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Inside this issue: 

Dealer Talk 

We are excited to intro-
duce a new feature in 
Dealer Talk.  We have 
teamed up with DMV 
Dealer Services to bring 
educational news and in-
formation to keep Dealers 
informed.     

As a result of legislation 
from the 2013 and 2016 
General Assembly ses-
sions, the following 
changes will go into effect 
July 1, 2016.  
The Virginia titling tax, 
also known as sales and 
use tax (SUT) will increase 
to 4.15% of the sale price 

cess of 7,500 pounds but 
not in excess of 10,000 
pounds. These vehicles  
no longer qualify for ‘TX’ 
truck plates. 
Definitions 
"Pickup or panel truck" 
means (i) every motor ve-
hicle designed for the 
transportation of property 
and having a registered 
gross weight of 7,500 
pounds or less or (ii) every 
motor vehicle registered 
for personal use, designed 
to transport property on 
its own structure inde-
pendent of any other vehi-

DMV News 

When it comes to car ad-
vertising, truth should be 
standard equipment. 
That’s the message of 
Operation Ruse Control, 
a coast-to-coast and cross
-border sweep by the 
FTC, state, federal, and 
international law enforc-
ers aimed at driving out 
deception in automobile 
ads, adds-ons, financing, 
and auto loan modifica-

tion services. The FTC 
cases offer 6 tips to help 
keep your promotions in 
the proper lane. 
1.    Avoid practices that 
turn add-ons into bad-
ons.  Two of the FTC 
actions involve add-ons – 
extra products or services 
tacked on to the sale, 
lease, or financing of a 
car. Typical add-ons in-
clude extended warran-

ties, guaranteed automo-
bile protection (GAP) 
insurance, credit life in-
surance, undercoating, 
and the like. According to 
the FTC, California-
based National Payment 
Network deceptively 
claimed in online ads and 
through a network of au-
thorized dealers that car 
buyers who bought its 
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(including the dealer pro-
cessing fee) or a minimum 
fee of $75.00, whichever is 
greater. Calculation of this 
fee will be determined by 
the purchase date of the 
vehicle.  As a reminder, all 
vehicles must be titled 
within 30 days of purchase 
to ensure that titling tax is 
paid as required. 
Low Speed vehicles may 
be titled with a fuel type 
of gas.  
Body type’s pickup and 
panel trucks can now be 
registered as personal use 
with a gross weight in ex-

cont. on pg. 3 

https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/press-releases/2015/03/ftc-multiple-law-enforcement-partners-announce-crackdown
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/press-releases/2015/03/ftc-multiple-law-enforcement-partners-announce-crackdown
https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/cases-proceedings/132-3285/national-payment-network-inc-matter-npn
https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/cases-proceedings/132-3285/national-payment-network-inc-matter-npn
mailto:dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov
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All Meetings are held at DMV Headquarters 

2300 W. Broad Street, Room 702  Richmond, VA 

Monday, July 11, 2016 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Dealer Practices Committee Meeting 

Monday, July 11, 2016 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Licensing Committee Meeting 

Monday, July 11, 2016 

Time:  Immediately following Dealer Practices Committee 

Meeting 

Advertising Committee Meeting 

Monday, July 11, 2016 

Time: Immediately following Licensing Committee 

Transaction Recovery Fund Committee Meeting 

Monday, July 11, 2016 

Time:  Immediately following Advertising Committee 

Full Board Meeting 

NOTE:  Meetings may begin later, but not earlier than 

scheduled.  

MVDB will be closedMVDB will be closed  

CLOSED:  Monday, July 4, 2016  for ob-

servance of Independence Day. 

