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Print On Demand Reminders

The following reminders
provide important infor-
mation impacting dealer
transactions.

Effective July 1, 2013, the
PoD tags on bond paper
and plastic sleeves were no
longer authorized for use.
All PoD temporary tags
must be printed on the
weather resistant paper
supplied by the Depart-
ment of Motor Vehicles,
Dealer Services work
centet.

The PoD tags are not
authorized to be
emailed to customers.
All vehicles must be ti-

tled within 30 days of
purchase to ensure that
titling tax is paid to the
Virginia Department of
Motor Vehicles as re-
quired by law.

It is important to note that
continued use of the plas-
tic sleeves and bond paper
may result in the loss of
your privileges to partici-
pate in the PoD program.
Also, law enforcement
may ticket vehicle owners
displaying the bond paper
and plastic sleeves for ille-
gal use of license plates.
Otders for the PoD paper
will be accepted through

the Dealer Services Work
Center. To place an order,
send an email to:
podtemptag@dmv.virginia
.gov with the following
information: dealer name,
dealer number, shipping
address, order quantity,
tag size(s) (standard/
small), and printer make/
model number. Approved
order requests will be
shipped within five busi-
ness days. Standard tags
will be issued in packs of
100 and small tags
(motorcycle/trailer) in
packs of 25.

Business Hours

Virginia Code §46.2-
1533, states in part that
“Each motor vehicle deal-
er shall be open for busi-
ness a minimum of twen-
ty hours per week, at least
ten of which shall be be-
tween the hours of 9:00
a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Mon-
day through Friday. The
dealer’s hours shall be
posted and maintained

conspicuously on or near
the main entrance of each
place of business. Each
dealer shall include his
business hours on the
original (MVDB-10) and
every renewal application
for license (MVDB-10),
and changes to these
hours shall be immediate-
ly filed with the Depart-
ment.” To further clarify

these requirements, the
Board is offering a few
helpftul tips. If you need
to close for a portion of
the day (less than 2 hours)
during your normal post-
ed business hours, (for
lunch, go to the bank,
etc.) please posta MVDB
40 temporary closing no-
tice, (click on the under-
lined text) to let custom-

cont._on pg. 2


mailto:podtemptag@dmv.virginia.gov
mailto:podtemptag@dmv.virginia.gov
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/forms/files/MVDB-40.pdf
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/forms/files/MVDB-40.pdf
mailto:dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov

Volume 18, Issue 106

Dealer Talk Page 2

S /_—:.\V I(;’ | B
=7 == =23 =22
5 Zo 30 1
| — .
Upcoming EVENTS
BOARD MEETINGS

All Meetings are held at DMV Headquarters
2300 W. Broad Street, Room 702 Richmond, VA
Monday, November 9, 2015

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Dealer Practices Committee Meeting
Monday, November 9, 2015

Time: Immediately following Dealer Practices
Licensing Committee Meeting

Monday, November 9, 2015

Time: Immediately following Licensing
Adpvertising Committee Meeting

Monday, November 9, 2015

Time: Immediately following Advertising

Transaction Recovery Fund Committee Meeting

Monday, November 9, 2015
Time: 10:00 a.m.
Full Board Meeting

NOTE: Meetings may begin later, but not eatlier
than scheduled.

Holiday Hours

CLOSED:
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October 12, Columbus Day
November 11, Veterans Day
November 26-27, Thanksgiving

. Business Hours

ers know the time you left, and the time you will return. If you are
closing for the full day during your normal posted business hours,
you must notify the Board by sending an email or fax, or mail. Be
sure to include your dealer number, and name of your dealership.
MVDB has a system to “count” the number of days a Dealer re-
quests full day closures. Our system allows for twenty (20) posted
business day closures per year, resetting annually on your renewal
month. For example, if your posted business hours are Thursday
through Sunday, and you email your notice of temporary closure
for a 2 week vacation; those 8 days will be deducted from your
annual 20 allowed closure days. If Dealers request more than 20
closure dates annually, those requests will be evaluated on a case
by case basis. If the day you need to close lands on a State holiday,
you do not need to notify the Board, and State closure days are
listed in our Dealer Talk newsletter. To notify the Board of your
closure, please email dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov, be sure to in-
clude your dealership name, license numbert, and the dates
you will be closed.

Reminders...

Attention Motorcycle, RV, and motor vehicle dealers.
Virginia law § 46.2-1547, requires that each dealer
license plate issued to you have liability insurance.
As patt of our routine visits/inspections of dealerships,
our field representatives verify through your insurer that
all dealer plates are insured. We have discovered that
many dealers are under insured. That is, the number of
dealer plates insured is less than the number of dealer
plates issued to the dealership. We urge you to verify

with your insurance agent that the number of dealer
plates noted/listed on your policy is the same as the
number of plates issued to you by the Motor Vehicle
Dealer Board. For example if you have 2 ID plates, 2
FM plates, 2 FT plates, and 2 IN plates, your policy
needs to state 6 plates are insured (the trailer plates are
exempt.)

back 1o pa. 1
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%MV, . PERMISSION FOR USE OF DEALER'S LICENSE PLATES "

)

Purpose: Motor vehicle dealers issus this form o a customer or Dealer Autharized Individual as authorization o use dealer's
license plates for a specified period of time and purpose.

Instrucions:  Ses instructions on reverse for details.

ASSIGNED OPERATOR INFORMATION

FULL LEGAL NANE (as]) ) {midde) e
STREET ADORESS Enj STATE |2IP CODE

EWAIL ADORESS

TELEPHCNE NUMBER [CELL PHONE NUVEER
( ) ( )

|ASSIGNED OPERATOR fcheck one - form s Invalkd I mors than ene box s checked)
[[] ProsPECTIVE PURCHASER [T] CUSTOMER WHOSE VEHICLE 15 IN DEALER'S SHOP FOR REPAIRS

VEHICLE INFORMATION ‘
VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUNBER (VIN) ‘\:EHICLE\’EAR ‘VEHICLE MAKE |VEHCLE MCDEL ‘
PLATE INFORMATION
DATE ISSUED Vo) TIME ISSUED DATE EXPIRES Ll  TIME EXPIRES DEALER PLATE NUMBER
(mmoayyyY) ‘ D‘-"‘DW| ImmOyYYY) | DWDW‘

DEALER CERTIFICATION
Toertfy it e above referanced dealer Flafe 5 approved 1o be used for e e period ndicated abave 1 aceordance wilh Vrgina Law. | Arher cerify and
affm that al information presnedn tis form is rue and corree, that any documents | have presented to DMV are genuine, and that the information included in
l supperting documentaton fs tue and scaurate. | make tis ossifcation and : understand ingly making 3
&l fisomisa .

[T] DEALER AUTHORIZED INDVIDUAL

DEALERSHIF NAME (pint) DEALER CERTIFICATE NUMBER.

DEALERSHIP REFRESENTATIVE NANE (print) [DEALEREHIP REPRESENTATIVE SIGNATURE DATE (mmiadiyyyy)

Instructions: (back of form)
Permission for use of a Dealer's License Plates is valid for up to 24 hours or up to 5 days basad on the following:
Up to 24 hours anly - The assigned operator is authorized to use the dealer’s plates for up to 24 hours only because the
operator is a Dealer Authorized Individual who is to drive the vehicle tofrom point of sale, auction, dealer exchange, or 3

repair facility for mechanical repairs, painting, or installation of parts or accassories.

Upto 5 days only - The assigned operator is authorized to use the dealer's plates for up to 5 days because the operator is
a prospective purchaser or the operator's vehicle is in the dealer's shop for repairs.

Note to Dealer:
No mere than 2 permissians may be grantad by 3 desler to the same person for successive periods, unless issued to.a
Dealer Authorizad Individual.

Dealer completes form and makes a copy. Dealer issues ariginal to assigned operator. Assigned operstor must
carmy the form in the vehicle at alltmes when the vehicie is being operated on public highways. The Dealer retains
the copy for & years,

Dealer retained form copies are subject to inspecion by law enforcement and autherized representatives of the
Department of Motor Vehicles or the Motor Vehicie Dealer Board.

Reminders...

As of January 1, 2011, ALL IDO’s of
independent dealerships must at some point
in time, recertify their IDO qualification
every three years by either taking an online
course, or in a classroom, or by passing a
DMV test. Click

information and

for motre

to determine your
recertification deadline. Please note that dual
licensed Franchise dealers are exempt from
recertification. If you are unclear on your
recertification deadline, or any other

recertification questions, please contact the
Board. Or, call Ann Majors at the MVDB.
She may be reached at 804-367-1100 x 3016,
or email her at

ann.majots

Dealer Talk
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Revised DSD-27

Effective August 25, 2015, the DSD-27 is revised. The
purpose of the DSD-27 form is issued by motor vehicle
dealers to a customer, or “Dealer Authorized Individual”
as authorization to use dealer’s license plates (D-tags) for
a specified period of time and purpose.

Permission for use of a Dealet's License Plates (D-tag) is

valid for up to 24 hours or up to 5 days based on the fol-

lowing:

Up to 24 hours only - The assigned operator is author-

ized to use a dealer plate for up to 24 hours as a “Dealer

Authorized Individual” who is driving the vehicle to/

from point of sale, auction, dealer exchange, or a repair

facility for mechanical repairs, painting, or installation of
parts or accessoties.

Up to 5 days only - The assigned operator is authorized

to use a dealer plate for up to 5 days because the operator

is a prospective putrchaser or the operatot's vehicle is in
the dealet's shop for repairs.

Note to Dealer: No more than 2 DSD-27’s may be is-

sued by a dealer to the same person for successive peri-

ods, unless issued to a “Dealer Authorized Individual”.

Instructions for use:

1. Dealer completes form and makes a copy.

2. Dealer issues original to assigned operator.

3. Assigned operator must carry the form in the vehicle
at all times when the vehicle is being operated on pub-
lic highways.

4. 'The Dealer retains the copy for 5 years.

Dealer retained copies of DSD-27’s are subject to inspec-

tion by law enforcement and authorized representatives of

the Department of Motor Vehicles or the Motor Vehicle

Dealer Board.

This revision changed the form name from Permit to Use

Dealer’s License Plates to “Permission For Use of Dealer’s

License Plates”, added header for “Assigned Operator Infor-

mation” to be consistent with DSD 27A, and changed

“Permit Information” section to “Plate Information”.

Please destroy all old form stock, and download or ot-

der the new form, and for more information, please con-

tact Dealer Services at dealerservices@dmv.virginia.gov

back 1o pg. 1
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Board Actions

Dealer Practices

Elite Auto Group, Inc. and Ayman Jamil Awadallah. This dealership was opened in 2002 and around 2008
problems began to develop. In November of 2008, the Board assessed a $5,000 civil penalty on this dealership,
required a satisfactory inspection, and pass the D-O course for record keeping problems; misuse of dealer tags;
and having been convicted of a criminal act related to the dealer industry. In the intervening years, the dealer has
had at least six failed inspections to include unlicensed salespersons and selling from an unlicensed location. Rec-
ords show that five individuals associated with this dealership have created a total of 59 DMV customer numbers
and 30 addresses for the purposes of printing 30 day tags. In a 12 month period, this dealership printed 477, 30-
day tags and had 144 sales during the same time period. On June 9, 2015, an informal fact-finding conference was
conducted to address the alleged violations of VA Code for licenses required, established place of business, dealer
records, failure to have a proper sign, failure to inspect vehicle prior to retail sale, failure to provide title within 30
days, failure to provide proof of liability insurance on D-tags, misuse of D-tags, acts of officers and salespersons,
material misstatement when applying for PoD tags, and failure to comply with a written warning or willful failure
to comply. Based on the information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $9,000, re-
quire quarterly inspections of the dealership for the next 12 months and the dealer must pay the costs of these in-
spections, and successful completion of the Dealer-Operator course.

Nova Motorcars and Hussein Zein. Two failed inspections related to record keeping, issuance of multiple sets
of PoD tags, and three consumer complaints related to not receiving titles in a timely manner resulted in the
Board staff convening an informal fact-finding conference on July 15, 2015 to address the alleged violations of
VA Code for failure to have records available for inspection, dealer records, failure to maintain business hours,
inspection of vehicles required, failure to provide title within 30 days, material misstatement when applying for
PoD-tags, failure to comply with previous warnings, and failure to pay fees to DMV within 30 days. Based on the
information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $4,750, require a satisfactory inspec-
tion of all dealer records, and successful completion of the 2-day dealer-operator course.

Dixie Auto Sales and Carolyn Slate. Recent inspections of this dealership revealed record keeping problems;
salespersons not employees of the dealership; and misuse of dealer tags. On May 13, 2015, an informal fact-
finding conference was conducted to address the alleged violations of VA Code for failure to properly maintain
dealer records, failure to provide proof of W-2, misuse of D-tags, acts of officers and salespersons, and failure to
comply with previous warnings. Ms. Slate did provide some evidence at the conference that addressed some of
the record keeping deficiencies. Based on the information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil
penalty of $1,000, and require successful completion of the 2-day Dealer-Operator course.

USA Auto, Inc. and Faramarz Abrarahadi. Complaints from two different customers lead to two misdemean-
or convictions on this dealer. The convictions coupled with the fact he did not reveal these convictions on
MVDB applications resulted in the Board staff convening an informal fact-finding conference on August 11, 2015
to address the alleged violations of VA Code for possession of a title issued to another, dealer records, misuse of
temporary tag, having made material misstatements on application, and having been convicted of any criminal act
involving the business of selling vehicles. At the conference. Mr. Abrarahadi stated he did not realize the convic-
tions were “criminal”. Based on the information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of
$750, require a satisfactory inspection, and successfully complete the Dealer-Operator course, if the course is not
completed before December 31, 2015, an additional $300 civil penalty will be applied.

cont’d on pg. 5
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Board Actions

Nash Auto Sales and Rolando Nash. This dealer was the object of at least three failed inspections because of
record keeping deficiencies and records not being available for inspection as well as questions concerning buyer’s
orders, no proof of safety inspection and an unlicensed individual participating in the sale of motor vehicles. The
Board received four consumer complaints in just over a year related to titles not being issued and multiple sets of
temporary tags issued. These factors caused the Board staff to convene an informal fact-finding conference on
August 18, 2015 to address the alleged violations of VA Code for dealer records, failure to provide proof of W-2,
inspection of vehicles required, failure to provide title within 30 days, failure to provide proof of liability insurance
on D-tags, misuse of D-tags, acts of officers and salespersons, material misstatements failure to comply with previ-
ous warnings, deceptive acts and practices, open titles, and failure to pay fees to DMV within 30 days. Based on
the information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $10,000 and revocation of all li-
censes and certificates.

Falls Church Autos, LLC and Mohri Khanzada. This dealership took over the location previously occupied by
Discovery Motors. Misters Khanzada, Khurshid and Nelson appear to be involved in both of these dealerships
with Mrs. (Mohti) Khanzada being inserted as the dealer/owner of Falls Church Auto. Inspections and consumer
complaints revealed a number of problems, most notably the apparent abuse of the issuance of PoD tags. Includ-
ing issuance of PoD tags by Discovery Motors after it had closed. On July 14, 2015, an informal fact-finding con-
ference was conducted to address the alleged violations of VA Code for licenses required, display of license, dealer
records, signs, safety inspection required, temporary registration, records kept by dealer, acts of officers and sales-
persons, material misstatement, and deceptive acts or practices. Based on the information provided at the confer-
ence, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $16,500 and revocation of all licenses and qualifications.

American Auto Group, and Ahmed S. Sharzai. Paid a $5,000 civil penalty for failure to have liability insurance
on all D-tags.

American Auto Maxx, and Said Sadat. Paid a $1,000 civil penalty for failure to have liability insurance on all D-
tags.

First Team Toyota, and George R. Pelton. Paid a $500 civil penalty for unlicensed salesperson.
Country Auto Sales, Inc., and J. B. McReynolds. Paid a $250 civil penalty for misuse of D-tags.

Affordable Motors, LLC, and Patrick Verdi. Paid a $1,750 civil penalty for salespersons not paid on a W-2, and
failure to insure all D-tags.

B & B Auto Group, and Joseph Brooks. Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain business hours.

North End Motors, LLC, and Hassan El Ali. Suspended due to failure to pay a $250 civil penalty for not
maintaining business hours.

Auto City, and Tremayne Jernigan. Suspended for failing to pay civil penalties for not maintaining business
hours, failure to comply with previous warnings, and failing to pay a previous civil penalty for misuse of D-tags.

Easter’s Inc., and Bobby W. Easter. Paid a $250 civil penalty for not maintaining business hours, and failure to

comply with previous warnings.
cont’d on pg. 6
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Advantage-Harman Auto Group, and Kenneth A. Davis. Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain busi-
ness hours, and failure to comply with previous warnings.

Licensing

Anthony E. Williamson, Salesperson. Mr. Williamson structured the sale of a motor vehicle to a loyal customer
so as to reduce the amount of tax owed by the customer. As a result, Mr. Williamson was convicted for a misde-
meanor for “assist another to evade taxes”. On September 1, 2015, an informal fact-finding conference was con-
ducted to address the alleged violations of VA Code deceptive acts and practices, and having been convicted of
any criminal act involving the business of selling vehicles. Based on the information provided at the conference,
the Board assessed a civil penalty of $500

Stephen C. Fitch, I1. Paid a $2,000 civil penalty for failure to comply with previous agreements with the Board
regarding notification previsions, and having been convicted of a felony.

Advertising

Lindsay Chevrolet, and Christopher Lindsay. Paid a $6,000 civil penalty for “bait” advertising; failure to clear-
ly and conspicuously state terms, conditions, and disclaimers; misleading and deceptive advertising of prices not
available to everyone; and failure to comply with previous warnings.

NOTE: Depending on the circumstances, all Board Actions may be appealed
To Circuit Court, or for an administrative hearing.
For prior issues of Dealer Talk click HERE

back to pg. 1

Advertising Regulations

The Virginia Motor Vehicle Dealer
Laws includes a section related to
advertising. The Advertising Regu-
lations adopted by the Board and
last revised in 1998 provide details
as to the enforcement of the

Laws. In May of 2013, the Board
formed an advisory panel to review
the Regulations. Two public hear-
ings were held to receive input from
the public and dealers.

The review process resulted in sev-
eral edits being made to the Regula-
tions to include deleting from the
Regulations, restatement of por-
tions of the Law, and updating ad-

vertising definitions.

The current Regulations require
dealers to retain copies of all their
advertisements for a period of 60
days. The proposed regulations
state that only television and radio
advertisements must be retained for
00 days. In its review of the regula-
tions, the advisory panel and the
Board concluded that retaining in-
ternet advertisements for 60 days is
a burden. Experience has shown
that consumers and Dealer Board
Staff print internet advertisements
that are questionable. For print ad-
vertisements, staff will either have a

copy or the consumer will provide
it. Itis not likely that the Board staff
or consumers will be able to make a
“copy” of a questionable radio or
television advertisement. Therefore
the proposed regulations only re-
quire dealers to retain TV and radio
advertisements.

The proposed regulations may be
viewed by clicking HERE. You
may provide your comments to the
proposed regulations through No-
vember 4, 2015. If there are no sig-
nificant comments (objections) sub-
mitted, the revised Regulations will
be effective on December 1, 2015.
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Volvo to Upgrade Truck Plant

DUBLIN - Governor Terry
McAuliffe recently announced that
the Volvo Group will invest $38.1
million at the New River Valley
(NRYV) assembly facility in Pulaski
County, where all Volvo Trucks
models for North America are as-
sembled. The investment will allow
Volvo to make several plant up-
grades and build a 36,000-square-
foot Volvo Trucks Customer Expe-
rience Center on the NRV grounds.
In addition to the investment, Volvo
will add 32 new jobs at NRV.
Speaking about the announcement,
Governor McAuliffe said,
“Growing the advanced manufactur-
ing industry is a key part of our ef-
forts to create jobs, diversify and
build a new Virginia economy. This
is the largest Volvo truck manufac-
turing facility in the world, and we
are pleased that the Volvo Group
chose Virginia for this significant
expansion that will ensure its success
and longevity in Pulaski County for
years to come.”

“This announcement is a testament
to the great workforce and best-in-
class business environment in Pu-
laski County and the Common-
wealth,” said Secretary of Com-
merce and Trade Maurice Jones.
“The advanced manufacturing in-
dustry in Virginia continues to gain
momentum, and we are proud that
Volvo is a leader in this key sector.”
“Volvo’s investment in the NRV
facility and in the development of a
Customer Experience Center is evi-
dence of our commitment to our
employees and the Pulaski County
community,” said Goran Nyberg,
president of Volvo Trucks North
America. “Our competitive ad-
vantage stems from our innovative

products and services, and also
from our dedicated employees.”
“The Pulaski County Board of Su-
pervisors and County staff are
pleased to have assisted Volvo with
this effort,” said Joe Sheffey,
Chairman, Pulaski County Board
of Supervisors. “We are extremely
proud of what Volvo has accom-
plished over the past 40

years. Volvo continues to be a lead-
er in the local economy, in our qual-
ity of life and in the environmental
care for the community we call
home.”

“This is fantastic news for Pulaski
County and the New River Valley,”
said Delegate Nick Rush. “Volvo

Trucks is one of the best manufac-
turers in the world, and their com-
mitment to the New River Valley is
a testament to the hard work of its
employees and the County’s contin-
ued efforts to bring good-paying
jobs to our community.”

“The Volvo Group has been a valu-
able community partner in Pulaski
County and the New River Valley
Region,” said Senator Ben Chafin.
“It is great to see Volvo continuing
to invest in Virginia. These new jobs
are a positive step forward in build-
ing a stronger economy in South-
west Virginia.”

Reminders...

Many dealers find themselves in violation of 46.2-1529, failure
to have dealer records. Below is a short list of the type of
records the MVDB requires of motor vehicle, motorcycle, RV,
and trailer dealers to have available for inspection. This is not a
complete list, but is a great starting point for dealers.

Record of Dealer’s Vehicle Inventory, or copies of titles

front and back - no open titles

Record of Use for Metal Dealer Tags: DSD-27’s and D-tag

usage log

Record and proof of liability insurance coverage for each

issued dealer plate

Record of Temporary Tags, customer registrations, and

Transport tags

Personnel Time Sheets and W-2 Forms for all salespersons/

employees

Compliant Buyers Order, and buyers guides

Record of valid state safety inspections prior to retail sale
Odometer Statement — if applicable

Proper signage, posted licenses, salespersons, hours, and

processing fee
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IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PROSPECTIVE DEALERS

The path to a Dealer-Operator license begins with a required two-day course of study each month at various com-
munity colleges in Virginia with the curriculum and instruction provided by VIADA.

The course takes the attendee from establishing the dealership under local zoning and Dealer Board requirements,
through the sales process with its multitude of forms, laws and regulations, in to a sampling of opening and operat-
ing expenses, and ending with a discussion on ethics. The course is open to all existing dealers and their employ-
ees. The course offers 1.6 continuing education credits transferable to any college.

Date College Contact Information
2015
Claire Wynn
Oct 13-14 Northern Virginia in Reston 703-450-2551

www.nvcc.edu/loudoun/continuing

Registration
Nov 03-04 Blue Ridge in Weyers Cave 540-453-2215
www.brcc.edu

Shayna Lutkewitte
Nov 17-18 Germanna in Fredericksburg 540-937-2913
www.germanna.edu/workforce

Registration
Dec 08-09 Lord Fairfax in Middletown 540-868-7021
www.lfccworkforce.com

DID YOU KNOW ?7?

MVDB staff Val Rodriguez is pictured here as a volunteer for the UCI Road World Championships that was
held in Richmond, in September. Richmond 2015, the organizer of the 2015 Union Cyclist Internationale (UCI)
Road World Championships, partnered with Lexus as the “Official Automobile of the 2015 UCI Road World
Championships” Lexus provided nearly 100 vehicles to be used by the race caravan, cycling teams and race offi-
cials. Working with Lexus, MVDB issued 95 Dealer’s promotional license plates

UCI ROAD WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS

RICHMOND 2015 | U
VIRGINIA IS FOR LOERS
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Open Title and Odometer Disclosure

It is important for dealers to make
sure the titles in their possession are
not “open”.

The following is a simple way to en-
sure compliance with open titles,
and odometer disclosure require-
ments.

1. PREVIOUS OWNER—The pre-
vious owner of the vehicle fills out
Section A of the Certificate of Title,
“Assignment of Title by Owner,”
and gives the title to the dealer.
Dealer completes section A, verify-
ing odometer reading.

2. FIRST DEALER TO ASSUME
OWNERSHIP—The first dealer to
assume ownership of the vehicle fills
out Section B on the reverse of the
Certificate of Title, “Re-Assignment
of Title by Dealer,” and gives the
title to the dealer who has purchased
the vehicle from him. That dealer
completes section B at this time,

verifying odometer reading.

3. SECOND AND ALL OTHER
DEALERS TO ASSUME OWN-
ERSHIP—Each successive dealer
to assume ownership of the vehicle
completes the first unused
(numbered) section of the title or, if
filled, the VAD-20, “Re-Assignment
of Title by Virginia Motor Vehicle
Dealer, “and gives this form, along
with the title to the dealer who has
purchased the vehicle. (If all three
reassignment sections on the VAD-
20 are used, the dealer must obtain a
title in his name.

All papers pertaining to re-
assignment of title must be kept to-
gether and given to the next pur-
chaser.)

If the title was unavailable at the
time the VAD-20 was executed and
when the title arrives, the re-
assignment portion is blank, enter

the number of the VAD-20 and a
note to see the attached VAD-20 in
the reassignment area of the title
(Section B).

When the dealer does not complete
the re-assighment area of the title,
and does not assign the title to their
dealership, the dealer is in posses-
sion of an “open title”, and legally
does not have ownership of the ve-
hicle. If the dealer possesses “open
titles”, then these “open title” vehi-
cles are not in the dealer’s inventory.
As a reminder, ALL title work is
done through DMV. In addition, if
you do not possess the title at the
time of retail sale, be sure to use an
odometer disclosure statement, and
keep a copy as part of the sale docu-
ments.

What’s

5”3

Wrong With This Picture?

After an investigation, this
ended up to be a violation

of § 46.2-1550, misuse of D
-tag, and § 46.2-1542 failure

to provide title within 30
days.
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http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa5.pdf
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1550/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1542/

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD

MV'DB

2201 W. Broad Street
Suite 104

Richmond, VA 23220

Phone: 804-367-1100
Fax: §04-367-1053
E-mail: dboard@mnwdb.virginia.gov

MVDB Mission Statement
The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will

administer sections of the Common-
wealth’s Motor Vehicle Dealer Laws
and regulations as charged; while

Editor: Ann Majors

Visit us on the Web!

www.mvdb.virginia.gov

DISCLAIMER: We make every effort to ensure information in
Dealer Talk is accurate, but it is not a substitute for legal advice.

-MVDB

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

providing a high level of customer ser-
vice for the automotive consumer and
dealer community.

NSRS JON O o o

Page 10 Dealer Talk Volume 18, Issue 106

Center for Automotive Research

Nationwide, in 2014, there were 16,396 new car dealership rooftops in oper-
ation. These new car dealership’s total dealership revenues in the United
States were $8006 billion, with 57.6% of those revenues associated with new
vehicles, 31% with used vehicles, and 11.4% with service and parts. The av-
erage pretax profit of a dealership was more than §1 million (2.2% of sales)
and all three areas (new vehicles, used vehicles, and service and parts) were
profitable. Since 2012, the overall number of dealerships has been expand-
ing, albeit slowly. CAR (Center for Automotive Research) produces an an-
nual vehicle sales forecast based on an econometric analysis of key variables

CENTER FOR AUTOMOTIVE RESEARCH

I of automotive demand. From 2013 to 2018, sales are forecast to increase by
The Center for Automotive Research conducts leading-edge . .
research that impacts the future of the global automotive ndustry. approximately 10.3 percent. In 2014 the average age of vehicles on the road
(AR forecasts industry trends, advises on public policy, and PR . .
sponsors multi-stakeholder communication forums. was 114, and it is ptO]ected to increase to 11.7 by 2019.

New dealer economic contribution in Virginia shows that in 2014 new deal-
ers employed 58,147 individuals, and on average, these individuals paid $593
dollars in federal, state, and local income tax. Corporate income taxes and
fees paid by Virginia new car dealers in 2013 was $23,803,560.

Click HERE for the entire article from Center for Automotive Research
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