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Posted Business Hours

The MVDB Field Representatives are seeing an uptick in the number of dealerships

that are not open during their posted business hours. As a licensed Virginia dealer,

you are expected to maintain the posted business hours you have on file with the

Board. In March of 2018 the Board, out of concern for consumers, the industry’s

reputation, and dealership success, directed the MVDB staff to implement the
following actions regarding Virginia Code §46.2-1533 violations:

e 1st 1533 violation: Dealer receives an educational warning (email or

letter notification).

e 2nd violation, a $750 civil penalty (if appealed, granted an informal

hearing).

e 3rd violation, the dealer will be advised of an informal hearing on §{46.2-

1533 violation, Failure to maintain Business Hours .

Salespersons
“Paid on a W-2"

Dealer-Operators, F & I Employees,
and Sales Managers must have sales
licenses. Legislation in 2006 expanded
the definition of a motor vehicle
salesperson to include those functions
performed by the sales manager, dealer
-operator, and dealer employees who
are in the “F&I” side of the
automobile sales industry. Anyone
who performs functions as described
in the following definition must have a

salesperson’s ... Cont’d on pg. 2

Cont’d on pg. 2

“REBUILT”
Branded Vehicle

When a dealer sells 2 "REBUILT"
branded vehicle to a purchaser, the
dealer must make sure the purchaser
and dealer both sign the VSA 59. This
rebuilt vehicle disclosure statement
must be included with the sales
documents, title paperwork, other
required documents, taxes, and fees
that the dealer submits to DMV.
Virginia Code §46.2- 1602(A)(4) states
that "It shall be unlawful for any

Cont’d on pg. 3

person to sell a ...


https://mvdb.virginia.gov/board-meeting-library/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1533/
http://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/vsa59.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter16/section46.2-1602/

Posted Business Hours

Cont’d from pg. 1

Anytime your dealership is closed, you must notify the
MVDB by email (dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov) and you
may want to notify your field representative as well.
Submit the closing date and time as well as the return date
and time by completing a MVDB 40, Dealership Notice
of Temporary Closing (03/01/2018) or an alternative
notice with the required information. The MVDB 40 or
alternative notice is to be posted near the dealership’s
front entrance so that it is visible to the public. Dealers
closing within 24 hours or less are encouraged to text or
call their local field representative in addition to
submitting the required information to the MVDB. As
always, when communicating with the Board, be sure the
Board has the most current and valid contact information
for the dealership and dealer-operator. If we need to
contact you, please be sure the Board has an email that is
frequently monitored, and a phone number that is
answered or has a working voice mail so that the Board
may leave a message.

POSTED HOURS
OF OPERATION

CLOSED
9:00am - 5:30pm
9:00am - 5:00pm
9:00am - 6:00pm

<

MONDAY
TUESDAY
WEDNESDAY
THURSDAY
FRIDAY
SATURDAY
SUNDAY

10:00am - 4:00pm
CLOSED

Salespersons
“Paid on a W-2"

Cont’d from pg. 1

license. Regardless of the working title an individual has,
if they fit the definition, they must have a salesperson’s
license. Section §46.2-1500, Definitions. “Motor vehicle
salesperson" or "salesperson" means (i) any person who is
hired as an employee by a motor vehicle dealer to sell or
exchange motor vehicles and who receives or expects to
receive a commission, fee, or any other consideration
from the dealer; (i) any person who supervises
salespersons employed by a motor vehicle dealer, whether
compensated by salary or by commission; (iii) any person,
compensated by salary or commission by a motor vehicle
dealer, who negotiates with or induces a customer to
enter into a security agreement on behalf of a dealer; or
(iv) any person who is licensed as a motor vehicle dealer
and who sells or exchanges motor vehicles. For purposes
of this section, any person who is an independent
contractor as defined by the United States internal
revenue code shall be deemed not to be a motor vehicle
salesperson. It is important for you to study this
definition as all employees of your dealership that meet
any of the criteria as noted in the definition will need a
salesperson’s license. It is the responsibility of the
dealership owner to make sure that all salespersons are
propetly licensed and paid on a W-2. No “1099”. Please
remember that salespersons may not be independent
contractors paid via IRS Form “1099”. Salespersons must
be employees of the dealership and that usually means
that they receive an IRS Form “W-2” at the end of the
tax year. Please be sure that anyone who performs any of
the functions listed in the above definition is propetly
licensed. In addition, anyone licensed as a salesperson
must be an employee of the dealership. Licensed
salespersons must be paid on a W-2, and not be
“independent contractors” paid via IRS form “1099”.
Form K-1 is used by members of an LLC to report their
share of the Corporation’s earnings (or loss). If a member
of an LLC is also a licensed salesperson, then by
definition, they are also an employee of the LLC and the
LLC must issue that employee an IRS Form W-2 at the
end of the tax year. Therefore, a member of an LLC who
is also a licensed salesperson will receive both a “K-1”
and a “W-2” at the end of the tax year.


https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1500/
http://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/MVDB-40.pdf
http://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/MVDB-40.pdf

DMV License Plate Contest

DMYV License Plate Contest to Raise Money for
Nonprofits and College Scholarship Funds.

The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
invites motor vehicle dealerships that partner in DMV’s
Online Dealer program to participate in a license plate
contest to raise money for nonprofit organizations and
college scholarships. Between January 3 and March 6,
2023, the dealership that sells the most special license
plates that support organizations and their causes will
win a trophy and the opportunity for a news
conference at the dealership.
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\\\\ License Plate Sales Competition that Benefits
Nonprofits and College Scholarship Funds
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Many special plates offered by DMV are “revenue-
sharing”, in which a portion of the annual fee is
“shared” with a designated organization as set in
statute. Popular examples include Shenandoah National
Park, Virginia Tech and VDOT’s Operation
Wildflower. Dealers participating in the contest may
offer customers any revenue sharing plate or promote
plates that benefit causes meaningful to them.

REMINDERS

All orders are placed through the online dealer vendor
system.

The dealership that sells the most revenue-sharing
license plates, thereby raising the most money for
nonprofits and college scholarship funds, will win.To
participate, dealers must complete this form, provide
the dealership mailing address and contact information;
DMV will mail a packet with more detailed contest
information.

Contest at a glance:
e Contest begins January 3, 2023.
e Contest concludes March 6, 2023.

e More than half of the 250 special license plates at
DMV are revenue-sharing, in which $15 of the $25
fee is “shared” with the benefiting organization.

e List of all DMV’s “revenue-sharing license plates”.

e Dealership that sells the most revenue-sharing
license plates during the contest period will receive
a license plate “trophy” and news conference to
which DMV will invite local media.

“REBUILT”
Branded Vehicle

Cont’d from pg. 1

rebuilt vehicle without first having disclosed the fact that
the vehicle is a rebuilt vehicle to the buyer." Virginia
Code §46.2-1600 defines a rebuilt vehicle as: (i) any
salvage vehicle that has been repaired for use on the
public highways, or (i) any late model vehicle that has
been repaired and the estimated cost of repair exceeded
75% of its actual cash value, excluding the cost to repair
damage to the engine, transmission, or drive axle
assembly.

Safety Inspections ...

§406.2-1539 requires a safety inspection between the time the vehicle comes into the
possession of the dealer and the time it is sold at retail. In the event the vehicle is found
not to be in compliance with all safety inspection requirements, the dealer shall either
take steps to bring it into compliance or shall furnish any buyer intending it for use on
the public highway a written disclosure, prior to sale, that the vehicle did not pass a
safety inspection. The provisions of this section shall also apply to watercraft trailers

and watercraft trailer dealers.



https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter16/section46.2-1600/
https://forms.gle/y3An9AuZM1hMaZRS7

$3.3

REFUNDED TO &E&s
CUSTOMERS

Federal Trade Commission Takes Action
Against Passport Automotive Group

The Federal Trade Commission is taking action against
auto dealer Passport Automotive Group for deceiving
consumers by tacking hundreds to thousands of dollars
in illegal junk fees onto car prices and for discriminating
against Black and Latino consumers with higher
financing costs and fees. Passport, its president, Everett
Hellmuth, and its vice president, Jay Klein, will pay more
than $3.3 million to settle the FTC’s lawsuit, which will
be used to refund consumers harmed by Passport’s
conduct.

“With this action against Passport and its top executives,
the Commission is continuing its crackdown on junk
fees and discriminatory practices that harm Black and
Latino consumers,” said Samuel Levine, Director of the
FTC’s Bureau of Consumer Protection. “As families
struggle with rising prices, companies that think they can
hit consumers with hidden fees should think again.”
Passport, based in Maryland, owns car dealerships
around the Washington, D.C., metropolitan area. In
2018, the FTC brought action against Passport, its
president, and vice president, alleging the company
mailed more than 21,000 fake “urgent recall” notices to
consumets in 2015 and 2017, to lure them to visit
dealerships.

Passport, based in Maryland, owns car dealerships
around the Washington, D.C., metropolitan area. In
2018, the FTC brought action against Passport, its
president, and vice president, alleging the company
mailed more than 21,000 fake “urgent recall”
notices to consumers in 2015 and 2017, to lure them to
visit dealerships.

In its complaint announced today, the FTC alleges that
Passport regularly advertises certified, reconditioned, or
inspected cars at specific prices, but then adds extra
certification, reconditioning, or inspection fees that it
falsely claims consumers are required to pay. The FTC
also alleges that Passport charges Black and Latino
consumers hundreds of dollars more in financing costs
and fees, on average, than white consumers. In its
complaint against Passport, the FTC alleges that the
company has for years violated the FTC Act and the
Equal Credit Opportunity Act by:

¢ Charging illegal junk fees: Passport advertises cars
as “certified,” “inspected,” or “reconditioned” at
specific prices, but the FTC alleges that when
customers try to pay the amount advertised for those
vehicles, Passport adds hundreds or thousands of
dollars in fees. These fees either increase the price
over what was advertised or negate any discounts the
consumers negotiated. The complaint cites one case
in which a vehicle advertised for $24,050 was in fact
sold for $26,440 due to illegal add-on fees. Passport
frequently describes the extra fees it charges to
customers for inspection, reconditioning, or
certification as required when in many instances,
auto manufacturers specifically prohibit dealers from
charging separately for certification costs.

¢ Discriminating against Black and Latino
customers: The complaint alleges that Passport
regularly charges Black and Latino customers more
in financing costs and fees than they charge non-
Latino white customers. Although Passport claimed
that it had a policy to prevent discrimination, the
complaint alleges that Passport did not even enforce
or monitor the policy.

The FTC’s complaint alleges that Black and Latino
consumers paid on average about $291 and $235,
respectively, more in interest than non-Latino white
consumers did. It also alleges that Black and Latino
consumers paid on average an extra fee 24 percent and
42 percent more often, respectively, than non-Latino
White consumers.

Enforcement Action

Passport, its president, and its vice president have agreed
to a proposed federal court order that would:

Cont’d on pg. 6


https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/news/press-releases/2018/10/washington-dc-area-car-dealerships-marketing-firm-settle-deceptive-advertising-charges
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/news/press-releases/2018/10/washington-dc-area-car-dealerships-marketing-firm-settle-deceptive-advertising-charges
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/news/press-releases/2018/10/washington-dc-area-car-dealerships-marketing-firm-settle-deceptive-advertising-charges

POD

Temporary License Plates

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) began using
print on demand (PoD) technology for temporary tags in
December 2009. Participants in the Pod program may issue
temporary tags to recent purchasers at the time of sale for

authorized motor vehicles.
When issuing PoD tags consider the following:

e Does the customer already have a Virginia record? If the
customer has a Virginia Identification card or Driver’s
license, you should be using the customer’s established
customer 1D number and NOT creating a new customer
record to issue PoD tags.

e Is your customer from out of state? Use the customer’s
identity document to obtain their full legal name. Dealers

must use the full legal name presented on the customer’s

identity document to issue a PoD temporary license plate.

To reduce errors type the customer’s name directly from
their identity document.

o If the dealer does or does not have the title or ownership
document readily available to transfer ownership within
30 days of the sale an additional set may be issued.
Remember that the second set must be issued within 5
days of the 1 set expiring.

e Dealer must submit to DMV the application for
certificate of title, copy of the bill of sale,
payment of the Sales and Use tax, and a written
statement of fact describing the efforts being
taken to secure the ownership document before

issuing a second set to Virginia customers.

Issuing PoD temporary license plates for vehicles not sold at
the issuing dealership, or issuing PoD temporary license plates
to individuals other than the vehicle owner or purchaser

constitutes misuse and is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Dealer Title Only (DTO)

Applying for a dealer title only (DTO) is also known as
getting a title flip. By obtaining a title in the dealer’s name

dealers can avoid many common title issues.

e  Obtaining a title in your dealership’s name is a great way
to prevent paperwork headaches for your title clerks.

e Have you ever lost or misplaced a title that had multiple
reassignments included? If you had applied for a DTO
you could have avoided the trouble and expense of going
back to the selling dealers to find the original owner in
order to get a duplicate.

e Getting a DTO helps your dealership to be able to
maintain title inventory easily by only requiring you to
keep the title and not have to worry about all of the
extensions to go along with the title.

e It’s only $15 per title.

e Online dealers can conveniently process a DTO in their
online system right there at the dealership. To ensure you
have this capability or to learn how to use it, check with
your vendor who can provide further details about their
system.

Online Dealer Reminders

e Online dealers who receive errors when processing
transactions through their vendor system should contact
their vendor for assistance. DMV cannot assist with how
transactions should be processed in the vendor systems.

e Online dealers are required to send in processed bundles
within 14 days of finalizing transactions. Dealers should
be bundling finalized transactions and submitting one
work date in each shipping envelope.

e When mailing online bundles into DMV Headquarters
the only approved shipping method is UPS Ground
Commercial. If UPS Ground Commercial is not used

online dealers may incur charges.




Federal Trade Commission Takes Action
Against Passport Automotive Group

Cont’d from pg. 4

e Prohibit them from charging different groups
different markups: The order would require
Passport to establish a fair lending program to ensure
it does not discriminate going forward, including a
provision that will require each Passport dealership
location to either charge no financing markup or
charge the same markup rate to all consumers.

e Prohibit them from deceiving consumers about

prices and fees: The order would prohibit Passport
from misrepresenting the cost or terms to buy, lease,
or finance a car, or whether a fee or charge is
optional. It would also require them to only charge
consumers fees with their express, informed consent.

¢ Require them to pay money to refund
consumers: The order would require Passport to
pay the FTC $3.38 million to refund consumers

harmed by Passport’s unlawful actions.

The FTC has taken significant action to protect
consumers across the automotive marketplace in recent
years, most recently by announcing a proposed rule that
would ban many of the junk add-on fees and bait-and-
switch tactics plaguing car buyers. In the last ten years
alone, the FTC has brought more than 50 law
enforcement actions related to automobiles and helped
lead two nationwide law enforcement sweeps that
included 181 state-level enforcement actions in these

areas.

The Commission vote authorizing the staff to file the
complaint and stipulated final order was 4-1.

REMINDERS

Our Past Represents
Our Commitment
to Your Future!
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FTC Returns More Than $9.8 Million
To Consumers

FTC Returns More Than $9.8 Million To Consumers
Harmed by Napleton Auto’s Junk Fees and
Discriminatory Practices.

The Federal Trade Commission is sending payments
totaling more than $9.8 million to consumers who were
harmed by Illinois-based Napleton Automotive Group’s
junk fees and discriminatory practices.

The FTC and the State of Illinois sued Napleton
Automotive Group in March 2022, alleging that

Napleton employees were sneaking illegal junk fees for
unwanted “add-ons” onto vehicle purchases and
discriminating against Black consumers. According to
the joint complaint, eight of the company’s dealership
illegally tacked on junk fees for unwanted “add-on”
products such as payment insurance and paint
protection, costing consumers hundreds or even
thousands of dollars. The complaint also alleged that
Napleton discriminated against Black consumers by
charging them more for add-ons and financing.

VSCC free brochures ...

The Virginia State Corp Commission has free insurance brochures that are available to
dealers to offer basic guidance on insurance. If you would like to receive any of the
available State Corporation Commission resources, please click on the link and follow

the ordering instructions.

ubs.aspx Advertising Freight B



https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/news/press-releases/2022/04/ftc-takes-action-against-multistate-auto-dealer-napleton-sneaking-illegal-junk-fees-bills
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/news/press-releases/2022/04/ftc-takes-action-against-multistate-auto-dealer-napleton-sneaking-illegal-junk-fees-bills
http://scc.virginia.gov/boi/pubs.aspx

Safeguards Rule is now June 9, 2023

The Federal Trade Commission announced it is
extending by six months the deadline for companies to
comply with some of the changes the agency
implemented to strengthen the data security safeguards
financial institutions must put in place to protect their
customers’ personal information. The deadline for
complying with some of the updated requirements of
the Safeguards Rule is now June 9, 2023.

The Safeguards Rule requires non-banking financial
institutions, such as mortgage brokers, motor vehicle
dealers, and payday lenders, to develop, implement, and
maintain a comprehensive security program to keep

their customers’ information safe.

The Commission is extending the deadline based on
reports, including a letter from the Small Business
Administration’s Office of Advocacy, that there is a
shortage of qualified personnel to implement
information security programs and that supply chain
issues may lead to delays in obtaining necessary
equipment for upgrading security systems. These
difficulties were exacerbated by the COVID-19
pandemic. These issues may make it difficult for

REMINDERS

financial institutions, especially small ones, to come into

compliance by the deadline.

The FTC approved changes to the Safeguards Rule in
October 2021 that include more specific criteria for what
safeguards financial institutions must implement as part
of their information security programs. While many
provisions of the rule went into effect 30 days after
publication of the rule in the Federal Register, other
sections of the rule were set to go into effect on
December 9, 2022,

The provisions of the updated rule specifically affected by the
six-month extension include requirements that covered

financial institutions:

o designate a qualified individual to oversee their
information security program,

e develop a written risk assessment,

e limit and monitor who can access sensitive
customer information,

e cncrypt all sensitive information,
e train security personnel,
e develop an incident response plan,

o periodically assess the security practices of service
providers, and

e implement multi-factor authentication or another
method with equivalent protection for any
individual accessing customer information.

Power of Attorney (POA)...

The Power of Attorney (POA) form has limited use. DMV issued clarification
regarding the proper usage of the Power of Attorney (POA) form VAD70A by the
motor vehicle dealer community. Federal law requires that mileage disclosure be
recorded on a secure POA when ownership is transferred. The VAD70A is a secure
POA with limited usage, which allows the dealer to sign for the titled owner and disclose
mileage when the subsequent owner receives the title. The VAD70A can only be used
when the customer’s title is physically held by a lien holder, or when the owner has lost
the title. If the owner has lost the title, the dealer may apply for a lost title from DMV
using Form VSA 66, “Application for Replacement and Substitute Titles”. The POA
form allows the dealer to sign for the titled owner and disclose mileage to the
subsequent owner when you receive the title. The Power of Attorney (Form VAD 70A)
can only be used by auto dealers and may be purchased from VIADA.




Board Actions

Dealer Practices

Informal Fact Finding Conferences:

540 Auto and Wali Baluch
On August 30, 2022, an informal fact-finding conference was

conducted to address the alleged violations of failure to
maintain dealer PoD records. Based on the information
provided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty
of $1,150, and a satisfactory inspection.

Mzr. Baluch may appeal to a Formal hearing,

Auto City and Wali Baluch

On September 8, 2022, an informal fact-finding conference
was conducted to address the alleged violations of failure to
maintain dealer PoD records. Based on the information
provided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty

of $3,700, and a satisfactory inspection within 30 days.

Mr. Baluch may appeal to a Formal hearing.

Advantage Auto Sale, Inc. and Mohammad

Elahi-Mohassel

On October 26, 2022, an informal fact-finding conference
was conducted to address the alleged violations of failure to
maintain posted business hours and comply with previous
warnings. Based on the information provided at the
conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $750, a
satisfactory inspection, and successful completion of the 2-
day class.

Mr. Elahi-Mohassel may appeal to a Formal hearing.

Enterprise Automotive Financial,

LLC and Jassam M. Sarhan

On October 18, 2022, an informal fact-finding conference
was conducted to address the alleged violations of failure to
maintain posted business hours and comply with previous
warnings. Based on the information provided at the
conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $1,000 and
a satisfactory inspection.

Mr. Sarhan may appeal to a Formal hearing.

El Shaddai Motors and Jose M. Trigueros

On October 25, 2022, an informal fact-finding conference
was conducted to address the alleged violations of failure to
maintain posted business hours and comply with previous
warnings. Based on the information provided at the
conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $750 and a
satisfactory inspection.

Mr. Trigueros may appeal to a Formal Hearing.

Royal Motors and Shane Pardis

On October 25, 2022, an informal fact-finding conference was
conducted to address the alleged violations of failure to have an
established place of business, dealer records, proof of safety
inspection prior to retail sale, unlicensed salespersons, and
complying with previous warnings. Based on the information
provided at the conference, the hearing officer recommended
assessing a civil penalty of $2,000, a satisfactory inspection of

dealer records, and successful completion of the 2-day class.

Mr. Pardis may appeal to a Formal hearing.

Formal Hearings:

Kar Mart, LLC and Dennis J. Rogers

Historical Overview leading up to the Formal Hearing:
On June 7, 2022, an informal fact-finding conference was
conducted to address the alleged violations of failure to
maintain dealer records, proof of safety inspection prior to
retail sale, title within 30 days, PoD records, misuse of
transport tags, and deceptive acts and practices. Based on
the information provided at the conference, the Board
assessed a civil penalty of $31,250.00, satisfactory
inspection, and successful completion of the 2-day Dealer-
Operator course. On July 18, 2022, Mega Auto Outlet and
Rukhsana Akbar appealed the Decision and requested a
Formal Hearing. On August 30, 2022, a Formal Hearing
was conducted to address the alleged violations. Based on
the information provided at the hearing, the Board
assessed a civil penalty of $28,000, satisfactory inspection
of the dealership and PoD records, and successful

completion of the 2-day Dealer-Operator course.

Mr. Rogers may appeal to the appropriate Circuit Court.



Board Actions

Dealer Practices

Administrative Actions:

Hollywood Motors LLC and Brenton Gray. Paid a $750 civil
penalty for failure to maintain posted business hours.

Yes Auto Sales and Yasmine Hamad. Paid a $500 civil
penalty for failure to provide proof of salespersons paid on a W-2,
and dealer records.

Leesburg Auto Import LLC and Hidar Awad. Agreed to pay
a $9,000 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, proof of
safety inspection prior to retail sale, proof of salespersons paid on a
W-2, PoD records, and use of D-tag records.

Marcus Auto Sales and Marcus Smith. Failed to pay a $2,900
civil penalty for dealer records, PoD records, safety inspection prior
to retail sale, and D-tag records. Dealership is suspended and moved
to debt set-off.

Millers Tavern Auto Parts and Scott A. Bruce. Paid a $1,000
civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, and proof of safety
inspection prior to retail sale.

Right Price Autosales, LLC and Dominique Coleman.
Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records,
odometer records, proof of salespersons paid on a W-2, and D-tag
records.

OLA Motors LLC and Olayinka Fowowe. Paid a $750 civil
penalty for failure to maintain posted business hours.

Commonwealth Motors LLC and Tracy Dean Sakowitz.
Paid a $750 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, D-tag
records, and proof of salespersons paid on a W-2.

Affordable Automotive Sales and Christopher Thayer.
Suspended for failing to pay a $750 civil penalty for failure to
maintain posted business hours.

T B Auto Sale and Delores Becerra. Paid a $500 civil penalty
for failure to maintain dealer records, and proof of safety inspection
prior to retail sale.

Motley’s Assett Disposition Group and Mark T. Motley.
Paid a $1,500 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records,
copies of titles for completed sales, and D-tag usage.

Shorehaven Motor Sports LLC and Steven C. Epstein. Paid
a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, and proof
of salespersons paid on a W-2.

Carfast Automotive and MD Mizanur Rahman Sarker.
Paid a $1,250 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, proof
of safety inspection prior to retail sale, proof of salespersons paid on a
W-2, and use of D-tag records.

Carvana and Ernest G. Garcia lll. Paid a $1,000 civil penalty
for failure to maintain dealer records, copies of titles for completed
sales, and D-tag usage, and proof of safety inspection prior to retail
sale.

Advertising

Administrative Actions

Lindsay Chevrolet LLC and Christopher F. Lindsay.

Paid a $1,000 civil penalty for misleading advertising. Additional options that are not negotiable must be included in the

advertised price.



Independent Dealer Operator Course Schedules

The Following Courses are Registered Through VIADA

2022 - 2023 Course Schedules

December 13 - 14 : Richmond/Midlothian
(1525 Huguenot Road, Suite 200, Midlothian, VA 23113)

January 10 - 11 : Danville

(TBD)

January 17 - 18 : Richmond/Midlothian

(1525 Huguenot Road, Suite 200, Midlothian, VA 23113)

February 7 - 8 : Bristol/Abingdon
Hilton Garden Inn (325 Village Circle Bristol, Va. 24201)

February 14 - 15 : Chantilly

(TBD)

March 7 - 8 : Hampton

(TBD)

March 14 - 15 : Richmond/Midlothian

(1525 Huguenot Road, Suite 200, Midlothian, VA 23113)

April 11 - 12 : Danville
(TBD)

April 18 -19 : Richmond/Midlothian
(1525 Huguenot Road, Suite 200, Midlothian, VA 23113)

May 9 - 10 : Hampton

(TBD)

May 16 - 17 : Chantilly
(TBD)

June 6 -7 : Harrisonburg
(IBD)

June 13 - 14 : Hampton
(1525 Huguenot Road, Suite 200, Midlothian, VA 23113)

**You can register for your IDO Course on the VIADA website HERE **
Or call 800-394-1960

/
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https://viada.org/pre-license/

Locate Us:

MVDB Mission Statement
2201 West Broad St.
The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will administer sections of the Suite 104
Commonwealth’s Motor Vehicle Dealer Laws and Regulations as Richmond, Va. 23220
charged; promote the best interest of both the automotive We are located inside
consumer and dealer community; while providing a high level of The BookBindery Building

customet service.

Contact Us:

What's Wrong With This Picture@¢

804-367-1100

Executive Director:
William R. Childress ext:3002#

Field Representative Supervisor:
Lisa Mack-Nelson ext:3005#

Operations Manager:
Rick Sipe ext:3003#

Agency Analyst/Education:
Ann Majors ext:3016#

Email:
dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov

Dealer Talk Editor:
Ann Majors
Layout/Graphics
John Saul

lllegal Decals on Dealer Plates!

This dealer tag has an illegal sticker. All DEALER tag year
stickers are PURPLE. The year sticker circled in the picture

above is not purple, therefore it is illegal on a dealer plate.
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