cont’d on pg. 3 

biweekly payment program would save money. What consumers 
weren’t told was that the cost of the add-on often outstripped 
any savings. The FTC says that was a material fact that should 
have been disclosed upfront. In a related action, the FTC sued 
New Jersey dealerships Matt Blatt Inc. and Glassboro Imports 
LLC for pitching NPN’s deceptive add-ons and pocketing hefty 
commissions. To settle the case, NPN will provide consumers 
with $2.475 million in refunds and fee waivers. The dealerships 
will turn over an additional $184,000. 
2.  Don’t low-ball your pitch.  Three of the Operation Ruse 
Control cases challenge allegedly deceptive advertising by auto 
dealers.  Some crossed the line by using headlines to tout bar-
gain prices while failing to disclose – or failing to adequately dis-
close – the true cost of the deal. For example, ads for Cory Fair-
banks Mazda of Longwood, Florida, pitched “used cars as low 
as $99.” But according to the FTC, $99 was just the minimum 
bid for cars offered at a liquidation sale and that didn’t include 
substantial mandatory fees. In a similar vein, the FTC says the 
dealership’s ads included photos of loaded cars without clearly 
explaining that some pictured features – like spoilers and sun-
roofs – weren’t included in the price. 
3.   Steer clear of deceptive “zero sum” games.  Just 
as Seinfeld billed itself as a show about nothing, ads for Ross 
Nissan of El Monte focused on nothing too – as in “$0 INI-
TIAL PAYMENT, $0 DOWN PAYMENT, $0 DRIVE-OFF 
LEASE.”  The California company made the same claims in 
Spanish language ads. Other ads promised “$0 down*, 0% APR 
financing*, 0 payments*, and 0 problems.” Well, the FTC had a 
problem with – among other things – the deceptive use of 
“zero.” The dealership’s “$0 at lease inception” deal wasn’t ap-
plicable if consumers wanted the cars in the ads for the adver-
tised monthly payment. What about “$0 down payment?” The 
FTC says people, in fact, had to pay a down payment to finance 
the vehicles for the monthly payment featured in the ads. And 
“0% APR?” The annual percentage rate for financing those cars 
for the advertised payment was way more than 0%. (The com-
plaint against Cory Fairbanks Mazda made similar allegations 
about deceptive “zero” claims.)  The message for deal-
ers:  Don’t lure customers in with misleading “zero” promises. 
 

https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/cases-proceedings/132-3285/matt-blatt-inc-matter
https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/cases-proceedings/132-3285/matt-blatt-inc-matter
https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/cases-proceedings/152-3047/tt-longwood-inc-matter-cory-fairbanks-mazda
https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/cases-proceedings/152-3047/tt-longwood-inc-matter-cory-fairbanks-mazda
https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/cases-proceedings/132-3114/city-nissan-inc-matter-ross-nissan-el-monte
https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/cases-proceedings/132-3114/city-nissan-inc-matter-ross-nissan-el-monte


4.  If strings are attached, make 
them clear to consumers up-
front.  That’s the message of the 
FTC’s settlement with Jim Burke 
Nissan in Birmingham, Alabama. 
According to the complaint, the 
dealership highlighted eye-catching 
prices without clearly explaining 
what the vehicle would really cost 
consumers. For example, in some 
cases, what appeared to be the full 
price was actually what people 
would have to pay after they ponied 
up a down payment of as much as 
$3,000. Other ads featured prices 
that factored in special discounts or 
rebates that weren’t available to eve-
ryone. For example, some prices 
applied only to recent college grads, 
a restriction not prominently dis-
closed. The ads didn’t tell prospec-
tive buyers without a freshly-inked 
sheepskin that they’d have to pay 
more. (The Cory Fairbanks com-
plaint includes a similar charge that 
the company didn’t clearly explain 
that the advertised discount or price 
had qualifications – for example, 
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that it was available only to prior Maz-
da owners.)  What can other dealers 
take from the cases? Clearly disclose 
material restrictions and limitations. 
5.   Fine print footnotes and buried 
“disclaimers” are non-starters.  
The FTC says ads for Jim Burke Nis-
san, Ross Nissan of El Monte, and 
Cory Fairbanks Mazda all included 
variations on a deceptive theme: fine 
print footnotes, unclear “disclaimers” 
that consumers had to scroll down to 
see, or other buried information that 
didn’t meet the agency’s “clear and 
conspicuous” standard. Advertisers 
often ask how big a disclosure has to 
be, but it’s more than a matter of font 
size. A clear and conspicuous disclo-
sure is one sufficient for consumers to 
actually notice, read, and understand 
it.  
6.  Give credit laws the credit 
they’re due. The actions against all 
three dealers allege that they violated 
provisions of federal credit statutes. 
One common pothole: using certain 
“triggering terms” under the Consum-
er Leasing Act, Truth in Lending Act, 

Reg Z, or Reg M without making 
required disclosures. For example, 
if you advertise monthly lease pay-
ments, that kicks in a requirement 
under the CLA that you disclose 
other facts about the transaction – 
like the total amount due at lease 
signing, whether a security deposit 
is required, and the number, 
amount, and timing of scheduled 
payments.  
Also part of Operation Ruse Con-
trol: a law enforcement action 
against Florida-based Regency 
Financial Services and CEO Ivan 
Levy. According to the FTC, the 
company charged financially-
strapped consumers upfront fees 
to negotiate changes to their car 
notes, but often didn’t provide 
anything in return. A federal judge 
froze the defendants’ assets and 
entered a Stipulated Preliminary 
Injunction.  Litigation continues 
in that case.  
Source: FTC.gov Operation Ruse Control: 6 tips if cars are 
up your alley. 

back to pg. 1 
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cle, and having a registered gross 
weight in excess of 7,500 pounds 
but not in excess of 10,000 pounds. 
"Truck" means every motor vehicle 
designed to transport property on its 
own structure independent of any 
other vehicle and having a registered 
gross weight in excess of 7,500 
pounds. "Truck" does not include 
any pickup or panel truck. 

In addition to the Legislative man-
dates the following transaction will  
be added to the Online Dealer Ven-
dor systems. 
Odometer reading exemption for 
trucks, tractors, and van trucks 
whose gross vehicle weight rating is 
more than 16,000 lbs. Once a vehi-
cle is titled with this odometer ex-
emption it is permanent and cannot 

be changed.  
For more information contact the 
Online Vehicle Programs work cen-
ter at (804) 367-2715 prompt #1 or 
Jenna Westbrook at (804) 367-4323 
or Jen-
na.Westbrook@dmv.virginia.gov .  

contd. from pg. 1 

https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/cases-proceedings/152-3036/jim-burke-automotive-inc-matter-jim-burke-nissan
https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/cases-proceedings/152-3036/jim-burke-automotive-inc-matter-jim-burke-nissan
https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/statutes/consumer-leasing-act
https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/statutes/consumer-leasing-act
https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/statutes/truth-lending-act
https://www.ftc.gov/reports/federal-trade-commission-enforcement-activities-related-compliance-regulation-z-truth
https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/cases-proceedings/142-3059/regency-financial-services-llc
https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/cases-proceedings/142-3059/regency-financial-services-llc
https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/cases-proceedings/142-3059/regency-financial-services-llc
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/blogs/business-blog/2015/03/operation-ruse-control-6-tips-if-cars-are-your-alley
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/blogs/business-blog/2015/03/operation-ruse-control-6-tips-if-cars-are-your-alley
mailto:Jenna.Westbrook@dmv.virginia.gov
mailto:Jenna.Westbrook@dmv.virginia.gov
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D-Tag Insurance Verification 

 

ALL IDO’s of independent dealerships must at 

some point in time, recertify their IDO 

qualification every three years by either taking an 

online course, or in a classroom, or by passing a 

DMV test.  Click HERE for more information 

and HERE to determine your recertification 

deadline.  Please note that Franchise dealers are 

exempt from recertification.  If you are unclear 

on your recertification deadline, or any other 

recertification questions,  please contact the 

Board.  Or ,  call Ann  Majors at the MVDB.  

She may be reached at 804-367-1100 x 3016, or 

via email at  ann.majors@mvdb.virginia.gov 

According to VA Code §46.2-1547, and §46.2-1575 (18) 

Dealers are required to maintain liability insurance on 
each dealer tag issued to the Dealer. Dealers should con-
tact their insurance company to ensure there is liability 
insurance coverage for each dealer plate currently issued 
to the Dealer.  When conducting an inspection at the 
dealership, MVDB Field Representatives may request 
you provide proof of liability coverage to reflect the 
number of plates insured is covered.  

