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Dealer Talk 

 Virginia is one of only 
two states that do not 
require motor vehicle 
dealers to continuously 
carry a bond for the life 
of the dealership.  In Vir-
ginia, dealers are only re-
quired to carry a bond for 
the first three years they 
are in business.  Thereaf-
ter, no bond is required.  
This saves Virginia deal-
ers hundreds of dollars 
each year after they have 
been in business for three 
years. 
We are able to do this 
because of the Motor Ve-
hicle Dealer Transaction 

Recovery Fund (TRF).  In 
the first three years they 
are in business, dealers 
pay $250 into this Fund.  
This Fund acts just like a 
bond in protecting con-
sumers who have been 
awarded a judgment of 
fraud against a dealer and 
the dealer does not pay 
the judgment. 
The Fund fee was estab-
lished about 30 years ago.  
The current fee structure 
has not been able to keep 
up with disbursements 
from the Fund.  In order 
to ensure the viability of 
this Fund, the Motor Ve-

hicle Dealer Board initi-
ated a legislative proposal 
to increase the TRF by 
$100, and the General 
Assembly has authorized 
this increase.  Therefore 
as of July 1, 2014, the an-

cont’d on pg 2 

Come visit us at 

our office! 

July 1, 2014 Legislative Changes to  
Transaction Recovery Fund 

 Motor Vehicle Dealers 
licensed in states other 
than Virginia (“Foreign 
Dealers”) may sell motor 
vehicles at wholesale auc-
tions in the Common-
wealth of Virginia, after 
first obtaining a certificate 
of dealer registration 
from the Department of 
Motor Vehicles. The Cer-
tificate allows foreign 

dealers to sell at Virginia 
wholesale auctions. For-
eign dealers may not sell 
at retail under any circum-
stances and may not sell 
directly to Virginia deal-
ers.  

As of July 1, the responsi-
bility for issuing a foreign 
dealer certificate of regis-
tration will move to the 
Motor Vehicle Dealer 

Board.  

Please note that it is 
unlawful for any person 
licensed in another state 
as a car or truck dealer to 
sell cars and trucks at 
wholesale auctions in the 
Commonwealth of Vir-
ginia without first obtain-
ing a certificate of dealer 
registration as provided 
for by the Virginia Code. 

Foreign Dealers 
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2014 New Legislation 

nual Fund fee will be $350 versus the current $250.  If you 
have been in business more than three years or you will have 
been in business three years or more at your next renewal, 
this increase will have no impact on you. 
If your renewal is scheduled for July of 2014 or after and at 
the time of renewal you will only have been in business for 
one or two years, your Fund fee will be $350.  For example, 
if you renew in August of 2014 and will be “celebrating” 
your first anniversary of being in business, your Fund fee 
will be $350 when you renew. 
We recognize that a $100 increase is significant; however, 
the fee has not been adjusted in about 30 years.  In addition, 
once you celebrate the third year of being in business, you 
will no longer be required to carry a bond or pay the fund 
fee.  If you were a dealer in 48 other states, you would be 
paying hundreds and perhaps over a thousand dollars every 
year to maintain a bond. 

The General Assembly signed into law legislation effective 
July 1, 2014, that repeals the $64 annual hybrid vehicle tax. 
The repeal also provides for a refund of taxes paid on regis-
tration periods that begin July 1, 2014 and after. 

The hybrid taxes are still required to be paid on all registra-
tion periods that end prior to July 1, 2014.  

 Owners of hybrid vehicles with registrations expiring 
June 30, 2014 or before are required to pay the $64 hy-
brid tax. 

 The $64 hybrid tax is still required to be paid on hybrid 
vehicles purchased between now and June 30, 2014. 

Refund checks for hybrid vehicle taxes paid on registration 
periods that begin July 1, 2014, or after will be issued begin-
ning July 1, 2014. The law does not provide for a refund of 
any taxes paid for registration periods that begin before July 
1, 2014.  

BOARD MEETINGS 

All Meetings are held at DMV Headquarters 

2300 W. Broad Street, Room 702  Richmond, VA 

Monday, July 14, 2014 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Dealer Practices Committee Meeting 

Monday, July 14, 2014 

Time:  Immediately following Dealer Practices 

Licensing Committee Meeting 

Monday, July 14, 2014 

Time:  Immediately following Licensing 

Advertising Committee Meeting 

Monday, July 14, 2014 

Time: Immediately following Advertising 

Transaction Recovery Fund Committee Meeting 

Monday, July 14, 2014 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Full Board Meeting 

NOTE:  Meetings may begin later, but not earlier than 

scheduled. 

