alternative energy 
technologies as a way of reducing reliance on oil and also having some 
salient environmental benefits.” 

“DuPont is a science leader and a major employer in the 
Commonwealth. The company has been in Chesterfield County since 
1929 and this exciting new battery technology facility will continue 
DuPont’s history of innovation in the Commonwealth of Virginia. We 
are committed to helping our existing employers expand their 
operations in the Commonwealth.  This announcement is positive 
news for our economy, and for the competitiveness of Chesterfield 
County and the entire Commonwealth in the global marketplace,” 
said Governor McDonnell.    

The facility will further refine and develop DuPont™ Energain™ 
separators, a nanofiber-based material that improves safety by 
allowing high-performance lithium-ion batteries to operate at higher 
temperatures and can increase power up to 30 percent.  

“DuPont™ Energain™ separators will be key to battery 
manufacturers making huge advances in lithium-ion batteries,” said 
Thomas G. Powell, President, DuPont Protection Technologies. 
“DuPont enjoys a great, long-term partnership with Virginia and the 
technology development it enables enhances our presence here as a 
major employer.”  

DuPont™ and Energain™ are trademarks of DuPont.  
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Did You Watch Us on 
the WEB? 

 
With the help of DMV, all MVDB 
Board meeting are broadcast live 
on the internet.  To watch a 
“rerun” of the July MVDB 
meeting click HERE. 
 
The next Motor Vehicle Dealer 
Board meeting, which is 
scheduled for September 13 at 
9:00 am, will be broadcast live on 
the WEB once again.  A hot link 
will be posted on the MVDB Home 
Page (www.mvdb.virginia.gov) 
for a quick and easy connection 
to the broadcast.  Mark your 
calendars now!   
 
 

REVISED FORM DSD-27A 
 

Department of Motor Vehicles 
form DSD 27 A, (Permit to Use 
Dealer or Temporary Transport 
Plates on Laden Vehicles) has 
been revised to reflect DMV 
forms standards and the name of 
the from has been changed to 
better reflect the form's purpose.  
The new title of the form is 
“Permit to Use Dealer or 
Temporary Transport Plate on 
Trucks or Tractor Trucks”. 
 
If you have a supply of the “old” 
form, please do not destroy them 
as it is OK to continue to use the 
“old” form.  Once you have 
depleted your supply of existing 
forms, you may order a new 
supply or simply download the 
revised form from either DMV’s or 
MVDB’s WEB sites: (DSD - 27A) 
 
 

BOARD ACTIONS 
 
Omar J. White and City to City Auto Sales, LLC. (Informal Fact Finding 
Conference)  A March 2010 random inspection of this dealership revealed 
a number of problems including compensating an unlicensed salesperson.  
The dealer was given the opportunity to pay a $1,000 civil penalty for 
compensating an unlicensed salesperson or request an informal fact 
finding conference (IFFC). The dealer asked for the IFFC. On June 9, 
2010, an informal fact-finding conference was conducted to address the 
alleged violations related to failing to post a list of salespersons; failure 
to properly maintain records; failure to fully complete a buyer’s order; 
failure to have salespersons properly licensed; failure to submit 
registration fees to DMV; and improper use of or permitting the improper 
use dealer’s license plates.  Based on the information provided at the 
conference, the Board voted to assess civil penalties totaling $1,500.  
The Board also voted to require that Mr. White must successfully 
complete the dealer-operator course by October 12, 2010.  Failure to do 
so will result in the immediate suspension of all licenses and certificates 
issued by the Board to Mr. White. 
 
 
Charlie A. Absher and Absher Sales (Formal Hearing) In June of 2006, 
this dealer received an educational/warning letter for miss-using 
temporary transport tags.  In February of 2008, Mr. Absher was cited for 
five unlicensed salespersons.  Mr. Absher was given the option to pay a 
$3,000 civil penalty or attend an informal fact finding conference.  He 
paid the civil penalty. 
 
In February of 2009, Mr. Absher received a verbal warning for once again 
miss-using transport tags.  Responding to a consumer complaint, the 
dealership was inspected and it appeared that he was in violation of 
numerous laws.  On January 5, 2010, an informal fact-finding conference 
was conducted to address the alleged violations for failing to have an 
established place of business; failure to display dealer certificate; failure 
to disclose the Federal Buyer’s Guide; related to odometer disclosure 
requirements; failure to properly issue temporary tags; failure to submit 
fees to DMV; record keeping requirements; failure to comply subsequent 
to receipt of a written warning/willful failure to comply; defrauding a 
retail buyer; and having used deceptive acts or practices. 
 
Mr. Absher's case was presented at the March 8, 2010 Dealer Board 
Committee and Full Board Meeting, the Board adopted a resolution to 
assess a civil penalty of $5,000 and that all licenses issued by the Board 
to Mr. Absher should be revoked. On April 6, 2010, Mr. Absher appealed 
and requested a formal hearing. On June 15, 2010, a formal hearing was 
conducted to address the alleged violations as mentioned above.  Based 
on the information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a 
$5,000 civil penalty and revoked all licenses and certificates issued to Mr. 
Absher. 
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ADVERTISING AND THE INTERNET 
 

As a reminder, all of the advertising 
laws and regulations apply to 
advertisements that are placed on the 
internet.   
 
We are receiving reports and have 
confirmed these reports that dealers 
and salespersons are placing 
advertisements on Craig’s List that do 
not comply with the Motor Vehicle 
Dealer Advertising Laws and 
Regulations. For instances, the name of 
the dealership or a designation such as 
“VA DLR” must appear on each posting.  
Listing vehicles under the heading “for 
sale by dealer” alone, does not satisfy 
this requirement. Each listing must 
include the name of the dealership or a 
designation such as “VA DLR”. 
 

Advertisements on Craig’s List as in all 
other advertisements, must include 
proper disclosures including processing 
fee. If your dealership charges a 
processing fee, this fee must be stated 
in each listing. If the advertisement 
includes a telephone number, it must 
include at minimum, the telephone 
number of the dealership. An 
advertisement placed by a salesperson 
may include his/her telephone number 
in addition to the dealership telephone 
number. 
 

Dealers may not set-up a WEB site 
advertising as a service or otherwise 
assisting in financing without listing the 
name of the dealership in the 
advertisement. For instance, we have 
received reports that dealers have 
established WEB sites under a name 
other than the name of their dealership 
stating that they specialize in securing 
financing for members of the military.  
These WEB sites are merely “fronts” for 
a dealership. Those applying for credit 
are approved provided they purchase a 
car from the dealership that is 
“fronting” the WEB site. This is a 
deceptive practice and could result in 
the revocation of the dealer’s license. 
 

In conclusion, advertisements on the 
internet and WEB sites must comply 
with all of the established advertising 
laws and regulations. 

INDEPENDENT DEALER-OPERATOR 
RE-CERTIFICATION  

 

In 2007 the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board began to look at the 
concept of continuing education for independent dealer-
operators.  After having held six public hearings; publication of 
numerous articles in Dealer Talk; and countless hours of work, 
the final regulations were published in the August 2, 2010 
edition of the Virginia Register of Regulations.   
 
Beginning January 1, 2006, by statute, the dealer-operator of 
any new independent motor vehicle dealership is required to 
successfully complete a course of study before they will be 
allowed to take the independent dealer-operator qualification 
test at any DMV Customer Service Center (CSC).  A re-
certification requirement is the next logical step as they require 
dealer-operators to keep up with laws, regulations and 
guidelines. 
 
The new regulations require independent dealer-operators to 
recertify every three years by either completing a course of 
study or passing an exam.  The regulations provide an orderly 
schedule to transition existing and future independent dealer-
operators into a three year recertification cycle.   
 
Recertification will be tied to the month the independent 
dealer-operator initially became certified.  If a dealer-operator 
become certified before 1995 (Including those “grandfathered” 
in 1989), they will need to recertify in 2011. Those initially 
certified between 1995 and 2005 will need to recertify in 2012 
and those initially certified from 2006 to 2010, will need to re-
certify in 2013.   
 
The regulations provide maximum flexibility for independent 
dealers to complete recertification requirements as they allow 
for courses to be offered in a classroom setting as well as online 
and by mail.  Independent dealers will also have the option of 
studying on their own and recertifying by taking an exam.  
Dealer-operators will be able to recertify up to six months prior 
to their anniversary month and two months after their 
anniversary month.  Independent dealer-operators will be sent a 
re-certification notice in the mail to their home address. 
 
The next issue of Dealer Talk will include more detailed 
information on this new initiative. 
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Dealer-Operator Course 
 
The Virginia Community College System and the Virginia Independent Automobile Dealers Association (VIADA) have 
teamed up to present a two-day Dealer-Operator course. The following is a list of up-coming classes. The list is regularly 
updated on our WEB site at http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/licensingprocess.htm. 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO ALL PROSPECTIVE DEALERS  

The dealer-operator of any new independent motor vehicle dealership is required to successfully complete a 
course of study before they will be allowed to take the independent dealer-operator qualification test at any DMV 
Customer Service Center.  “Grandfathered” dealer-operators, title clerks and salespersons are encouraged to take 
the course as well. 

Course Schedule 
 
2010 
 

August 17 & 18 - Blue Ridge Community College, Weyers Cave  
Contact: Lisa or Sandy; 540-453-2215; www.brcc.edu 
 
September 7 & 8 - Germanna Community College, Fredericksburg 
Contact: Susan Brown; 540-891-3012; www.gcc.vccs.edu/workforce 
 
October 5 & 6 - Community College Workforce Alliance at J. Sargeant Reynolds - Community 
College, North Run Campus, Henrico, County Contact: Sandy Jones; 804-523-2292; 
www.ccwa.vccs.edu 
 
October 19 & 20 – Northern Virginia Community College, Reston 
Contact: Claire Wynn; 703-450-2551; www.nvcc.edu/loudoun/continuing 
 
November 9 & 10 - Piedmont Community College, Charlottesville 
Contact: Maggie Myers; 434-961-5495 or mmmyers@pvcc.edu; www.pvcc.edu 
 
November 16 & 17 - Tidewater Community College, Norfolk 
Contact: Registration; 757-822-1234; www.tcc.edu/wd 
 
December 7 & 8 - Lord Fairfax Community College, Warrenton 
Contact: Registration; 540-868-7021; www.lfccworkforce.com 
 
 

Registration materials and information are available from each of the Community Colleges’ WEB site 
or by calling the individual college. 
 
The cost is $325 if you register at least two weeks prior to the date of the course.  The fee is $375 
after that date.  

 