During a field inspection, MVDB field staff may ask you 
to produce W-2 records for all your licensed salesper-
sons.  SALESPERSONS MUST BE EMPLOYEES 
The Code of Virginia defines a salesperson as follows: “. 
.. (i) any person who is hired as an employee by a motor 
vehicle dealer to sell or exchange motor vehicles and 
who receives or expects to receive a commission, fee, or 
any other consideration from the dealer; (ii) any person 
who supervises salespersons employed by a motor vehi-
cle dealer, whether compensated by salary or by com-
mission; (iii) any person, compensated by salary or com-
mission by a motor vehicle dealer, who negotiates with 
or induces a customer to enter into a security agreement 
on behalf of a dealer; or (iv) any person who is licensed 
as a motor vehicle dealer and who sells or exchanges 
motor vehicles. For purposes of this section, any person 
who is an independent contractor as defined by the 
United States Internal Revenue Code shall be deemed 
not to be a motor vehicle salesperson.” Please be sure 
that anyone who performs any of the functions listed in 
the above definition is properly licensed. In addition, 
anyone licensed as a salesperson must be an employee 
of the dealership. Licensed salespersons may not be 
“independent contractors” and paid via IRS form 
“1099”. IRS form K-1 is used by members of an LLC to 
report their share of a Corporation’s earnings (or loss). 
If a member of an LLC is also a licensed salesperson, 
then by definition, they are also an employee of the LLC 
and the LLC must issue that employee an IRS Form W-
2 at the end of the tax year. Therefore, a member of an 
LLC who is also a licensed salesperson will receive both 
a “K-1” and a “W-2” at the end of the tax year and 
must complete a W-4 when their employment begins. 

Salesperson Employment Upcoming Legislation 

New Legislation beginning July 1, 2016 allows the 
purchaser of a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer 
from an auto auction to operate such vehicle with-
out a safety inspection from the auction to an offi-
cial safety inspection station on the same day the 
purchaser removes the vehicle from the auto auc-
tion; if the inspection station is located between the 
auction and the purchaser's residence or place of 
business or within a five-mile radius of such resi-
dence or place of business.  This legislation amends 

§46.2-1158.01 relating to exceptions to motor vehi-

cle safety inspection requirements.  The bill was in-
troduced by delegate Ronald A. Villanueva of the 
Virginia General Assembly, House District 21 from 
Virginia Beach.  As a reminder, § 46.2-1539 requires 
a safety inspection between the time the vehicle 
comes into the possession of the dealer and the time 
it is sold at retail.  In the event the vehicle is found 
not to be in compliance with all safety inspection re-
quirements, the dealer shall either take steps to bring 
it into compliance, or shall furnish any buyer intend-
ing it for use on the public highway a written disclo-
sure, prior to sale, that the vehicle did not pass a safe-
ty inspection.  The provisions of this section shall also 
apply to watercraft trailers and watercraft trailer deal-
ers. 

http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/dealer-operators/recertification.aspx
http://mvdb.virginia.gov/forms/files/RECERT-deadline-OCT-2016.pdf
mailto:ann.majors@mvdb.virginia.gov
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1547/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1575/


DID YOU KNOW ?? 

a recall of up to 40 million more 
of the company's air bags, on top 
of the more than 50 million that 
have already been recalled global-
ly. 
If Takata was found to be solely 
responsible for the problem, it 
could face a bill of more than $9 
billion in recall costs, based on a 
rough calculation that each re-
placement kit costs around $100. 
It also faces U.S. lawsuits. 
Analysts are also watching devel-
opments when Takata will issue a 
notice in the United States to re-
move 14 million inflators - the 
first step in its latest recalls. 
Up until now, automakers have 
launched what are called investi-
gative recalls. If Takata issues a 
regular recall notice, that could be 
an indication that it will have to 
accept more responsibility, ana-
lysts say. Source Reuters 

The U.S. auto industry recorded its biggest 
monthly sales drop in nearly six years in May 
as most automakers posted declines amid 
plunging demand for passenger cars. 
May volume fell 6.1 percent to 1.5 million ve-
hicles. A 2.4 percent rise in truck sales, fueled 
by cheaper gasoline, failed to offset a 16 per-
cent drop for cars.  
Still, the seasonally adjusted annual sales rate 
came in at 17.46 million, on par with last year’s 
U.S. record unit tally of 17.47 million vehicles, 
and average incentives per vehicle rose 7.1 per-
cent to $3,034 in May compared with May 

2015.  J.D. Power and associates still predict a 
record forecast for all of 2016 of about 17.8 
million vehicle sales. 
Source: Automotive News, and Forbes 
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Takata Corporation—Airbag Manufacturer 
Looks at Restructuring 

Takata Corp. is considering a 
drastic review of its inflator divi-
sion and the sale of non-core 
businesses -- its first restructuring 
steps since becoming embroiled 
in a global recall crisis over po-
tentially deadly airbags. 
The announcement came as the 
supplier booked its third annual 
loss in four years on an increase 
in recall costs. It forecast a return 
to profit this financial year but 
said recall costs had not been fac-
tored in as the root cause of the 
defect has not been determined. 
The question of just how much 
Takata will have to pay in recall 
costs has been hanging heavily 
over the firm, with management 
saying that can only be worked 
out when there is clarity on the 
root cause of the problem. 
The company's woes only wors-
ened last week with U.S. 
transport authorities announcing 

 

Dealers advertising on Craigslist 
must advertise in the “dealer” 
section and NOT in the “owner” 
section of Craigslist.  The 
advertisement must state the name 
of the dealership OR VA DLR.  If 
you charge a processing fee, your 
processing fee must be disclosed in 
your Craigslist advertisement, and 
the amount must be the amount on 
file with the Board.  Lastly, if your 
advertisement states a phone 
number, that phone number must 
be the phone number of the 
dealership that is  on file with the 
Board.  Click HERE for more 
information regarding Craigslist 
policies regarding posting Cars/
Trucks for sale by Dealer. 

Google won an important early victory in February when the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration ruled that the 
artificial intelligence system piloting a self-driving car could be 
considered the driver under federal law. That paves the way for 
regulators to make subsequent rulings that autonomous vehicles 
don't need steering wheels, brake pedals, accelerator pedals or 
other things that humans use to control motor vehicles. Google 
and four allies - Ford, Lyft, Uber and Volvo Cars -- said they 
were forming "the Self-Driving Coalition for Safer Streets." The 
group will push for "one clear set of federal standards" for au-
tonomous vehicles and try to build support for the technology 
among businesses and local governments. The coalition's public 
face will be David Strickland - the former head of NHTSA.  
NHTSA has promised to issue driverless-car guidelines by July. 
The agency held a public meeting in April at Stanford Universi-
ty in California to gather public input.   
Source:  Automotive News 

https://www.craigslist.org/about/ctd


Auto Bank II and Afshin Moalem.  On March 4, 2016, an informal fact-finding conference was conducted to 
address the alleged violations of license required, failure to maintain dealer record, prohibited solicitation and com-
pensation, safety inspection of vehicles required, misuse of PoD tags,  PoD temporary plates, acts of officers, ma-
terial misstatement, and deceptive acts and practices.   At the May Board meeting, based on the information pro-
vided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $8,000 with a reduction of $250 should he provide 
proof of taking the Dealer Operator course and a satisfactory inspection by November 9, 2016. 

Ray’s Auto Recovery Sales Rental, LLC and Raymond A. Wilborne.  On April 15, 2016, an informal fact-
finding conference was conducted to address the alleged violation of having been convicted of any criminal act 
involving the business of selling vehicles. At the May Board meeting, based on the information provided at the 
conference, the Board requires Ray’s Auto Recovery Sales Rental to have a satisfactory inspection. 

Robert Garten Automotives, LLC and Robert C. Garten.   On March 29, 2016, an informal fact-finding con-
ference was conducted to address the alleged violations of failure to maintain dealer record, consignment con-
tracts, misuse of transport plates, transport plates record of usage, acts of officers, failure to comply with a written 
warning, and having been convicted of any criminal act involving the business of selling vehicles. At the May 
Board meeting, based on the information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $7,000. 

Speedhunters Automotive Group, Inc. and Antonio Jimenez.  On April 18, 2016, an informal fact-finding 
conference was conducted to address the alleged violations of location to be specified, dealer records, acts of offic-
ers, advertising; untrue, misleading or deceptive and failure to disclose processing fee.  At the May Board meeting, 
based on the information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a $500 civil penalty, and a satisfactory 
inspection by November 9, 2016. 

Nash’s Auto Sales, LLC and Rolando Nash. Historical overview leading up to the formal hearing: On August 
18, 2015, an informal fact-finding conference was conducted to address the alleged violations of dealer records, 
failure to provide proof of W-2, safety inspection of vehicles required, failure to provide title within 30 days, failure 
to provide proof of liability insurance on D-tags, misuse of D-tags, acts of officers and salespersons, and failure to 
comply with previous warnings, deceptive acts and practices, open titles, and failure to pay fees to DMV within 30 
days.  On September 14, 2015, and based on the information provided at the informal fact-finding conference, the 
Board assessed a civil penalty of $10,000 against Nash’s Auto Sales, LLC and Rolando Nash and revocation of all 
licenses and certificates issued by the Board to Nash’s Auto Sales, LLC and Rolando Nash. On October 26, 2015 
Mr. Nash appealed the Board’s decision and requested a formal hearing. On December 10, 2015 a formal hearing 
was conducted to address the above alleged violations. At the may Board meeting, based on the information pro-
vided at the formal hearing, the Board assessed a $10,000 civil penalty, and revocation of the dealership licenses 
and certificates, and Mr. Nash’s dealer-operator qualification.  Mr. Nash keeps his salesperson qualification. 

Del Malc Motors, Inc., and Rehailiah Booth.  Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain posted business 
hours. 

Easter’s Inc., and Bobby W. Easter.  Paid A $750 Civil Penalty for failure to maintain posted business hours. 

All Cars, and Rex L. Harper.  Paid a $500 civil penalty for failure to provide proof of salespersons being paid on 
a W-2. 

Dealer Ta lk  Volume 19,  Issue 110 Page 6 

cont’d on pg. 7 

Dealer Practices 



United Auto Outlet, and Ramon Hernandez, and Samir Samadov.  Paid a $4,000 civil penalty for failure to 
have liability insurance on five D-tags 

World Class Automotive Group, and Ray Price.  Paid a $2,000 civil penalty for failure to have liability insurance 
on four D-tags. 

Tesla Motors, Inc., and Cody Arnett.   Paid a $500 civil penalty for performing sales activities and test drives 
from an unlicensed location without first obtaining a temporary supplemental license. 

 

Robert D. Minnix, Salesperson.  On February 9, 2016, an informal fact-finding conference was conducted to 
address the alleged violations of material misstatement, deceptive acts and practices, and having been convicted of 
any criminal act involving the sale of an automobile. At the May Board meeting, based on the information provid-
ed at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $500 and he be required to take the Salesperson Test by 
August 9, 2016. 

David W. Hall, Country Motor Sales.  On March 10, 2016, an informal fact-finding conference was conducted 
to address the alleged violations of VA Code Sections material misstatement, having been convicted of any crimi-
nal act involving the business of selling vehicles. At the May Board meeting, based on the information provided at 
the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $250 and a satisfactory inspection by July 9, 2016. 

Edward Riley, Salesperson.  On March 21, 2016, an informal fact-finding conference was conducted to address 
the alleged violations of having material misstatements on application. At the May Board meeting, based on the 
information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $250 and denial of his salesperson 
application. 

John V. Ducote, Salesperson. On March 15, 2016, an informal fact-finding conference was conducted to address 
the alleged violations of having material misstatements on application, defrauding any buyer to the buyer’s damage, 
and having been convicted of any fraudulent act in connection of the business of selling vehicles.  At the May 
Board meeting, based on the information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a $250 civil penalty. 

Scottie L. Austin, Sales Applicant. On March 22, 2016, an informal fact-finding conference was conducted to 
address the alleged violations of having engaged in deceptive acts or practices, and having been convicted of a felo-
ny. At the May Board meeting, based on the information provided at the conference, the Board granted Mr. Aus-
tin a salesperson’s license request.  The Board also requires that Mr. Austin submit an affidavit to the board prior 
to transferring his sales license, and future employers will also submit an affidavit to the Board acknowledging their 
awareness of Mr. Austin’s felony convictions.     

Tyler A. Webb, Sales Applicant.   Paid a $250 civil penalty for material misstatement on an application, and hav-
ing been convicted of a felony, his sales license was approved. 

 
National Motors Dealer, Inc. and Amin Barek and Lida Barekzi.  On March 1, 2016, an informal fact-finding 

conference was conducted to address the alleged violations of failure to disclose the name of dealership, acts of 

officers, misleading advertising, and  failure to disclose the processing fee. At the May Board 
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Licensing 

Advertising 



meeting, based on the information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a $250 civil penalty. 

Coastline Automotive, LLC and William M. Ward.  On March 13, 2016, an informal fact-finding conference 

was conducted to address the alleged violations of failure to disclose as a dealer or VaDLR on Craigslist,  acts of 

officers, misleading advertising, and failure to disclose the processing fee. At the May Board meeting, based on the 

information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $1,250. 