  

Holiday HoursHoliday Hours  
CLOSED: 

Friday, July 4, 2014 

 

 

back to pg. 1 

Hybrid Vehicle Tax Repeal 
Effective July 1, 2014 

 

As we approach the summer vacation and 
boating season, please be aware that it is 
unlawful to pull a trailer with a vehicle that is 
driving on a dealer tag.  For detailed 

information, please read VA code § 46.2-1550 

cont’d from pg 1 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+46.2-1550


To obtain a Virginia Certificate of Dealer Registration as a for-
eign (non-Virginia) dealer to sell cars or trucks at wholesale auc-
tions in the Commonwealth of Virginia, you must: 

1. Hold a valid Dealer License in your home state, and in-
clude a photocopy of that license with your initial or re-
newal application for registration. 

2. Complete an application form. DSD-14 

3. Pay the appropriate fees. 

The Virginia Certificate of Registration will expire concurrently 
with your home state license. 

For more information, please contact dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov 

 

As of January 1, 2011, ALL IDO’s of 

independent dealerships must at some 

point in time, recertify their IDO 

qualification every three years by either 

taking an online course, or in a 

classroom, or by passing a DMV test.  

Click HERE for more information and 

HERE to determine your recertification 

deadline.  If you are unclear on your 

recertification deadline, or any other 

recertification questions,  please contact 

the Board.  Or ,  call Ann  Majors at the 

MVDB.  She may be reached at 804-367-

1100 x 3016, or email her at  

ann.majors@mvdb.virginia.gov 
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“Virginia is for Lovers” 

The standard blue and white license plate issued by DMV 
to customers registering their cars has a new design.  The 
plain blue and white plate has been the standard for a cou-
ple of decades and it  has been replaced.  A new “Virginia 
is for Lovers” license plate is now the Virginia Depart-
ment of Motor Vehicles’ (DMV) standard- issue plate. 

DMV is in the process of switching over from the plain 
blue and white standard passenger plate to a plate that dis-
plays the Virginia is for Lovers logo.  All on-line vendors 
were advised of this change and told to exhaust their cur-
rent supply of plates before issuing the new plates.  The 
tag plant has mailed out all of the blue and white plates 
and all future plate orders will be filled with the new 
plates. 

cont’d from pg 1. 

 

Mopeds operated on Virginia roadways are to 
be titled and registered by July 1, 2014. A title 
is $10, and the annual registration fee is 
$20.25.  

DMV will issue one license plate per moped to 
be placed on the rear of the vehicle. 
Customers can personalize their moped plate 
for $10 in addition to the registration fee. For 
more information, visit dmvNOW.com/
mopeds. 

Virginia law also requires every moped driver 
to carry a government-issued photo ID (does 
not have to be a driver’s license) and every driver 
and passenger must wear a helmet while riding 
a moped. Drivers must also wear a face shield, 
safety glasses or goggles unless the moped has 
a windshield. 

http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dsd14.pdf
mailto:dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/pdfs/Independent_D-O_Re-certification%20_Regulations.pdf
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/pdfs/02122013__ALL_thru%20NOV_2013_deadline.pdf
mailto:ann.majors@mvdb.virginia.gov
http://www.dmvnow.com/mopeds
http://www.dmvnow.com/mopeds


 

DEALER TAGS 

There is an urban myth that a dealer or 

customer may drive a vehicle without 

ANY plate within a “5 mile radius”.  

NOT true.  The proper procedure 

would be to issue the appropriate tag for 

the intended use. 

For dealer tags, use the DSD-27, and 

use the PoD system to print temporary 

transport tags. 

Be sure to maintain a copy for your 

records, and keep these records for five 

(5) years. 
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DMV/VDH 

Vital Records Partnership 

As of March 1, 2014, the Virginia Department of 
Motor Vehicles (DMV) and the Virginia Depart-
ment of Health (VDH) Division of Vital Records 
partnered to provide increased access to Virginia 
birth certificates. Copies of Virginia birth certifi-
cates are available statewide at all 75 DMV cus-
tomer service centers and five mobile offices.  Al-
ready, approximately 5,000 Virginians have re-
quested birth certificates at DMV locations. Most 
of these customers are able to leave DMV with 
copies of their birth certificates printed and in 
hand.  The process for obtaining vital records 
through DMV is the same as doing so directly 
through the Division of Vital Records. Customers 
complete an application, submit the required docu-
mentation, and pay a fee to the agency. The fee for 
a birth certificate at DMV is $14.  In addition to 
birth certificates, the legislation provides that 
DMV will begin issuing copies of death, marriage 
and divorce records on January 1, 2015. All origi-
nal records will continue to be stored securely at 
the Vital Records office. 

Civil Penalties 

 

OFF-SITE SALES 

Dealers who wish to conduct a sale away from their 

licensed location must first obtain a Temporary 

Supplemental License from the MVDB.  Please note 

the following:  Car/truck, motorcycle and recreational 

vehicle dealers may not conduct more than eight off-

site sales in a year and not more than one sale 

consecutively in the same jurisdiction (city or county).  

If you are conducting an off-site sale outside the 

jurisdiction in which you are located or not in an 

adjacent jurisdiction, you must notify and invite all 

dealers in the jurisdiction in which the sale is to take 

place.  The notification must be made by certified mail 

and the regulating agency (MVDB or DMV) must be 

sent a list of the dealers notified. In order to conduct 

an off-site sale, a dealer must first apply for an off-site 

sales license by submitting a form MVDB-22. 

The MVDB receives newsletters and updates from other states to 
keep abreast of motor vehicle regulatory practices across the 
United States.  Of interest to dealers may be the amount of civil 
penalties other states assess for similar Virginia violations.  For 
failure to issue title, Wisconsin and Texas, have issued civil penal-
ties ranging from $400 to $3,000.  Texas has issued up to $10,000 
for temporary tag violations.  Odometer violations tend to be 
steep in Texas with civil penalties ranging from $1,000 per viola-
tion but Wisconsin assessed one dealer $40,000 for multiple 
odometer violations.  Wisconsin regularly violates dealers for lack 
of record keeping and assesses civil penalties in the $200-$500 
range.  Misuse of D-tags in Texas and Wisconsin range from $200
-$300 PER violation.  Lastly, making a material misstatement on 
applications/forms carries an extremely stiff penalty in Wiscon-
sin—suspension anywhere from 2-90 days. 

Virginia Code states civil penalties may not exceed $1,000 for any 
single violation, and all civil penalties collected are deposited in 
the Transportation Trust Fund. 

http://www.dmvnow.com/webdoc/pdf/dsd27.pdf
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/forms/files/mvdb-22.pdf


DID YOU KNOW ?? 

Governor Terry McAuliffe recently announced that Rick Holcomb, the Commissioner of the Virginia Department 
of Motor Vehicles, will become acting Chief Operating Officer at the Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control (ABC) following the retirement of W. Curtis Coleburn.  “Rick Holcomb is a proven leader in Virginia 
government who has excelled at DMV, an agency where customer service, sound financial management and re-
sponsible law enforcement are key,” said Governor McAuliffe. “I am glad he has agreed to take on this new tem-
porary role while continuing the great work he is doing at DMV as my team and I search for a permanent replace-
ment to fill Curtis Coleburn’s shoes and lead the Virginia ABC into the future.”  
W. Curtis Coleburn III will retire as Chief Operating Officer of the Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control after more than 30 years of service to the Commonwealth. “I want to thank Curtis Coleburn for his lead-
ership and service to the people of Virginia,” said Governor McAuliffe. “During his time as Chief Operating Offi-
cer, the Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control became the professional and profitable state agency it 
is today. Few people have earned their retirement more than Curtis has.  “Giving Virginians the best possible cus-
tomer experience and the highest return on their tax dollars is one of my top priorities. I am looking forward to 
working with Rick Holcomb, Secretary of Public Safety Brian Moran and their entire team to continue moderniz-
ing the ABC and making it as successful, responsible and responsive to taxpayers as it can possibly be.”  
Richard D. Holcomb was reappointed as Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles by Governor Terry 
McAuliffe in 2014, after serving in the same capacity for four years under Governor Robert F. McDonnell.  
As DMV Commissioner, Holcomb manages a state agency with a budget of approximately $215 million and a 
statewide workforce of about 2,000 employees. Holcomb oversees the collection of approximately $2.2 billion dol-
lars in revenue annually, which funds a significant portion of the state’s highway construction and maintenance.  
In addition, he serves as the Governor's Highway Safety Representative, on the Washington Metropolitan Area 
Transit Commission, and as vice chair of the Virginia's Information Technology Advisory Council. He is chairman 
of the Virginia Motor Vehicle Dealer Board and serves as Secretary of the American Association of Motor Vehicle 
Administrators International Board of Directors.  In 2014, he was nominated to receive the White House’s 
“Champions of Change” award.  Prior to his 2010 appointment, Holcomb served as DMV Commissioner from 
1994 to 2001.  During Holcomb's initial seven-year tenure at DMV, he oversaw a dramatic transformation of the 
agency’s workforce training model and approach to customer service that improved Virginians’ experience at 
DMV branches and increased the agency’s efficiency.  

…...That   The Virginia Depart-

ment of Motor Vehicles’ five mobile 
customer service centers, called 
DMV 2 Go, are traveling across the 
state to serve customers. Each full 
service office provides all DMV 
transactions, including Salesperson 
and Dealer-Operator examinations.  
For more details, scheduling infor-
mation, and a calendar of upcoming 
locations visit 
www.dmvNOW.com/DMV2GO.   
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…...That  In 2013 in Virginia, there 

were 26,706 crashes, 89 fatalities and 

6,225 injuries attributed to driver dis-

tractions. Most distracted driving 

crashes involved drivers 21 to 35 years 

old (39 percent), and most occurred on 

Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays (46 

percent), between noon and 6 p.m. (42 

percent). The top five driver distrac-

tions were, in order: drivers not having 

their eyes on the road, cell phone use, 

looking at a roadside incident, passen-

ger distractions, radio or CD use. 

DMV on the go, with 

VADMV mobile apps! 

DMV’s Holcomb to Oversee Transition at ABC  

back to pg. 1 
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http://dmvnow.com/about/#mobile_apps.asp


 

Chesapeake Bay Auto Sales and Robert E. Upton, III.  From March of 2011 to August of 2013, MVDB con-
ducted six inspections of this dealership.  All inspections revealed problems including record keeping; no tag logs 
misuse of dealer and temporary tags; safety inspection; odometer disclosures; salespersons not properly licensed; 
and not issuing a title in a timely manner.  Educational/warning letters were sent to the dealer.  In addition there 
were several consumer complaints on file for not producing a title and issuing multiple sets of 30 day tags.  In ad-
dition, evidence shows that loan applications were falsified.  Previously the dealer paid a civil penalty for using a d-
tag on a tow truck.  In December, 2013, an informal fact-finding conference was conducted to address the alleged 
violations of dealer records, buyer’s orders, odometer disclosure, use of dealer tags, issuing temp tags using mis-
statements and false information, acts of officers and failure to comply with a written warning or willful failure to 
comply, defrauding or damaging a retail buyer, having used deceptive acts or practices, possessing titles which have 
not been completely and legally assigned to him, and failure to submit fees to DMV within 30 days. Based on the 
information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $15,000 and revocation of all licenses 
and certificates.  This dealership closed in January of this year. 

 
Credit Line Motors and Hassan Mohammad. Upon learning that the owner and dealer-operator of this dealer-
ship had been convicted of a misdemeanor for selling a vehicle without first performing a safety inspection, Board 
staff conducted an inspection.  The inspection revealed a number of deficiencies including lack of records showing 
that vehicles are safety inspected; no record of temporary transport tags; not providing title in a timely manner; 
and only four out of nine D-tags had insurance.  On March 14, 2014, an informal fact-finding conference was con-
ducted to address the alleged violations of buyer’s order, business hours,  temporary registration, title within 30 
days, dealer tags, insurance required, transport tag record of use and issuance, acts of officers,  material misstate-
ment or omission in application regarding issuing 30 day temp tags, Having used deceptive acts or practices, hav-
ing been convicted of any criminal act involving the business of selling vehicles, failure to submit fees to DMV 
within 30 days, and failing to maintain automobile liability insurance. Based on the information provided at the 
conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $5,000, 30 day suspension of business license and Mr. 
Mohammad must pass the Dealer-Operator course before August 12, 2014. 

 
Auto Madi, LLC and Mohammad Yousef Ghatri. In a period of less than one year the Board received no less 
than seven founded consumer complaints, most related to not providing title.  In addition to these cases it appears 
that Mr. Ghatri did not submit title and registration fees to DMV in a timely manner.  On January 23, 2014, Mr. 
Ghatri was convicted of holding an open title.  Five days later he completed his renewal and indicated he had 
never been convicted of any criminal act involving the business of selling vehicles.  Mr. Ghatri received several 
educational/warning letters.  Lastly, a December 2013 inspection revealed among other things, issuance of multi-
ple temp tags; record keeping problems; failure to have proper disclosure on the buyers order; and business hours 
not properly displayed.  On March 11, 2014 an informal fact-finding conference was conducted to address the vio-
lations of display of salesperson licenses,  dealer records, sale of used vehicles/buyer’s guide, buyer’s orders, busi-
ness hours,  signs, proof of inspection not required of certain buyers, temporary registration, use of dealer tags,  
material misstatement, failure to comply with a written warning, deceptive acts or practices, convicted of any crimi-
nal act while in the business of selling motor vehicles, possessing titles which have not been completely and legally 
assigned to him, and failure to submit fees to DMV within 30 days. Based on the information provided at the con-
ference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $25,000 and revocation of all licenses and certificates.  Mr. Ghatri 
informed the Board that he would request an appeal to a Formal Conference. 
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Goldstar South and Thomas K. Maad. An unsatisfactory inspection in December 2013 caused the Board staff 
to convene an informal fact-finding conference.  The inspection revealed that four salespersons were not licensed; 
hours were not properly posted; records were not available; 21 dealer tags out of 33 between two locations were 
not insured, and misuse of dealer tags.  On February 4, 2014, an informal fact-finding conference was conducted 
to address the alleged violations of licenses required-salespersons, display of salespersons list, dealer records, busi-
ness hours, temporary registration, title within 30 days, dealer tags, insurance required, acts of officers, having used 
deceptive acts or practices, failure to submit fees to DMV within 30 days, and failing to maintain automobile liabil-
ity insurance. Based on the information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $6,500 
and successful completion of the 2 day Dealer–Operator course before August 12, 1014. 

 
Credit Cars Select, LLC and Eric Nilson. In November and December of 2013 attempts were made to inspect 
this dealership.  On both occasions, no one at the dealership had access to records, therefore an inspection could 
not be completed.  On April 4, 2014, an informal fact-finding conference was conducted to address the alleged 
violations of display of salesperson’s license, examination or audit of licensee; costs, dealer records, and business 
hours. Based on the information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $500, successful 
completion of the 2-day Dealer-Operator course, and a satisfactory inspection. 

 
Alleghany Motor Corporation and Robert Garten. On three occasions over a six month period of time, law 
enforcement officers discovered D-tag use violations.  One for misuse and two for not issuing a “permission to 
drive” form.  In addition, an inspection of this dealership revealed temporary tag violations.  After the misuse of 
dealer tags and improper issuance of temporary tags was discovered, the dealer was given the choice of paying a 
$1,500 civil penalty or participating in an informal fact-finding conference.  He decided on the latter.  On Septem-
ber 4, 2013, an informal fact-finding conference was conducted to address the alleged violations of use of dealer 
tags, use of dealer tags for other businesses, transport tag record of use and issuance, acts of officers, directors, 
partners and salespersons, and failure to comply with a written warning or willful failure to comply.  On Novem-
ber 4, 2014, the Board adopted a Resolution to assess a $2,750 civil penalty and to successfully complete the 2 day 
Dealer-Operator course by May 4, 2014.  On November 18, 2013, Mr. Garten appealed the Board’s decision and 
requested a formal hearing.  On January 16, 2014, a formal hearing was conducted to address the above alleged 
violations. Based on the information provided at the formal, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $2,750 and a suc-
cessful completion of the 2 day Dealer-Operator course before August 12, 2014. 

 

A West Broad Auto Sale, LLC, and Goran Krajisnik, paid a $1,000 civil penalty for salesperson paid on a 1099. 

Atlantic Motors, and Behrouz Ahvazi, paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain business hours. 

American Classics, and William H. Myers, paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain business hours. 

Unique Motors, and Andrius Venckus, paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain business hours. 
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Zaki Mohamed Stwodah of The Auto Connection.  Mr. Stwodah was convicted of a misdemeanor for altering 
a title.  On renewal applications he answered “No” to the question of having ever been convicted of a criminal act 
in connection with the automobile sales business.  On September 5, 2013, an informal fact-finding conference was 
conducted to address the alleged violations of Having made a material misstatement on a renewal application, 
Having used deceptive acts or practices and Having been convicted of any criminal act involving the business of 
selling vehicles.  The Board adopted a Resolution at the January 13, 2014 meeting to assess a civil penalty of $3,000 
and that all licenses and certificates issued by the Board be revoked.  On February 7, 2014, Mr. Stwodah’s attorney 
appealed the Board’s decision. On April 2, 2014, a formal hearing was conducted to address the above alleged vio-
lations. Based on the information provided by the hearing officer, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $2,250 and 
a satisfactory inspection before August 12, 2014. 

Expressway Auto, LLC and Daoud Mohammad Anwan, paid a $500 civil penalty for failing to advertise as a 
dealer, and disclose the processing fee dollar amount on Craigslist. 
 
Unique Auto Sales, LLC and William Higginbotham, paid a $500 civil penalty for failing to advertise as a dealer, 
and disclose the processing fee dollar amount on Craigslist. 
 
Auto Liberty of Arlington, and Amin Kargar, paid a $250 civil penalty for violation of Truth in Lending, and fail-
ure to advertise as a dealer on Craigslist. 
 
D & S Imports, LLC and Sosa Canzobre, paid a $3,500 civil penalty for failing to advertise as a dealer, and disclose 
the processing fee dollar amount on Craigslist. 
 
Arlington Auto  Sales, Inc., and Ramin Qassim, paid a $1,000 civil penalty for failing to advertise as a dealer, and 
disclose the processing fee dollar amount on Craigslist. 
 
757 Auto Sales, LLC, and Mark Adcock, paid a $500 civil penalty for failing to advertise as a dealer, and disclose 
the processing fee dollar amount on Craigslist. 
 
H & R Auto, Inc., and Hamed Z. Rod, paid a $500 civil penalty for failing to advertise as a dealer, and disclose the 
processing fee dollar amount on Craigslist. 
 
Unique Motors, and Andrius Venckus, paid a $500 civil penalty for failing to advertise as a dealer, and disclose the 
processing fee dollar amount on Craigslist. 

 

 

NOTE:  Depending on the circumstances, all Board Actions may be appealed 

              to Circuit Court, or for an administrative hearing. 

For prior issues of Dealer Talk click HERE 

back to pg 1 
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The path to a Dealer-Operator license begins with a required two-day course of study each month at various com-
munity colleges in Virginia with the curriculum and instruction provided by VIADA. 
The course takes the attendee from establishing the dealership under local zoning and Dealer Board requirements, 
through the sales process with its multitude of forms, laws and regulations, in to a sampling of opening and operat-
ing expenses, and ending with a discussion on ethics. 
The course is open to all existing dealers and their employees.  
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Date College Contact Information 

2014 

Jun 03-04 Germanna Fredericksburg 

Kelly Bennett 

540-937-2913 

www.germanna.edu/workforce 

Jun 17-18 Danville Danville 

Donna 

434-797-6437 

www.dcc.vccs.edu/workforce 

Jul 01-02 Northern VA in Woodbridge 

Registration 

703-257-6634 

www.nvcc.edu 

Aug 05-06 Virginia Western in Daleville 

Registration 

540-966-3984 

www.virginiawestern.edu 

Aug 19-20 Piedmont Virginia in Charlottesville 

Corinne Lauer 

434-961-5354 

www.workforce@pvcc.edu 

Sep 09-10 Tidewater Community College Suffolk 

Registration 

757-822-1234 

www.tcc.edu/wd 

Sep 23-24 
Lord Fairfax Community College in 
Warrenton 

Patricia Leister 

540-351-1524 

www.lfccworkforce.com 

Oct 07-08 
J Sargeant Reynolds in Hen-
rico/Richmond 

Sandy Jones 

804-523-2293 

www.ccwa.vccs.edu 

Oct 21-22 
Northern Virginia Community College in 
Reston 

Claire Wynn 

703-450-2551 

www.nvcc.edu/loudoun/continuing 

Nov 04-05 
Blue Ridge Community College in Wey-
ers Cave 

Registration 

540-453-2215 

www.brcc.edu 

Nov 18-19 
Germanna Community College Freder-
icksburg 

Kelly Bennett 

540-937-2913 

www.germanna.edu/workforce 

Dec 09-10 
Lord Fairfax Community College in Mid-
dletown 

Registration 

540-868-7021 

www.lfccworkforce.com 

http://www.viada.org
http://www.germanna.edu/workforce
http://www.dcc.vccs.edu/workforce
http://www.nvcc.edu
http://www.virginiawestern.edu
http://www.workforce@pvcc.edu
http://www.tcc.edu/wd
http://www.lfccworkforce.com
http://www.ccwa.vccs.edu
http://www.nvcc.edu/loudoun/continuing
http://www.brcc.edu
http://www.germanna.edu/workforce
http://www.lfccworkforce.com


The former National Crash Analysis Center has found a new home. 

Until moving to George Mason University in Fairfax last summer, the 
center had been housed at George Washington University since 1992. 
Now known as the Center for Collision Safety and Analysis (CCSA), the 
organization’s research focuses on transportation safety and security. Ac-
cording to its website, collision safety and analysis concerns 
“understanding events where objects collide or crash, the nature of the 
impacts, correlations to outcomes and potentials for mitigating the con-
sequences.” 

The center’s director, Cing-Dao “Steve” Kan, says the organization saw 
better growth opportunities at GMU for research and education. The 
center currently is supporting a master’s degree program at GMU with 
an emphasis on transportation safety. In the future, CCSA plans to sup-
port degrees offered to GMU’s undergraduate and doctoral students. 
The center has a dozen full-time employees and three graduate students. 
“By next summer we should have at least 10 graduate students,” Kan 
says.  

The center is a partnership with the National Center for Manufacturing 
Sciences (NCMS), a nonprofit group that helps manufacturers and other 
industries stay competitive. Members include Detroit-based General Mo-
tors, Chicago-based The Boeing Co. and Morristown, N.J.-based Honey-
well. 
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What’s Wrong With This Picture? 
 

 

This advertising would be considered 
deceptive or misleading.  There is 
never a time in which DMV does not 
collect Sales and Use Tax (SUT) on 
retail vehicle sales.  SUT must be paid 
to DMV, regardless of whether the 
customer pays the SUT, or whether the 
Dealer pays the SUT on behalf of the 
customer.  To advertise that there is 
“no tax” is deceptive and misleading. 

 

Sales and Use Tax (SUT) is 

increasing to 4.05% beginning July 

1, 2014 through June 30, 2015. 

If you are collecting fees and taxes 

on behalf of the buyer, make sure 

all fees and taxes are submitted to 

DMV within 30 days of purchase. 

Additionally, please  ensure your 

buyers orders are compliant with 

the new SUT increase.   If you use 

a software program to generate 

your buyers orders, be sure to 

make the appropriate SUT 

software updates! 

For more information go to 

Virginia Department of Taxation. 

cont’d on pg. 11 

https://www.ccsa.gmu.edu/C:/Users/qxt96668/Documents/2008-12-29%20Ann%20Christmas%202008
http://www.tax.virginia.gov/site.cfm?alias=changesandupdates


MVDB Mission Statement 

The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will 

administer sections of  the Common-

wealth’s Motor Vehicle Dealer Laws 

and regulations as charged; while pro-

viding a high level of  customer service 

for the automotive consumer and 

dealer community. 

Organization 

MVDB 

2201 W. Broad Street 

Suite 104 

Richmond, VA  23220 

Visit us on the Web! 

www.mvdb.virginia.gov 
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Phone: 804-367-1100 

Fax: 804-367-1053 

E-mail: dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov 

DISCLAIMER:  We make every effort to ensure information in 
Dealer Talk is accurate, but it is not a substitute for legal 
advice. 
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NCMS’ president and CEO Rick Jarman says CCSA’s simulations and 
computer modeling work would help researchers understand the com-
plex interactions that occur during a collision. 

“Manufacturers need big data tools like this to stay competitive in the 
global marketplace,” Jarman said in a statement made when the open-
ing of CCSA was announced.  “We’re proud to be partnering with 
George Mason (University) on such an important program.” 

Most of the center’s funding comes from government agencies with 
the rest provided by corporations, Kan says. It is currently working 
with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to evaluate 
the safety of future light-weight vehicles. The center also works with 
auto manufacturers such as Honda, Ford and Nissan and their suppli-
ers and participates in collaborative research with other institutions 
and universities 

back to pg. 1 

Article courtesy of :  

Veronica Garabelli Research at the 
Center for Collision Safety and Analysis 
focuses on transportation safety and security.  

http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov

