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Dealer Records 

§ 46.2-1529 requires all Motor Vehicle Dealers to keep the originals or a copy of all 

original records at the site (dealership) of origination for five (5) years. This is not 

an exhaustive list, but dealer records may consist of records of employees (W-2); 

proof of ownership of vehicles in inventory for sale; consignment documents; vehi-

cle purchases; sales; trades; and transfers of ownership; buyers orders and buyers 

guides; proof of titling; uninsured motor vehicle documents; proof of registration 

fees; odometer disclosure statements; records of D-tag registrations; proof of safety 

inspection; and the registration portion of all PoD tag registrations printed.  Most 

of these items may be in the “deal folder’, but all must be given to the Field repre-

sentative on request. 

Certain records may be maintained on a computerized record-keeping system with 

prior approval from the Board. Upon request, the executive director may exempt a 

dealer from the requirement to keep the originals or a copy of the originals at the 

originating dealership when the location for the off site storage is no further than 

five miles from the originating dealer. Additionally, the executive director may also 

Cont’d on pg. 2 

Dealer Talk 

Cont’d on pg. 2 

In March 2020, Governor Northam declared a State of Emergency due to the 
COVID-19 pandemic.  With the of State of Emergency Order in place, the Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB) temporarily suspended enforcement of the minimum 
number of hours that a dealership must be open during the week.  In June 2021, 
Governor Northam lifted the State of Emergency Order.  Therefore, beginning 
August 1, 2021, the MVDB will resume enforcement of the Virginia Code regarding 
dealership business hours requirements. 
 “§ 46.2-1533 (1533) of the Virginia Code states that each motor vehicle dealer must 
be open a minimum of 20 hours per week of which 10 hours shall be between the 
hours of 9:00 am – 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday.” 
The Board strongly recommends that dealers work closely with their local field rep-
resentatives and central office staff to ensure that your dealership’s current business 

mailto:dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/
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BOARD MEETINGS 

All Meetings are held at DMV Headquarters 
2300 W. Broad Street, Room 702 
Richmond, VA  23220 
 
Monday,  September 13, 2021** 

Dealer Practices Committee Meeting 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Licensing Committee Meeting 

Time:  Immediately following Dealer Practices 
Committee 

Advertising Committee Meeting 

Time: Immediately following Licensing 
Committee 

Transaction Recovery Fund Committee 
Meeting 

Time:  Immediately following Advertising 
Committee 

Full Board Meeting 

Immediately following Transaction Recovery 

Fund Committee meeting. 

**Click HERE for Virginia Town Hall to view 

meeting information. 

MVDB will be closed 

 Monday, September 6 Labor Day 
  

 

hours, email address, and other pertinent information on file 
with the MVDB is correct.  
Educational Warning and Civil Penalty for Violating § 46.2-
1533 

1st § 46.2-1533 violation: Dealer receives an educational 
warning (email or letter notification)  

2nd  violation, a $750 civil penalty 
3rd violation, the dealer will be have an informal hearing, 

and will appear before the Board. 
To be in compliance with § 46.2-1533 and avoid civil penalties 
and hearings, you must keep the MVDB 
(dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov) informed of the dealership clo-
sures during normal business hours. Work closely with your lo-
cal MVDB field representatives and the main office staff to en-
sure your dealership’s current business hours, email address, and 
other information are on file and up to date. For their contact 
information, click on https://mvdb.virginia.gov/agency-
directory/#FieldReps.  We understand emergencies happen; 
however, it is important that you notify the MVDB, your field 
representative, or both as soon as possible.   

back to pg. 1 
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Posted Business Hours 

exempt a dealer from the requirement to keep the originals or 

copies of the originals at the originating dealership when an elec-

tronic system is in place that allows immediate retrieval of docu-

ments imaged or otherwise maintained in electronic format at 

the site where they originated. Online dealers who own multiple 

dealerships and prefer to process all on-line transactions in a 

central location have five business days to return the original 

documents or a copy to the originating dealership once the on-

line transaction is completed. (The original or a copy must be 

stored at the dealership for 12 months.) Dealers must request in 

writing and be approved by the Dealer Board prior to storing 

their records electronically or off-site. The Dealer Board will 

take into consideration the Dealer’s record keeping history and 

other factors when deciding the dealer’s request. 

In summary, when Field Representatives request dealer records, 

dealerships must be able to retrieve and show these documents 

for inspection.  For full guidance, click HERE.  

Dealer Records 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/meetings.cfm
mailto:dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov
https://s7286770.sendpul.se/sl/MTkxMzI3MDc=/f5314262c41f6071e1964adfbaad27c0s4
https://s7286770.sendpul.se/sl/MTkxMzI3MDc=/f5314262c41f6071e1964adfbaad27c0s4
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/GUIDELINES-OFF-SITE-RECORDS-10-07.pdf
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PoD Reminders 

The following reminders provide important information impacting dealer transactions. PoD tags on bond pa-

per is not authorized.  All PoD temporary tags must be printed on the weather resistant paper supplied by the 

Department of Motor Vehicles, Dealer Services work center. The PoD tags are not authorized to be 

emailed to customers. All vehicles must be titled within 30 days of purchase to ensure that titling tax is paid 

to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles as required by law. It is important to note that continued use of 

bond paper may result in the loss of your privileges to participate in the PoD program. Also, law enforcement 

may ticket vehicle owners displaying the bond paper for illegal use of license plates. Orders for the PoD paper 

will be accepted through Dealer Services Work Center. To place an order, send an email to: 

podtemptag@dmv.virginia.gov with the following information: dealer name, dealer number, shipping address, 

order quantity, tag size(s) (standard/ small), and printer make/ model number. Approved order requests will 

be shipped within five business days. Standard tags will be issued in packs of 100 and small tags (motorcycle/

trailer) in packs of 25. 

§ 46.2-1561 states in part, no dealer shall lend temporary license plates to any person for use on any vehi-

cle...and…It shall be unlawful for any person to issue any temporary license plates containing any misstate-

ment of fact, or for any person issuing or using temporary license plates knowingly to insert any false infor-

mation on their face. 

§ 46.2-1559 requires all dealers to maintain a permanent record of all temporary license plates (PoD) issued. 

§ 46.2-1529 requires dealers to keep dealer records for 5 years.  As one of many required dealer records, please 

note that the Board Field Representatives may ask to see your records regarding PoD usage.  The Board rec-

ommends dealers retain in the vehicle folder, one of the registrations that are printed as part of the PoD tag.  

This includes transport tags, and temporary registrations for vehicle sales to customers.   

Back to pg. 1 

ALL IDO’s of independent dealerships 

must recertify their IDO qualification 

every three years by either taking an 

online course,  classroom course, or by 

passing an administered DMV test.  Click 

HERE for more information and HERE 

to determine your recertification deadline.  

Please note that dealers with Franchise 

endorsements are exempt from 

recertification.  If you are unclear on your 

recertification deadline, or any other 

recertification questions,  please contact  

Ann  Majors at the MVDB.  She may be 

reached at 804-367-1100 x 3016#, or email 

at  ann.majors@mvdb.virginia.gov 

mailto:podtemptag@dmv.virginia.gov
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/dealer-operators/recertification.aspx
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/DealerOperatorDeadlineDates.pdf
mailto:ann.majors@mvdb.virginia.gov
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Title Within 30 Days 
The Board is receiving an increase in consumer complaints regarding dealers failing to get customers’ their title and 
registration within the time limits allowed by law.  Dealers are required to get customers their titles and registration 
within thirty (30) days for Virginia residents, and an additional 30 days for out of state residents. 
Va Code § 46.2-1542 states in part that “whenever a dealer sells or conditionally sells and delivers to a purchaser a 
motor vehicle, the dealer may issue temporary license plates and a certificate of temporary registration. The tempo-
rary license plates and the certificates for temporary registration may be issued if (i) the dealer has the title or the cer-
tificate of origin for the vehicle or (ii) is unable at the time of the sale to deliver to the purchaser the certificate of title 
or certificate of origin for the vehicle because the certificate of title or certificate of origin is lost or is being detained 
by another in possession or for any other reason beyond the dealer's control.” 
In subsection C, it states in part, “If the dealer does not produce the certificate of title or certificate of origin to the 
vehicle before the expiration of the second temporary certificate, the purchaser's rights to the vehicle under this 
section may terminate and he shall have the right to return the vehicle as provided in subsection B.”  In addi-
tion, be aware that dealers cannot repossess a vehicle from a customer unless the vehicle has been titled in the cus-
tomer’s name. 
Dealer Title Helds: DMV allows dealers to title a customer’s vehicle with missing documentation by placing a deal-
er title held on the vehicle. This stops the title from printing until the missing documentation is provided to DMV 
(e.g., the prior title is held up by the lienholder). Utilizing dealer title helds allows dealers to meet their 30-day titling 
requirement when they are still missing documentation normally required to title the vehicle.  To place a title held 
onto a vehicle, the dealer must deliver to the Department an application for title, copy of the bill of sale, all required 
fees and a written statement of facts describing the dealer's efforts to secure the certificate of title or certificate of 
origin to the vehicle. 
DMV only offers this to dealers. However, it is the dealer’s responsibility to submit the missing documentation. 
DMV has noticed an increase in dealers not submitting the remaining documentation to remove the dealer title held. 
Consequently this delays the customer’s ability to receive their title, which causes customer frustrations. It may also 
reflect poorly on the dealership and should be avoided by submitting the required documentation as soon as it is re-
ceived. DMV will send letters to the dealership, lienholder and customers advising them of the need for additional 
documentation to release the dealer title held. 

Securely Transmit Documents 

For the security of dealers, and salespersons, be aware that whenever you submit information to the Board electroni-
cally that contains personal identifying information (PII), you should submit this information via a secured electronic 
medium.  Virtru is a software that is free for your usage and provides that secure delivery mechanism to protect 
PII.  Please keep this in mind when you submit future documents that contain PII, make sure the email comes en-
crypted to the Board.   To get started, go to the link provided HERE and watch the quick video on how to install 
the Virtru Plugin from the Chrome Web Store. This link provides detailed installation instructions of Virtru on the 
following (Outlook Desktop, IOS, and Android).  The email address for encrypted license applications is:  
MVDB61@MVDB.VIRGINIA.GOV.  When composing your email to send the application(s) electronical-
ly, make sure "Virtru" is "turned on". Be sure you have attached the application(s) to your email.  In the email 
message, you must provide the Board with a name of the individual authorized to pay for the transaction by credit 
card over the phone, and a phone number that is readily answered.  The dealership will receive an email verifying 
the Board's receipt of the encrypted email and attached applications. Board staff will contact the dealership for credit 
card payment, so it is essential that the Board receives the correct contact information for the person with the credit 
card.  If the Board is unable to receive credit card payment, this will delay processing of the applications. It 
is important for everyone’s security that dealers begin using Virtru to email any sensitive applications/documents 
that include PII to the Board.  If dealers email PII without using Virtru, the sender will receive an email reply re-
minding the dealer of the security requirements. If you have any questions on the process, please email 
mvdb61@mvdb.virginia.gov. 

https://support.virtru.com/hc/en-us/articles/115012442108-Install-and-activate-Virtru-for-Gmail
mailto:MVDB61@MVDB.VIRGINIA.GOV
mailto:mvdb61@mvdb.virginia.gov
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FTC and Tate Auto Group 

FTC alleged that Richard Berry orchestrated a regional scheme to falsify consumer information on financing 
applications. 

The FTC reached an agreement with Richard Berry, the owner and manager of a group of bankrupt auto deal-
erships in Arizona and New Mexico, to resolve charges that he and the dealerships deceived consumers and 
falsified information on vehicle financing applications.  Many of the affected consumers were members of the 
Navajo Nation. 
“When Berry’s auto dealerships falsified income and down payment information to qualify people for loans 
they couldn’t afford to pay back, they set people up for failure – including default, repossession, and ruined 
credit,” said Samuel Levine, Acting Director of the FTC’s Bureau of Consumer Protection. “That’s why the 
FTC sued Berry and his dealerships.” 
The FTC reached an earlier settlement with the four dealerships: Tate’s Auto Center of Winslow, Tate’s Auto-
motive, Tate Ford-Lincoln-Mercury, and Tate’s Auto Center of Gallup. If approved by the district court, the 
present settlement against Berry, would result in a $450,000 payment to the FTC and conclude the FTC’s case. 
The settlement also included a stipulated dismissal of relief defendant Linda Tate, which has been entered by 
the court. 
The FTC’s complaint, filed in August 2018, alleged that the defendants falsified consumers’ income and down 
payment information to get vehicles financed and engaged in unlawful advertising.  In an earlier ruling in the 
case, the judge found that the defendants violated the Truth in Lending Act (TILA) and Consumer Leasing 
Act (CLA) by failing to disclose legally required information in their advertisements. 
In addition to the $450,000 payment, the proposed settlement prohibits Berry from misrepresenting infor-
mation in documents associated with a consumer’s purchase, financing, or leasing of a motor vehicle, and mis-
representing the costs or any other material fact related to vehicle financing. The proposed order also requires 
Berry to provide consumers sufficient time to review and obtain a copy of the relevant vehicle financing docu-
ments and prohibits him from violating the TILA and CLA.   
The Commission vote approving the proposed stipulated order was 5-0. Commissioner Rebecca Kelly Slaugh-
ter issued a concurring statement. The proposed order was filed in the U.S. District Court for the District of 
Arizona. 
NOTE: Stipulated final orders or injunctions, etc. have the force of law when approved and signed by the Dis-
trict Court judge. 
 

Back to pg. 1 

Field Staff  Change 

Welcome to our new Field Representative, 
Kenneth Clark.  Kenny will be responsible for 
Caroline, Culpeper, Essex, Fredericksburg, 
King George, Lancaster, Northumberland, Or-
ange, Richmond County, Spotsylvania, Stafford, 
and Westmoreland jurisdictions.  Kenny may be 
reached at 804-539-5211, or email him at 
Kenneth.clark@mvdb.virginia.gov. 
Kenny is taking over Larry Sparks’ territory.  
Larry has retired after working for the Board 
for more than 7 years, —-we wish Larry all 
the best in his retirement! 

§46.2-1529.1 The Federal Trade Commission’s (FTC) 

Used Car Rule requires dealers to post a Buyers Guide 

in every used car they offer for sale. This includes light-

duty vans, light-duty trucks, demonstrators, and pro-

gram cars. Demonstrators are new cars that haven’t 

been owned, leased, or used as rentals, but have been 

driven by dealer staff. Program cars are low-mileage, 

current-model-year vehicles returned from short-term 

leases or rentals. Buyers Guides do not have to be post-

ed on motorcycles and most recreational vehicles. 

https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/press-releases/2020/09/auto-dealer-group-cease-business-operations-part-ftc-settlement
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/press-releases/2020/09/auto-dealer-group-cease-business-operations-part-ftc-settlement
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/press-releases/2018/08/ftc-charges-auto-dealerships-arizona-new-mexico-falsifying
https://www.ftc.gov/system/files/documents/cases/192_stipulated_order_for_permanent_injunction_and_monetary_relief_as_to_individual_defendant.pdf
https://www.ftc.gov/system/files/documents/public_statements/1593057/tates_auto_rks_concurring_statement.pdf
mailto:Kenneth.clark@mvdb.virginia.gov
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1529.1/#:~:text=Sales%20of%20used%20motor%20vehicles%20by%20dealers%3B%20disclosures%3B%20penalty.&text=A%20dealer%20may%20sell%20a,an%20%22AS%20IS%22%20sale.
http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/pdf-0083-buyers-guide.pdf
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Virginia Earns Back-to-Back Titles 

Back to pg. 1 

Governor Ralph Northam announced that CNBC, a world leader in business news, has named Virginia as Ameri-
ca’s “Top State for Business” in 2021. The Governor joined CNBC at the Port of Virginia for a live broadcast 
where the winner was revealed following an extensive study of 85 distinct metrics across 10 competitiveness cate-
gories. CNBC’s scorecard highlighted the Commonwealth’s education system, workforce, and commitment to eq-
uity and inclusion.  
Following the announcement, Governor Northam held a press conference with leaders from the General Assem-
bly to discuss the pragmatic, forward-looking policies that propelled the Commonwealth to reclaim the top spot in 
2019 and made Virginia the first state to win back-to-back titles in CNBC’s ranking. 
“Virginia continues to be the best place to do business because of our world-class education institutions, talented 
workforce, and shared commitment to equity, diversity, and inclusion,” said Governor Northam. “I am proud of 
what this coveted recognition says about the policies we have put in place and how they are driving growth and 
innovation across our Commonwealth. Our success is a blueprint for creating a vibrant economic climate in the 
post-pandemic world—and proves that when you lift everyone up, when you treat people right, and when you 
celebrate diversity, it’s also good for business.” 
With previous wins in 2007, 2009, 2011, and 2019, Virginia surpassed Texas for most years as the top state for 
business since CNBC debuted its ranking in 2007. This year, CNBC adapted its formulas to address the realities of 
the COVID-19 pandemic and its economic impacts, with a new focus on areas like health care, inclusiveness, and 
sustainability. Information about the methodology used by CNBC to determine America’s Top States for Business 
in 2021 is available here. 
States can earn a maximum of 2,500 points across the 10 categories, and Virginia received a total of 1,587 points. 
In its 2021 ranking, CNBC noted Virginia’s highly educated workforce, strong economy, and stable business envi-
ronment. The study also gives Virginia top scores for education, infrastructure, and technology and innovation. 
Read more about Virginia’s 2021 ranking here. 
Since Governor Northam took office in January 2018, the Commonwealth has created nearly 90,000 new jobs and 
secured more than $45.4 billion in statewide capital investment, including approximately $7 billion in distressed 
communities. With major investments from global leaders like Amazon, Facebook, and Micron, and companies of 
all sizes choosing to locate or expand their operations in Virginia, businesses continue to recognize the Common-
wealth’s competitive advantages. 
Under Governor Northam’s leadership, Virginia has made historic investments in early childhood education, in-
creased funding for historically Black colleges and universities, and worked to expand degree programs in comput-
er science and technology at public higher education institutions to help meet the increased demand for tech tal-
ent. Virginia’s workforce investments also include the new G3 program, which launched this month and makes 
tuition-free community college and financial support for other expenses available to low- and middle-income stu-
dents who pursue jobs in high-demand fields. 
Investing in infrastructure has been an essential component of Virginia’s ongoing work to create economic oppor-
tunity, facilitate commerce, and improve the quality of life. This includes improvements to the heavily traveled I-
81 corridor, an expansion project that will once again make the Port of Virginia the deepest port on the East 
Coast, and the Transforming Rail in Virginia initiative to build a 21st-century statewide rail network across the Com-
monwealth. 
The Northam Administration has also put a strong focus on advancing policies that make Virginia more welcom-
ing and inclusive, ensure people are treated fairly and equitably, and make it as easy as possible for Virginians to 
participate in democracy. 
Watch the full CNBC interview with Governor Northam here. 
 

https://www.facebook.com/GovernorVA/videos/4246420218749493
https://www.cnbc.com/2021/06/17/how-we-chose-americas-top-states-for-business-in-2021.html
https://www.cnbc.com/2021/07/13/virginia-is-back-as-americas-top-state-for-business.html
https://www.cnbc.com/video/2021/07/13/virginia-governor-northam-on-winning-cnbcs-top-state-for-business.html
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How to Handle Customer Disputes (part 2) 

Back to pg. 1 

In Part 1, you will recall that we had the goals of discovering the truth, building trust, and de-escalating the custom-
er’s anger.  We learned how to set expectations, communicate during the first meeting, and how not to irritate the 
customer.  Here’s how to build on your initial success and capitalize on the customer trust you have earned.   
The Second Meeting: Gather Final Information and Achieve Mutual Understanding. 
 If mistakes happened acknowledge them.  It builds trust and continues to make you human and trustworthy in 

the eyes of the customer. 
 If the dealership made a mistake during the sales process it’s okay to say, “I’m sorry.” 
 Disarm by telling the truth. 

 Continue to acknowledge the customer’s emotions (i.e. angry, upset, anxious etc.)  Let the customer vent, as 

necessary.  When you find that the customer is repeating the same thing over and over it’s time to say, “Let’s 

focus on how to make you happy.” You do not want to have the customer repeat their bad feelings over and 

over as it begins to wear a groove that is hard to overcome. 

 If you don’t take care of the problem now, it is going to get worse and it’s going to cost more money and you 

are going to create a problem for someone else at the dealership. 

 Be creative and ask lots of questions.  

 Ask multiple questions, “If I could do this (xx), would that make you happy?” During these conversations ask 

things like: 

 If I could buy the unit back at $xxx (including a profit for you as the dealer) would that interest you? 

 What if I provided you with a service credit for $xx?  (This option will only cost you fifty cents for every 

dollar that you offer to the customer.) 

 What if I could sell you a different unit and take yours as a trade-in? 

 How would you feel if I were your personal concierge during your ownership experience so you could call 

me with any issues that you had and I would take care of them? 

 Some solutions are non-monetary.  Explore these options. Customers want to be pampered and feel important. 

How can you accomplish those things? 

 Offer to put the solution in writing “to make you more comfortable so that you are assured of getting exactly 

what we are discussing.” 

The Third Meeting: Buy-in. 

Present at least two (2) potential solutions for the customer. When you present a singular solution, a customer feels 

like you are shoving an answer down their throat. If you proceed that way, then a lot of the trust building efforts 

you’ve earned will evaporate.  Be creative and don’t be afraid to try something different.   

It’s okay to offer options where the economies are different.  For example, maybe you offer to make three (3) pay-

ments of $xx or a service and parts credit of $yy and those numbers have $500 difference between them.  You may 

be surprised which option the customer chooses. 

In any event, offering options shows that you care and that you are trying really hard to help the customer.  Words 

can be perceived as “cheap,” and here you are showing the customer that you care by not just serving up one op-

tion.  

Wrapping Up With The Customer. 

 Put your agreement in writing. Consider having the customer sign a release of any further dealership obligations. 

 Follow Up! Follow through! Follow Up! 

 Execute on your promises. Make sure you personally see that things are done. 

 There is no shame in asking for help or advice or a “TO.” Sometimes, other personalities may help you re-close 

the customer on a solution. This is just like selling in many ways. 

So, you did it!  Be proud of yourself and allow yourself to have a quiet moment of success.  Success comes in many 
forms and a job well-done is the result of your good attitude. Well done.      -    Tom Kline 



Informal Fact-Finding Conferences: 

Auto Icon Motor Group and George M. Ruiz. On May 25, 2021, an informal fact-finding conference was con-
ducted to address the alleged violations of selling from an unlicensed location, failure to maintain dealer records, 
and salespersons not paid on a W-2 and acting as independent contractors.  Based on the information provided at the 
conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $6,250, and a satisfactory inspection.  Mr. Ruiz may appeal to a 
Formal Hearing. 

Administrative Actions: 

Star Cars, Inc. and Akram Rastegari.  Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records. 

Integrity Auto Sales Service LLC and Mohamed Ali Eisa.  Suspended for non-payment of a $7,800 civil penalty for 
failure to maintain dealer records, records of PoD issuance, and salespersons not paid on a W-2 and acting as independ-
ent contractors. 

Car Central LLC and Kawthar M. Haque and Mohammad Abdelaziz.  Paid a $1,500 civil penalty for failure to 
maintain dealer records and PoD records. 

Dealers Club and Akhter Ahmed.  Paid a $250 civil penalty for salespersons not paid on a W-2 and acting as inde-
pendent contractors. 

J’s Cars and William Newton.  Paid a $500 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, and proof of safety in-
spection prior to retail sale. 

Car Plus Inc. and Samir Samadov.  Paid a $1,000 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, records of PoD 
issuance, and proof of safety inspection prior to retail sale. 

US Auto Sales and Abdul H. Hazaymeh.  Paid a $500 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, and proof of 
safety inspection prior to retail sale. 

B & K Auto Sales and Julian Vasquez Morales.  Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, and 
salespersons not paid on a W-2 and acting as independent contractors. 

Hendrick Honda Woodbridge and Hendrick Automotive.  Paid a $250 civil penalty for misuse of D-tags. 

Cima Motors and Wallace Cima.  Paid a $500 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, records of PoD issu-
ance, and proof of safety inspection prior to retail sale. 

B.D. Auto Repairs, LLC and M.D. Aman Ullah.  Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, and 
salespersons not paid on a W-2 and acting as independent contractors. 

Supreme Motorsport and Christopher Epps.  Committed to pay a $22,050 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer 
records, and PoD records. 

RAF Auto Sales and Abdul H. Hazaymeh.  Paid a $4,500 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, records 
of PoD issuance, and proof of safety inspection prior to retail sale. 

J and R Used Cars LLC and Jagdish Singh.  Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, and sales-
persons not paid on a W-2 and acting as independent contractors. 

Neons Auto LLC and Omar Maad Al-Qaraghuli.  paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records. 

Coastal Virginia Auto Sales, Inc. and Phillip Parker.  Committed to pay a $15,900 civil penalty for failure to maintain 
dealer records, and PoD records. 

Capital Auto Sales and Suleman Qazi.  Paid a $4,550 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, and salesper-
sons not paid on a W-2 and acting as independent contractors. 
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Jim McKay Chevrolet Inc. and Kathleen R. McKay.  Paid a $250 civil penalty for deceptive and misleading advertis-
ing, and bait advertising. 

Nissan of Richmond and SSS Rocks LLC.  Paid a $250 civil penalty for misleading bait advertising, and failure to dis-
close the processing fee. 

Car Central LLC and Kawthar M. Haque and Mohammad Abdelaziz.  Paid a $250 civil penalty for misleading and 
bait advertising, and failure to disclose the processing fee. 

 

For prior issues of Dealer Talk click HERE 

 

Page 9  Volume 24 Issue 141 

Back to pg. 1 

Advertising 

Virginians over the age of 12 can schedule a vaccination appointment by 

visiting vaccinate.virginia.gov or calling 877-VAX-IN-VA (877-829-

4682, TTY users call 7-1-1). Beginning Monday, May 17, the call center 

hours will change to 8 a.m. until 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday. 

 

 

All new/initial salesperson applications require a criminal background check and the Board re-
quires dealers to conduct the background checks PRIOR to submitting the MVDB 61.  Be sure 
to insert the vendor name and file number directly on the MVDB 61. Completing these two small 
tasks will ensure the quickest processing of a new sales license application. Secondly, as a re-
minder, since the dealer has completed the background check, the dealer only submits a $30 per 
salesperson license fee ($60 if the dealership has a 2 year renewal.) Lastly, if you are a dealer, 
please remember to inform the Board when salespersons no longer are employed at your dealer-
ship. For your convenience, we have a MVDB 41 “notice of termination” form on our website 
that you may fax or email to the Board. Conversely, if you hire a salesperson (as soon as possi-
ble) please send in the MVDB 61 to transfer the salesperson to your dealership, or apply for a 
new/initial sales license as described above.  

http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/newsletter/default.aspx
https://vaccinate.virginia.gov/


  

The path to a Dealer-Operator license begins with a required two-day course of study each month at various loca-
tions in Virginia with the curriculum and instruction provided by VIADA.  The course takes the attendee from 
establishing the dealership under local zoning and Dealer Board requirements, through the sales process with its 
multitude of forms, laws and regulations, into a sampling of opening and operating expenses, and ending with a 
discussion on ethics.  The course is also open to all existing dealers and their employees. 
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THE FOLLOWING COURSES ARE REGISTERED THROUGH VIADA 

CALL 1-800-394-1960 to register or visit viada.org 

 
Please click HERE or on the graphic on the left to view our 
Dealership Education videos! 
More videos will be uploaded on an ongoing basis, so stay in-
formed and receive notifications when new videos are released. 
The MVDB Education video library will eventually cover a wide 
range of topics that Dealerships can use to remain compliant 
with Virginia Code. 
You may also access these videos from a link on our website 
Home page. 
BE SURE TO SUBSCRIBE TO OUR MVDB CHANNEL!   

2021 

August 10-11 

Courtyard Marriott (2136 Riverside Dr, Danville, VA 24540) 

August 17-18 

VIADA Home Office (1525 Huguenot Road, Suite 200, Midlothian, VA 23113) 

September 7-8 

Double Tree by Hilton (990 Hilton Heights Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901) 

September 21-22 

Holiday Inn Conference Center (20 Sanford Dr., Fredericksburg, VA 22406) 

October 7-8 

Lansdowne Resort (44050 Woodbridge Pkwy, Leesburg, VA 20176) 

October 26-27 

VIADA Home Office (1525 Huguenot Road, Suite 200, Midlothian, VA 23113) 

November 9-10 

Hilton Garden Inn (1999 Power Plant Pkwy, Hampton, VA 23666) 

November 16-17 

VIADA Home Office (1525 Huguenot Road, Suite 200, Midlothian, VA 23113) 

December 7-8 

Home2 Suites by Hilton (43340 Defender Dr, Chantilly, VA 20152) 

https://viada.org/
https://viada.org/pre-license/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl9vv57gHpg3idLOlTOijig
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl9vv57gHpg3idLOlTOijig/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl9vv57gHpg3idLOlTOijig


MVDB Mission Statement 

The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will 

administer sections of  the Common-

wealth’s Motor Vehicle Dealer Laws 

and regulations as charged; promote 

the best interest of  both the automo-

tive consumer and dealer community; 

while providing a high level of  custom-

er service. 

Organizatio

MVDB 

2201 W. Broad Street Suite 104 

Richmond, VA  23220 

Visit us on the Web! 

www.mvdb.virginia.gov 

Phone: 804-367-1100 

Fax: 804-367-1053 

E-mail: dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov 

Editor:  Ann Majors 

DISCLAIMER:  We make every effort 
to ensure information in Dealer Talk is 
accurate, but it is not a substitute for 
legal advice. 

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD  
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What’s Wrong With This Picture? 

Misuse of D-tags 
 
§ 46.2-1550 states in part, (A)….it shall be unlawful for 
any dealer to cause or permit: (iii) use of dealer’s license 
plates on any vehicle of a type for which their use is not 
authorized… 
This Franchise Trailer plate may not be used on any oth-
er type of vehicle other than a trailer. 

https://mvdb.virginia.gov/