Martin Riley Auto Outlet, and David MacLaury.  Paid a $250 civil penalty for advertising for adverting on 

Craigslist in the “For Sale By Owner” section instead of the Dealer section (Cars/Trucks by Dealer). 

B & B Auto Group, and Joseph Brooks.  Assessed a $750 civil penalty for failing to disclose processing fee, for 

adverting on Craigslist in the “For Sale By Owner” section instead of the Dealer section (Cars/Trucks by Dealer).  

Dealer went out of business and did not pay civil penalty; therefore the civil penalty will be placed in Debt Set-Off. 

Expressway Auto, LLC, and Daoud Anwan.  Paid a $750 civil penalty for failing to disclose processing fee, and 

advertising for adverting on Craigslist in the “For Sale By Owner” section instead of the Dealer section (Cars/

Trucks by Dealer)  . 

Radley Cadillac, and Vincent Radley.  Paid a $500 civil penalty for failing to disclose processing fee, and adver-

tising for adverting on Craigslist in the “For Sale By Owner” section instead of the Dealer section (Cars/Trucks by 

Dealer). 

 
 

NOTE:  Depending on the circumstances, all Board Actions may be appealed 

              to Circuit Court, or for an administrative hearing. 

For prior issues of Dealer Talk click HERE 
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Get Organized 

As a reminder, many dealer licens-
ing forms were revised or obsolete 
effective July 1, 2015. Both MVDB 
and DMV have been working on a 
comprehensive review of the more 
highly used dealer forms with the 
goal of making all of these available 
on our website 
www.mvdb.virginia.gov or 
www.dmvnow.com for easier use. 
Forms have been revised to reflect 
more current information MVDB 

requires for efficient processing. 
Again we strongly encourage you 
to destroy all old form versions 
and not submit to MVDB as they 
may delay processing. MVDB 
will be sending informational emails 
to dealers who submit outdated or 
obsolete forms.  These emails 
should help dealers get organized 
by  identifying and destroying their 
use and inventory of outdated 
forms. For your convenience, click 

HERE for a chart of all the Dealer 
form updates, and click HERE for 
a complete listing of forms. For 
your convenience, forms will be 
available on our agency website to 
complete and print. This is the easi-
est way to print and store only the 
inventory you need.  For more in-
formation, contact 
dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov. 

http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/newsletter/default.aspx
http://mvdb.virginia.gov/
http://www.dmvnow.com/commercial/%23dealer/forms.asp
http://mvdb.virginia.gov/forms/files/New-Revised-Dealer-Salesperson-Forms-effective-7-1-15.pdf
http://mvdb.virginia.gov/forms/default.aspx
mailto:dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov


 

 

The path to a Dealer-Operator license begins with a required two-day course of study each month at various com-
munity colleges in Virginia with the curriculum and instruction provided by VIADA. 
The course takes the attendee from establishing the dealership under local zoning and Dealer Board requirements, 
through the sales process with its multitude of forms, laws and regulations, in to a sampling of opening and operat-
ing expenses, and ending with a discussion on ethics. 
The course is open to all existing dealers and their employees.  
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Date College Contact Information 

2016 

Jun 07-08 Germanna Fredericksburg 
Registration 
540-937-2913 
www.germanna.edu/workforce 

Jun 21-22 Danville Community College 
Donna Agee 
434-797-6437 
www.dcc.vccs.edu/workforce 

Jul 12-13 Northern VA in Reston 
Clair Wynn 
703-450-2551 
www.nvcc.edu/loudoun/continuing 

Jul 26-27 Virginia Western in Daleville 
Registration 
540-966-3984 
www.virginiawestern.edu 

Aug 09-10 
Tidewater Community College 
Suffolk 

Registration 
757-822-1234 

Sep 13-14 
Lord Fairfax Community College in 

Warrenton 

Registration 

540-351-1524 

Sep 20-21 
J Sargeant Reynolds in Hen-

rico/Richmond/Parham Rd 

Sandy Jones 

804-523-2293 

Oct 11-12 Northern Virginia in Reston 
Claire Wynn 

703-450-2551 

Nov 01-02 
Blue Ridge Community College in 

Weyers Cave 

Registration 

540-453-2215 

http://www.viada.org
http://www.germanna.edu/workforce
http://www.dcc.vccs.edu/workforce
http://www.nvcc.edu/loudoun/continuing
http://www.virginiawestern.edu/
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Auction Sales in 2015 
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What’s Wrong With This Picture? 

§46.2-1533 states in part that each motor vehicle 

dealer shall be open for business a minimum of 
20 hours per week, at least 10 of which shall be 
between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. 
Monday through Friday. 
Since this dealership is only open for business 10 
hours per week total, this dealership is not in 
compliance with the 20 hour per week minimum 
hours requirement. 

in 2015, up from $9,368. 
“The survey results show the 
strength and depth of a mature in-
dustry that has demonstrated its resil-
iency,” said NAAA CEO Frank 
Hackett in a statement. 
Here’s a breakdown of where the 
vehicles sold at NAAA member auc-
tions came from. 
• Dealer consignment vehicles: 57.1 
percent, down from 58.2 percent in 
2014. 
• Finance and fleet (lease, fleet, re-
possessions): 35.1 percent, down 
from 35.3 percent in 2014. 
• Manufacturer (factory) vehicles: 6.9 
percent, up from 5.8 percent in 2014. 
• Other: 0.9 percent, up from 0.7 
percent in 2014. 
CliftonLarsonAllen of Arlington, 
Va., conducted the survey, which had 
responses from 255 of the 334 
NAAA North American member 
auctions.  Source:  NAAA 

Last year was a robust one for the 
auto-auction business, both in vehi-
cles sold and prices paid. 
National Auto Auction Association 
member auctions sold 9.3 million 
vehicles in 2015, up 6.5 percent 
from 2014, the association’s lat-
est annual survey found. It was the 
fourth straight year of increase, fol-
lowing four years of declines. 
Prices paid for those sold vehicles 
totaled $90.6 billion in 2015, up 10.8 
percent from 2014’s $81.8 billion. 
The 2015 total topped the prereces-
sion record of $90.5 billion set in 
2007. 
A total of 16.6 million vehicles were 
offered to buyers at NAAA member 
auctions, up 5.7 percent, and 55.9 
percent of those were sold, up from 
55.5 percent in 2014. 
NAAA member auctions saw the 
average price per vehicle increase 
from 2014, albeit slightly, to $9,748 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-1533
http://www.naaa.com/pages/resources/pdfs/industry_reports/2015_NAAASurveyResults.pdf


MVDB Mission Statement 

The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will 

administer sections of  the Common-

wealth’s Motor Vehicle Dealer Laws 

and regulations as charged; while 

providing a high level of  customer ser-

vice for the automotive consumer and 

dealer community. 

MVDB 

2201 W. Broad Street 

Suite 104 

Richmond, VA  23220 

Visit us on the Web! 

www.mvdb.virginia.gov 

Owen Ford Gives Gift of  Car 

Phone: 804-367-1100 

Fax: 804-367-1053 

E-mail: dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov 

Editor:  Ann Majors 

DISCLAIMER:  We make every effort to ensure 
information in Dealer Talk is accurate, but it is 
not a substitute for legal advice. 

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD 
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Trenika Stringfield’s road to recovery became a little easier to 
navigate.  The Waverly woman who lost her 2 year old son, her 
boyfriend, her brother, and most of her material possessions, 
when a tornado hit her mobile home in February, went to Jar-
ratt thinking she was going to meet a man about a free laptop. 
She got a free car instead. 
A group which included Stringfield’s father, leaders of a local 
civic organization, Owen Ford in Jarratt, VA, and the husband 
of state Del. Roslyn C. Tyler, D-Sussex, got together and or-
chestrated the gift.  The Buick, a low-mile recent trade-in, was a 
gift from Alton Owen and his sister Ann Dix, who co-own 
Owen Ford, the dealership their father opened 52 years ago.  
The car came with a year’s worth of service, another gift from 
Owen Ford, and six months’ worth of insurance, a gift from 
Antioch Baptist Church in Emporia.  “You won’t have any-
thing to worry about for a year,” Alton Owen said. “You just 
need to study and get your degree.”  The car allows Stringfield, 
30, to get to John Tyler Community College, where she is a 
nursing student.  Source, Richmond Times Dispatch. 

http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov

