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Upcoming Events! 
  

Monday 3/13/2023 

Board Meeting In person at the DMV 
2300 W. Broad St. Richmond VA, 
23220 

 

 

 
 

Click here for more details on the 

next Board Meeting Details 

 

As part of our routine inspections, the 

Board views overcharging fees to 

customers on the buyers order to be a 

violation of Virginia Code, and the 

Board may take action.  If a dealer uses 

Print on Demand (PoD) 30-day 

temporary plates or use an Online 

Dealer system to deliver “hard” plates 

to the purchaser, the dealer may only 

pass on to the customer the exact 

amount the dealer is charged. PoD tags are $3.00 per set, so the dealer may only 

charge a purchaser $3.00 on the buyers order for the 30-day temporary tags.  

Similarly, the Online Dealer fee varies from vendor to vendor , the dealer may 

only charge the exact amount the online dealer vendor charges the dealer. 

…..                                                                                                Cont’d on pg. 2 
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Inside this issue: 

Motor Vehicle Dealers licensed in states 

other than Virginia (“Foreign Dealers”) 

may sell motor vehicles at wholesale 

auctions in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, after first obtaining a 

certificate of dealer registration from 

the MVDB. The certificate issued by 

the MVDB does not allow foreign 

dealers to sell anywhere other than 

at Virginia based wholesale 

auctions. Foreign dealers may not sell 

at retail in Virginia under any…                 

Cont’d on pg. 2 

 The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board and 

the Department of Motor Vehicles are 

committed to putting a stop to dealers 

who lease and/or rent dealer license 

plates. Va. Code Section §46.2-1575 

(12)  authorizes the Board to suspend 

or revoke the license of any dealer who 

leases, rents, lends or otherwise allows 

the use of a dealer’s license plate by 

persons not specifically authorized by 

law §46.2-1550 to legally use the 

dealer’s license plate.         Cont’d on pg. 3 

https://mvdb.virginia.gov/board-meeting-library/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1575/#:~:text=%C2%A7%2046.2%2D1575.-,Grounds%20for%20denying%2C%20suspending%2C%20or%20revoking%20licenses%20or%20certificates,of%20dealer%20registration%20or%20qualification.&text=19.,pursua
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1575/#:~:text=%C2%A7%2046.2%2D1575.-,Grounds%20for%20denying%2C%20suspending%2C%20or%20revoking%20licenses%20or%20certificates,of%20dealer%20registration%20or%20qualification.&text=19.,pursua
file:///C:/Users/kwy22926/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/INetCache/Content.Outlook/8A7DTKP8/46.2-1550
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Cont’d from pg. 1              

This requirement applies to both temporary PoD tag fee 

and the “online systems filing fee.”  On a buyer’s order, 

§46.2-1530 is clear on exactly what fees can be collected 

by the dealer, on behalf of the customer.  The dealer is 

only collecting the actual fees that the customer would be 

responsible for if the customer chose to process their 

own title and registration work themselves.  

 

Bottom line - dealers are not allowed to increase or 

approximate these fees at their discretion.  If you are 

not an online dealer, you cannot charge an online system 

filing fee on your buyers’ order.  Most dealers use a 

computerized dealer management system for the buyers’ 

order that allows dealers to calculate these pass-through 

fees automatically.  

 

Be aware that these automatic calculations are only as 

good as the information input into the dealer 

management system. As a best practice, the Board 

recommends that dealers validate the fees printed on their 

buyers order with their dealer management system as part 

of their ongoing computer system maintenance.  

Cont’d from pg. 1              

circumstances and may not sell directly to Virginia dealers 
outside of an auction. It is unlawful for any person 
licensed in another state as a motor vehicle dealer to sell 
motor vehicles at wholesale auctions in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia without first obtaining a 
certificate of dealer registration as provided for by 
Virginia Code §46.2-1508.  
 
To obtain a Virginia Certificate of Dealer Registration as 
a foreign (non-Virginia) dealer to sell motor vehicles at 
wholesale auctions in the Commonwealth of Virginia, you 
must:    
 

• Hold a valid Dealer License in your home 
state.  Include a photocopy of that license 
with your initial or renewal application for 
registration.  

 

• Complete an application form. MVDB-52 . 
 

• Submit the appropriate fees. The Virginia 
Certificate of Registration will expire 
concurrently with your home state license. See 
our website for further information.  

REMINDERS                       Proof of Safety Inspections 

 Some dealers have failed to provide proof  of  safety inspection prior to retail sale 
as required by Virginia Code. Recent MVDB field inspections revealed that many 
dealers mistakenly believed they can access the safety inspection information 
online from the Virginia State Police, only to find that the inspection record is not 
available. Online safety inspection records can only be accessed for a limited 
amount of  time. To ensure the dealer retains documentation of  the safety 
inspection as required by Virginia law, the Board recommends dealers make a 
photocopy of  the inspection certificate and maintain a copy with their dealer 
records for 5 years.  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1530/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-1508/
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/
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Cont’d from pg. 1              

 Dealers may not rent their dealer certificate either.  A 
salesperson may not purchase vehicles with their own 
funds and pay the dealer a fee or commission for each 
vehicle they sell. A good “rule of thumb” to determine 
if you may be in violation of Virginia Law is to look at 
who is paying whom. If a licensed salesperson or 
anyone else is using a dealer tag issued to your 
dealership or using your dealer certificate number; and 
that salesperson is paying you money – then you  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
are probably in violation of Virginia Law. If this 
description fits you – please take immediate, corrective 
action. In short, salespersons and dealers must use 
dealership funds to purchase vehicles, and dealers must 
provide proof of dealership ownership of vehicles in 
their inventory that have been purchased under their 
dealer license certificate number.  Failure to take 
corrective action could result in the suspension or 
revocation of your dealer license.  

Virginia Code §46.2-1530 (C) requires that if a 
processing fee is charged (you don’t have to charge 
one), the amount of the processing fee shall be 
disclosed by the dealer.  Disclosure shall be by placing a 
clear and conspicuous sign in the public sales area of 
the dealership.  The sign shall be no smaller than 8 1/2  
inches by 11 inches and the print shall be no smaller 
than ½ inch, and in a form as approved by the Board.  
For your convenience, the Board has a signage template 
that you can download, print, fill in your processing fee 
amount, and post in a conspicuous place within your 
dealership.  Click HERE for the Board template. 

There are things to consider for a dealer to remain in 
compliance regarding customer disclosure of a dealer’s 
processing fee:  

1. Notify the Board when changing your processing 
fee.  This can be done by emailing 
dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov, or completing an 
MVDB 10 and mailing or emailing the MVDB 10 
to the Board. 

2. Be sure to change the processing fee sign posted in 
your dealership to match the fee provided to the 
Board. 

3. Make sure the processing fee listed on your buyer’s 
order matches the processing fee posted in your 
dealership and provided to the Board. 

4. Check your advertisements, websites, and your 
online presence to ensure the processing fee has 
been updated to reflect the new processing fee.  

REMINDERS                         Unadvertised Fees 

 Some dealers are charging reconditioning fees in addition to the vehicle’s advertised 
price. Virginia Code §46.2-1581(8) states in part the “…advertised price or credit terms 
shall include all charges which the buyer must pay; except buyer selected options, state 
and local fees and taxes, and manufacturers or distributor’s freight or destination 
charges, and a processing fee, if  any. Dealers may NOT charge fees such as “dealer 
prep”, “reconditioning”, etc., these costs must be included in the price of  the vehicle. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1530/#:~:text=Every%20motor%20vehicle%20dealer%20shall,prior%20to%20any%20sales%20agreement
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/forms/files/processing-fee.pdf
mailto:dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1581/
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Charlie Chesbrough, Cox’s senior economist and senior 
director of industry insights, said he doesn’t believe 
vehicle sales will post any notable increase in 2023 — 
unless automakers let up on pricing to make them more 
affordable. 
 
Automakers have largely passed rising commodity costs 
to build vehicles onto consumers, making the vehicles 
more expensive. That, combined with skyrocketing 
interest rates, higher gas prices and broad inflation, has 
dampened new vehicle demand. 
 
To view the entire article, click on https://
www.cnbc.com/2023/01/06/2022-us-auto-sales-are-
worst-in-more-than-a-decade-.html. 

  

Automakers are hopeful last year’s new vehicle sales — 
the worst in more than a decade — will mark a bottom 
for the market, at least in the near term. 
 
Industry estimates range from 13.7 million to 13.9 
million new vehicles being sold last year in the U.S., a 
roughly 8% to 9% decline compared with 2021 and the 
lowest level since 2011 when sales were recovering from 
the Great Recession. 
 
Toyota and GM said they expect U.S. auto sales to 
increase to about 15 million vehicles this year. That 
would be a roughly 9% increase over 2022. S&P Global 
Mobility and Edmunds expect 2023 new U.S. vehicle 
sales to be 14.8 million, while Cox Automotive’s 
preliminary forecast is 14.1 million. 
 
The reason for the optimism is two-fold: Sales have been 
at or near recessionary levels due to parts and supply 
chain issues, plus demand has piled up from consumers 
and businesses after years of tight vehicle inventories 
during the pandemic. 
 
Automakers have reported record or near-record results 
in recent years amid the tight supply of new vehicles and 
resilient consumer demand. They have banked on 
sustained pent-up demand as inventory levels normalize, 
hoping to avoid heavy discounts or incentives to move 
vehicles. 

REMINDERS                              IDO Recertifications 

 ALL Independent Dealer Operators (IDO) of  independent dealerships must recertify 
their IDO qualification every two years by either taking a digital course (via zoom) or an 
in person classroom course through an approved MVDB vendor.  Click HERE for 
more information about the Recertification program.  Please note that dealers with 
Franchise endorsements are exempt from recertification.  If  you are unclear about your 
recertification deadline click HERE, and if  you have any other recertification questions, 
contact Ann Majors at the MVDB.  She may be reached at 804-998-7785 or email at 
ann.majors@mvdb.virginia.gov. 

https://www.cnbc.com/2023/01/06/2022-us-auto-sales-are-worst-in-more-than-a-decade-.html
https://www.cnbc.com/2023/01/06/2022-us-auto-sales-are-worst-in-more-than-a-decade-.html
https://www.cnbc.com/2023/01/06/2022-us-auto-sales-are-worst-in-more-than-a-decade-.html
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/independent-dealer-operators/
https://mvdb.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/DocumentLibrary/DealerOperatorDeadlineDates.pdf
mailto:ann.majors@mvdb.virginia.gov
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Board Actions 

On December 1, 2022, an informal fact-finding conference 

was conducted to address the alleged violations of failure to 

maintain posted business hours and comply with previous 

warnings. Based on the information provided at the 

conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $750.00, and 

a satisfactory inspection .   

Mr. Abed may appeal to a Formal Hearing.  

On December 15, 2022, an informal fact-finding conference 

was conducted to address the alleged violations of failure to 

maintain dealer records, and failure to provide title within 30 

days. Based on the information provided at the conference, 

the Board assessed a civil penalty of $7,800.00.   

Mr. Jenkins may appeal to a Formal Hearing.  

On December 6, 2022, a formal hearing was conducted to 

address the alleged violations. Based on the information 

provided at the hearing, the Board assessed a civil penalty of 

$2,000.00 and successful completion of the 2-day Dealer-

Operator course.   

Mr. Nahibkhil may appeal to the appropriate Virginia Circuit 

Court.  

River Auto Sales and Susana Kim.  

Paid a $1,000 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, 

provide roof of safety inspection prior to retail sale and failure 

to maintain records of dealer plate usage.  

 

The Car Shop Auto Sales LLC and Samuel Maten 

Chandler.   

Paid a $750 civil penalty for failure to maintain posted business 

hours. 

 

S4 Auto Sales & Rental LLC, and Shernard Cortez Newby.  

Suspended for failure to pay the $750 civil penalty for maintain 

in business hours.  

 

Perfect Choice Auto Sales LLC and D’Lanta Remario 

Taylor.   

Suspended for failure to pay the $750 civil penalty for not 

maintaining posted business hours. 

 

Alpha Auto & Cycle LLC, and Robert J. Fluellen.   

Paid a $750 civil penalty for failure to maintain posted business 

hours. 

 

Cars4less and Martin U. Onyirimba.   

Paid a $500 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records and 
proof of salespersons paid on a W-2 . 
 

Virginia Trailer Services, inc. and Randall K. Wilson.   

Paid a $750 civil penalty for failure to maintain posted business 
hours. 
 

Eagle Auto Sales and Raymond Seward Jr.   

Paid a $1,250 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, 
and proof of safety inspection prior to retail sale. 
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Board Actions 

Winners Circle Chrysler Dodge Jeep and Jarryd 

Alexander Carver.   

Paid a $750 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records and 
provide proof of salespersons paid on a W-2.

 

Quality Tires and Autocare, LLC and Marcus D. Heflin.   

Paid a $750 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, 
provide proof of safety inspection prior to retail sale, and 
maintain 250 sq. ft. of office space exclusively for the 
dealership. 

 

KMJ Used Auto Sales and Keith M. Jones.   

Suspended and moved to debt set-off for failure to pay a 
$3,000 civil penalty for dealer records, provide proof of safety 
inspection prior to retail sale and maintain Print on Demand 
records. 

 

Reids Family Auto Sales, LLC and Travis Reid.  

Paid a $1,000 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, 
provide proof of safety inspection prior to retail sale, provide 
proof of salespersons paid on a W-2, failure to maintain Print 
on Demand records. 

 

Garcia Auto Sales, LLC and Matamoros Juan, F. 

Hernandez.   

Paid a $1,750 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, 
provide proof of safety inspection prior to retail sale, provide 
proof of salespersons paid on a W-2, and failure to maintain 
Print on Demand records.  

 

2K Automotive, LLC and Anthony I Bivins.   

Suspended for failure to pay a $750 civil penalty for failure to 
maintain posted business hours. 

 

920 Auto Incorporated and Kelly Rondell Perkins.   

Paid a $750 civil penalty for failure to maintain posted business 
hours. 

 

 

Enterprise Automotive Financial LLC and Jassam M. 

Sarhan.   

Paid a $1,000 civil penalty for failure to maintain posted 
business hours and failure to comply with previous warnings 
from the Board. 

 

Rosenthal Jaguar Landrover of Tysons Corner, and 

Robert Peterson.   

Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records 
and having unlicensed salespersons. 

 

Benkari Autos and Nana Yaw Boffer Karifari and Bernard 

Kawkye.   

Suspended for failure to pay a $250 civil penalty for failure to 
maintain dealer records. 

 

Ryder Vehicle Sales, LLC and Eugene Tangney.  
Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records. 

 

Autobahn Sales, Inc, and Martin H. Bartloff.   

Paid a $1,200 civil penalty for failure to maintain liability 
insurance on dealer tags. 

 

Julios Auto Sales, LLC and William Gomez.   

Suspended for failure to pay a $500 civil penalty for failure to 
maintain dealer records, provide proof of safety inspection 
prior to retail sale, provide proof of salespersons paid on a W-2 
and failure to maintain Print on Demand records. 

 

Flat Rock Auto Sales, LLC and Sergio Leonel Canas.   

Paid a $7,850 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, 
maintain copies of titles and provide proof of safety inspection 
prior to retail sale. 

 

Connection Auto Sales Inc, and Liliana D. Garcia Mejia.   

Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records 
and proof of salespersons paid on a W-2. 

 

Carvana, and Ernest G. Garcia III.  

Paid a $3,000 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records, 
failure to maintain Print on Demand records and failure to 
comply with previous warnings from the Board.  



The Following Courses are Registered Through VIADA 

2023 Course Schedules 

 

March 7 - 8 : Hampton :  (Hyatt Place 1905 Coliseum Drive Hampton VA 23666 )  

 

March 14 - 15 :  Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113) 

 

April 11 - 12 :  Danville : (Courtyard by Marriott 2136 Riverside Drive Danville, VA 24540) 

 

April  18 - 19 : Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113) 

  

May 9 - 10 :  Hampton : (Hyatt Place 1905 Coliseum Drive Hampton VA 23666) 

 

May 16 - 17 :  Chantilly : (Home2Suites 43340 Defender Dr. Chantilly VA 20152) 

 

June  6 - 7 : Harrisonburg : (DoubleTree by Hilton 1400 E. Market St. Harrisonburg, VA 22801) 

 

June  13 - 14 :  Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113) 

 

July 11 - 12 :  Danville or Bristol : (TBD) 

 

July 18 - 19 :  Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113) 

 

August 8 - 9 :  Chantilly : (Home2Suites 43340 Defender Dr. Chantilly VA 20152) 

 

August 15 - 16 :  Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113) 

 

September 12 - 13 :  Harrisonburg or Lynchburg : (TBD) 

  

September 26 - 27 :  Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113) 

 

October 19 - 20 :  Norfolk : (Norfolk Waterside Marriott 235 E Main St, Norfolk VA) 

 

November 7 - 8 :  Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113) 

 

November 14 - 15 :  Danville : (Courtyard by Marriott 2136 Riverside Drive Danville, VA 24540) 

 

December 5 - 6 :  Chantilly : (Home2Suites 43340 Defender Dr. Chantilly VA 20152) 

 

December 12 - 13 :  Midlothian : (VIADA HQ 1525 Huguenot Rd Suite 200 Midlothian VA 23113) 

 

 **You can register for your IDO Course on the VIADA website HERE ** 

Or call 800-394-1960 
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Independent Dealer Operator Course Schedules 

https://viada.org/pre-license/


Improper Use of Dealer Tags! 

Dealers may not use a dealer tag on a vehicle that is being used for a power washing 

company. 

§ 46.2-1550 (A) 4 states in part, “Except as otherwise explicitly permitted in this 

article, it shall be unlawful for any dealer to cause or permit dealer’s plates to be used 

on…” 

4.  Vehicles used in conjunction with any other business  

The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will administer sections of  the 

Commonwealth’s Motor Vehicle Dealer Laws and Regulations as 

charged; promote the best interest of  both the automotive 

consumer and dealer community; while providing a high level of  

customer service. 
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