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Dealer Talk 

Virginia began using print 
on demand (PoD) tech-
nology for temporary tags 
in December 2009. Since 
that time DMV has en-
hanced the PoD tempo-
rary tag program to in-
clude modifications to the 
original and the extension 
transactions for 30-day 
temporary tags and the 
issuance of 5-day tempo-
rary transport tags.  All 
dealers who wish to issue 
the temporary tags are re-
quired to contract with 
one of the approved ven-
dors. For a list of PoD 
vendors, visit 
www.dmvNOW.com.   

place an order for the 
weather resistant paper, 
email the Dealer Services 
Work Center at 
podtemptag@dmv.virginia
.gov.  Approved order re-
quests will be shipped 
within five business days.  

The 30-day temporary tag 
may be used for in-state 
and out of state custom-
ers. Dealers should enter 
customer’s information as 
it appears on the govern-
ment issued ID (driver’s 
license/id card).   DMV 
stores the vehicle infor-
mation and the temporary 
tag’s expiration date in its 
records.  The system 

DMV News 

At the September 12, 
2016 Board meeting, the 
Board requested that we 
remind dealers about re-
bate advertising regula-
tions, and disclosures re-
garding rebate advertising. 
The following are a listing 
of the related Virginia 
laws applicable to rebate 
advertising enforcement, 
and are listed as follows: 

§ 46.2-1581.4. Terms, 
conditions, and disclaim-
ers shall be stated clearly 
and conspicuously. An 
asterisk or other reference 
symbol may be used to 
point to a disclaimer or 
other information, but 
shall not be used as a 
means of contradicting or 
changing the meaning of 
an advertised statement.  

§ 46.2-1581.8. states “ . . . 
the advertised price or 
credit terms shall include 
all charges which the buy-
er must pay to the seller, 
except buyer-selected op-
tions, state and local fees 
and taxes, and manufac-
turer's or distributor's 
freight or destination 
charges, and a processing 
fee, if any. If a processing 
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The following reminders 
provide important infor-
mation impacting the use 
of the PoD tag. 

The PoD tag must be 
printed on the synthetic 
weather resistant paper 
and it requires the use of a 
laser printer.  The laser 
printer must use toner, 
not ink cartridges.  To en-
sure the quality of the 
temporary tags, we will 
only supply the weather 
resistant paper to PoD 
participants with the ap-
propriate laser printer. 
The PoD paper is availa-
ble in passenger and mo-
torcycle plate sizes.To 

Cont. on pg. 8 
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BOARD MEETINGS 

All Meetings are held at DMV Headquarters 

2300 W. Broad Street, Room 702  Richmond, VA 

Monday, November 14, 2016 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Dealer Practices Committee Meeting 

Monday, November 14, 2016 

Time:  Immediately following Dealer Practices 

Licensing Committee Meeting 

Monday, November 14, 2016 

Time:  Immediately following Licensing 

Advertising Committee Meeting 

Monday, November 14, 2016 

Time: Immediately following Advertising 

Transaction Recovery Fund Committee Meeting 

Monday, November 14, 2016 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Full Board Meeting 

NOTE:  Meetings may begin later, but not earlier than 

scheduled.  

MVDBMVDB  will be closedwill be closed  
 

 

 

CLOSED: 

Monday, October 10, 2016, Columbus Day 

Friday, November 11, 2016, Veterans Day 

Wednesday, November 23, 2016, at 12:00 p.m. 

Thursday, November 24, 2016, Thanksgiving 

Friday, November 25, 2016, Thanksgiving 
Cont. on pg. 3 

fee or freight or destination charges are not included in the 
advertised price, the amount of any such processing fee and 
freight or destination charge must be (i) clearly and conspicu-
ously disclosed in not less than eight-point boldface type . . .” 

§ 46.2-1575. 6. Having used deceptive acts or practices; 

§ 46.2-1575. 7. Knowingly advertising by any means any as-
sertion, representation, or statement of fact which is untrue, 
misleading, or deceptive in any particular relating to the con-
duct of the business licensed or registered or for which a li-
cense or registration is sought. 
 24 VAC 22-30-20. Definitions. 
"Disclaimer" means those words or phrases used to provide a 
clear understanding or limitation to an advertised statement 
but not used to contradict or change the meaning of the 
statement. 
Board staff operates under the guidelines that the advertised 
price of a vehicle is the price that is available to all customers.  
Furthermore, all rebates must be clearly and conspicuously 
named.  We recommend the following format for advertising 
rebates, incentives and discounts that are not available to all: 

*Discount includes $1,000 Acme Rebate for qualified buyers 
who finance through Acme financing and $500 Jones Motors 
discount. 
**To qualify for $500 military rebate, you or your spouse 
must be an active military member or have received an hon-
orable discharge within the last 2 years.  To qualify for Col-
lege Grad Rebate, you or your spouse must have graduated 
from an accredited two or  four year college within the last 2 
years. 
***Price does not include $399 processing fee; $900 freight, 
taxes and registration fees. 
 
In the above example, if the manufacturer offered a rebate of 
$750 in lieu of the $1,000 finance rebate, currently used in the 

Year, Make, Model Jones Motors  

MSRP:          $25,000 

  

Discounts:         $  1,500* 

Military Rebate: $     500** 

College Grad     $     500** 

  

Jones Motors Price $22,500*** 

Cont. from pg. 1 
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discount, you would not be able to 
list both rebates, since they are mu-
tually exclusive. 
Adding a “disclaimer” that requires 
consumers to determine what incen-
tives and rebates they qualify for, 
does not “fix” the fact that the ad-
vertised price does not readily apply 
to everyone. 
 When advertising a price of a vehi-
cle (Including on the Dealer’s WEB 
site.) the advertised price must be 
based on rebates/incentives that are 
available to ALL purchasers, or it 
must be clear and conspicuous to the 
reader which rebates, incentives and 
discounts would apply in their pur-
chase.  
If you advertise a price, and purchas-
ers must meet specific criteria to get 
those discounts, the conditions re-
quired to receive those discounts 
must be clear and conspicu-
ous.  Merely listing the rebates/
incentives/discounts in a disclaimer 
or stating something to the effect 
that “not everyone will qualify for 
the advertised price” is not ade-
quate.  If the advertised price only 
includes rebates/incentives/
discounts that are available to every-
one; all you must do is list the re-
bates/incentives/discounts in your 
disclaimer. 
In addition, finance incentives pro-
vided by the manufacturer are con-
sidered available to all, and can be 
listed in the disclaimer area with 
freight charges and dealer processing 
fee.   
As a reminder, the processing fee 
and freight (when applicable), must 
be disclosed in an actual dollar 
amount, not just listed as “Price does 
not include processing fee or 
freight”.  
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Three Dallas area auto deal-
ers, collectively known as Southwest 
Kia, have agreed to pay an $85,000 
civil penalty to settle Federal Trade 
Commission charges that they violat-
ed an FTC administrative order bar-
ring them from deceptively advertis-
ing the cost of buying or leasing a car. 
According to the FTC, New World 
Auto Imports Inc., New World Auto 
Imports of Rockwall Inc. and Hamp-
ton Two Auto Corporation concealed 
sale and lease terms that added signifi-
cant costs or limited who could quali-
fy for vehicles at advertised prices, in 
violation of a 2014 order. 
In a TV ad, for example, the dealers 
offered two cars for “under $200 per 
month,” but in fine print that ap-
peared for two seconds, disclosed that 
the offer applied only to leases, not 
sales, and required a $1,999 payment 
at lease signing. One dealer mailed ads 
claiming a new car could be pur-
chased for $179 per month, but in 
print too small to read without magni-
fication, disclosed that $1,999 would 
be due up front, along with tax, title 
and license fees, and that $8,271 
would be due at the end of a 38-
month financing term. 
The FTC’s complaint also cited a TV 
ad targeted at people with major cred-
it problems, such as repossessions or 
foreclosures. The ad touted vehicles 
for $250 per month, but in fine print 
disclosed that the offer was based on 
a 4.25 APR that few, if any, consum-
ers with such major credit issues 
could obtain. In addition, the FTC 
alleged that the dealers advertised 
credit and lease terms without clearly 
and conspicuously disclosing infor-
mation required by federal law, and 
failed to keep records required by the 
2014 order. 

In addition to the $85,000 civil 
penalty, the proposed order pro-
hibits the dealers, in any ad for 
buying, financing or leasing vehi-
cles, from misrepresenting the 
cost of purchase with financing, 
the cost of leasing, or any other 
material fact about price, sale, fi-
nancing or leasing.  It also prohib-
its misrepresentations that anyone, 
including those with poor credit, 
is likely to receive financing or 
leasing, including particular fi-
nance or lease terms. 
The proposed order also bars the 
dealers from violating the Truth in 
Lending Act and the Consumer 
Leasing Act, which require clear 
and conspicuous disclosure of 
credit and lease terms. 
The case was part of Operation 
Steer Clear, a nationwide crack-
down on misleading advertising 
regarding motor vehicle sales, fi-
nancing and leasing. 

FTC $85,000 Enforcement 
Cont. from pg. 2 

 

Click on the picture to 
download the new 2016 DMV 
Dealer Manual. 

https://www.ftc.gov/system/files/documents/cases/160818southwestkiastip.pdf
https://www.ftc.gov/system/files/documents/cases/160818southwestkiastip.pdf
https://www.ftc.gov/system/files/documents/cases/160818southwestkia-cmpt.pdf
https://www.ftc.gov/system/files/documents/cases/160818southwestkia-cmpt.pdf
https://www.ftc.gov/system/files/documents/cases/160818southwestkia-cmpt.pdf
https://www.ftc.gov/system/files/documents/cases/160818southwestkia-cmpt.pdf
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/press-releases/2014/05/ftc-approves-final-consent-orders-deceptive-auto-dealers-ads
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/press-releases/2014/01/ftc-announces-sweep-against-10-auto-dealers
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/press-releases/2014/01/ftc-announces-sweep-against-10-auto-dealers
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/commercial/dealer/pdf/dealer_manual.pdf
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FTC to VW Sellers 

 

As of January 1, 2011, ALL IDO’s of 

independent dealerships must at some point in 

time, recertify their IDO qualification every three 

years by either taking an online course,  

classroom course, or by passing a DMV test.  

Click HERE for more information and HERE 

to determine your recertification deadline.  Please 

note that dealers with Franchise endorsements 

are exempt from recertification.  If you are 

unclear on your recertification deadline, or any 

other recertification questions,  please contact  

Ann  Majors at the MVDB.  She may be reached 

at 804-367-1100 x 3016, or email at  

ann.majors@mvdb.virginia.gov 

Many owners of 2.0 liter Volkswagen diesels will soon 
be able to sell their cars back to Volkswagen AG for 
more than their current replacement value as a result 
of a proposed $10.03 billion deceptive advertising set-
tlement with the Federal Trade Commission. The FTC 
wants to make sure consumers and businesses know 
the facts surrounding the settlement. To that end, the 
FTC issued two new blog posts. 
For potential buyers of affected Volkswagen diesel 
cars, the FTC’s new business blog emphasizes that it 
would be unwise for anyone – including independent 
VW dealers –to make separate offers implying either 
that an offer is part of the $10.03 billion settlement if 
it is not, or that affected diesel owners must buy a new 
VW or Audi. FTC staff will be watching closely to en-
sure that the compensation process is unsullied by de-
ception. 
The new consumer blog, VW owners, get the facts!, ex-
plains that owners of affected VWs should visit 
VWCourtSettlement.com(link is external) to find out 
how much they can get for their cars. It also explains 
that, even though other potential buyers may offer 

what seems like a good deal, these alternative offers may be 
less than what car owners can get from Volkswagen under the settle-
ment. 
The consumer blog also emphasizes that VW diesel own-
ers are under no pressure to act quickly – in fact, the buy-
back program is not yet making payments – and that they 
can use their buyback money for anything they want. (The 
staff contact is Jonathan Cohen, Bureau of Consumer Pro-
tection, 202-326-2551) 
https://www.vwcourtsettlement.com/en/ . 
The FTC also has cautionary guidance for car dealers. Of 
course, there’s nothing illegal about truthful advertising, 
but savvy dealers will steer clear of promotions that could 
deceive owners or lessees of eligible TDI cars: 

 Don’t suggest or imply that you’re making an offer in 
connection with the official settlements in the case. 

 Choose your words wisely. Describing a promotion 
with terms like “buyback” runs the risk of deceiving 
consumers in this context. It’s also misleading to imply 
that consumers have to do business with you or have to 
spend their settlement money on another vehicle. 
Making misrepresentations about the settlement in an 
effort to sell cars could land you in legal hot water. 

 Let’s face it: At some point soon, many current VW 
TDI owners will be in the market for another car. But 
it’s unwise to rush them into a choice before they have 
a complete understanding of their options. Dealers out 
to earn long-term loyalty will encourage affected con-
sumers to register at VWCourtSettlement.com(link is 
external) to get an accurate picture of the alternatives. 

 FTC staff is taking a careful look – a very careful 
look – at ads and direct mail marketing that target af-
fected VW TDI owners. If you see something that 
makes a questionable claim, send us a copy. It’s not 
right for dealers that play by the rules to have to com-
pete with those that don’t. 

https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/blogs/business-

blog/2016/09/whats-deal-deals-dealers-vw-follow?

utm_source=govdelivery 

http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/pdfs/Independent_D-O_Re-certification%20_Regulations.pdf
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/forms/files/RECERT-deadline-April-2017.pdf
mailto:ann.majors@mvdb.virginia.gov
https://ftc.gov/news-events/blogs/business-blog/2016/08/dealers-vw-owners-deserve-straight-story
https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/blog/vw-owners-get-facts
https://www.vwcourtsettlement.com/
https://www.vwcourtsettlement.com/en/
https://www.vwcourtsettlement.com/en/
https://www.vwcourtsettlement.com/en/
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/blogs/business-blog/2016/09/whats-deal-deals-dealers-vw-follow?utm_source=govdelivery
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/blogs/business-blog/2016/09/whats-deal-deals-dealers-vw-follow?utm_source=govdelivery
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/blogs/business-blog/2016/09/whats-deal-deals-dealers-vw-follow?utm_source=govdelivery


It seems to happen after every ma-
jor flood… damaged cars are 
cleaned up and taken out of state 
for sale. In fact, some experts esti-
mate that, typically, half of all vehi-
cles damaged by flooding eventually 
return to market. 
Look for water stains, mildew, sand 
or silt under the carpet, floor mats, 
and dashboard, and in the wheel 
well where the spare is stored. Look 
for fogging inside the headlights and 
taillights. 
Do a smell test. A heavy aroma of 
cleaners and disinfectants is a sign 
that someone's trying to mask a 
mold or odor problem. 
Get a vehicle history report. 
The National Insurance Crime Bu-
reau’s (NICB) free database lists 
flood damage and other infor-
mation. 
Understand the difference be-
tween a “salvage title” and a 
“flood title.” A “salvage title” 
means the car was declared a total 
loss by an insurance company be-
cause of a serious accident or some 
other problems. A “flood title” 
means the car has damage from sit-
ting in water deep enough to fill the 
engine compartment. 
Have your mechanic inspect the 
car’s mechanical and electrical com-
ponents, and systems that contain 
fluids, for water contamination. 
Report fraud. If you suspect a deal-
er is knowingly selling a storm-
damaged car or a salvaged vehicle as 
a good-condition used car, contact 
your auto insurance company, local 
law enforcement agency, or 
the NICB at (800) TEL-NICB (835-
6422). You’ll help someone else 
avoid a rip-off. 
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Flood Damage 

The Power of Attorney to Sign for 
Owner When Registering and/or 
Transferring Ownership of a Motor 
Vehicle”, (VAD 70A) is a three-part, 
secure power of attorney form only 
used by dealerships. The VAD 70A 
shall only be used when the title is 
lost or in the possession of a 
lienholder. 
If your customers wish you to handle 
all DMV transactions necessary to 
complete the transfer of ownership 
or registration and licensing of a mo-
tor vehicle, including any required 
owner signatures and the title or 
MSO is not available the customer 
will need to complete the VAD 70A. 
The customer must disclose the 
odometer reading on the numbered, 
three-part, secure power of attorney 
form, “Power of Attorney to Sign 
For Owner When Registering and/or 
Transferring Ownership of a Motor 
Vehicle”, (VAD 70A).  
If a dealership needs a replacement 
title for a title that they have lost, the 

customer will need to complete 
the back of the VSA 66, 
“Application for Supplemental 
and Transfer Liens or Replace-
ment and Substitute Titles”.  
Note: Power of Attorney VAD 
70A is a federal legal requirement 
(49 CFR Part 580). It is federal 
law that determines the limited 
circumstances for when a VAD 
70A may be used. DMV appreci-
ates the hardship that the limited 
VAD 70A usage puts on dealers. 
However, we must comply with 
federal law and cannot accept a 
VAD 70A unless the title was lost 
or held by a lienholder. Dealers 
and DMV often refer to the VAD 
70A as the “pink PoA” to distin-
guish it from the VSA 70, “Power 
of Attorney to Sign for Owner”, 
which is often called the “white 
PoA” or “short PoA”. Dealers 
cannot use the VSA 70 to sign 
for their customer in any cir-
cumstance. 

Power of  Attorney (PoA) 

A Good Example 
This is a good example of a dealership that logs each dealer tag, and can 

easily retrieve the dealer tag records for the MVDB Field Representative! 

https://www.nicb.org/
https://www.nicb.org/
https://www.nicb.org/#_blank
tel:%28800%29%20TEL-NICB
tel:835-6422
tel:835-6422
https://www.viada.org/forms.php
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa66.pdf


Wally’s Wholesale and Walter Werness  - On June 28, 2016, an informal fact-finding conference was conducted 
to address the alleged violations of failure to have liability insurance on each dealer tag, and material misstatement. 
Based on the information provided at the conference, the assessed  a civil penalty of $1,000 and a written warning.  
 
American Eagle Auto Group, LLC and Ayman  Ibrahim  - On May 18, 2016, an informal fact-finding confer-
ence was conducted to address the alleged violations of unlicensed salespersons, failure to maintain dealer records, 
PoD violations, material misstatements, deceptive acts and practices, and knowingly misleading business conduct.  
Based on the information provided at the conference, the Board assessed an $11,000 civil penalty, and revocation 
of all licenses and certificates issued by the Board. 
 
JJ Imports, LLC and Jahanzaiab Raja  - On August 11, 2016, an informal fact-finding conference was conduct-
ed to address the alleged violations of failure to maintain dealer records, failure to provide proof of safety inspec-
tions prior to retail sale, failure to have liability insurance on each dealer tag, and material misstatement. Based on 
the information provided at the conference, the Board has remanded this issue back to the Hearing Officer for 
further review. 
 
A&R Motors, LLC and Zuhair J. Ramadan - On July 19, 2016, an informal fact-finding conference was con-
ducted to address the alleged violations of temporary tags. Based on the information provided at the conference, 
the Board assessed a $250 civil penalty. 
 
Jack’s Motor Car Corporation and Jack Nasser - On July 26, 2016, an informal fact-finding conference was 
conducted to address the alleged violations of failure to maintain dealer records, failure to have liability insurance 
on each dealer tag, and material misstatement.  Based on the information provided at the conference, the Board 
issued a written warning.  
 
Frontline Motors and Mathew Gwangwaa  – On August 15, 2016, an informal fact-finding conference was 
conducted to address the alleged violations of sales from an unlicensed location, failure to maintain dealer records, 
failure to provide W-2 employment records, failure to provide proof of safety inspection prior to retail sale, acts of 
officers, failure to comply with previous warnings, and deceptive acts and practices.  Based on the information 
provided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $8,000 and revocation of all licenses licenses and 
certificates issued by the Board. 
. 
M & N Auto Sales, and Nukria Balarjishvili.  Paid a $1,250 civil penalty for failure to maintain dealer records. 

ABCDieselz, and Jason D. Adams.  Paid a $1,000 civil penalty for failure to maintain insurance on each dealer 
tag. 

North Irving Motors, and Elfatih Ali.  Paid a $4,000 civil penalty for failure to maintain insurance on each deal-
er tag. 

Kip Killmon Ford, and Clifton B. Killmon, Jr.  Paid a $500 civil penalty for an unlicensed salesperson. 

Rays Auto & Truck Sales, Inc., and Rondal Burks.  Paid a $250 civil penalty for misuse of D-tag. 

All in One Convenience Store, and Muhammad Adrees.  Paid a $500 civil penalty for failure to provide proof 
of safety inspection prior to retail sale. 

High Quality Motors, and Mohammad Kabiri.  Paid a $250 civil penalty for failure to provide proof of sales-
person W-2 employment. 
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Alpine Motor Sports, LLC, and John B. Johnson.  Paid $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain business 
hours. 

Duke Auto LLC, and Chris McAll.  Paid $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain business hours. 

Select Imports, LLC,  and William J. Gurdin.  Paid $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain business hours. 

Blue River Motors, and Michael Ng.  Paid $250 civil penalty for failure to maintain business hours. 

Virtuous Motors, LLC, and Khaliq Shabazz.  Paid $1,000 civil penalty for failure to maintain business hours. 

Speedy Cars, Inc. and Michael Stanley.  On July 20, 2016, an informal fact-finding conference was conducted 
to address the alleged violations of  the dealer advertising on Craigslist under the category "owner" instead of the 
"dealer" category which is considered to be misleading.  Also, the advertisement failed to disclose the processing 
fee and the dealer name or VADLR.  In addition, the advertisement placed a telephone number that did not be-
long to the dealership. Based on the information provided at the conference, the Board imposed no penalty on 
Speedy Cars, Inc., and Michael Stanley. 

Joe’s Blvd Auto Sales, LLC and Yousef Abualia.  On July 7, 2016, an informal fact-finding conference was 
conducted to address the alleged violations of advertising on Craigslist under "by owner" instead of "by dealer" 
category which is considered to be misleading.  Also, the processing fee and dealer name or VADLR failed to be 
disclosed.  Based on the information provided at the conference, the Board assessed a civil penalty of $1,000.  

Tag Automotive Group, and Dwayne Brown.  Paid a $250 civil penalty for advertising vehicles on Craigslist 
under the category “owner” when the advertisements should be placed under the category “dealer”. By placing 
vehicles under the category “owner” it is considered to be misleading.   They also failed to disclose the processing 
fee in advertisements,  and the Craigslist advertisement failed to disclose the phone number the dealership has on 
file with the Board. All of the above violations would also fall under the category of Deceptive Acts and Practices. 

West Broad Hyundai, and Lawrence Page.  Paid a $1,000 civil penalty for advertising the “Online Price” on 
the website, that is not available to everyone, advertising “FREE” in violation of MVDB Advertising regulations, 
and failure to comply to previous warnings. 

Merlex Auto Group, and Amin Kandaharu.  Paid a $1,500 civil penalty for advertising vehicles on Autotrader as 
well as their  Website that appear to have been already sold. This type of advertising is considered to be misleading, 
deceptive, and “bait” advertising, in which an advertiser may have no intention to sell at the price or terms adver-
tised. 

Stones Auto Sales, and Raymond Stone, Jr.  Paid A $1,000 civil penalty for advertising on Craigslist under the 
category "owner" instead of the "dealer" category which is considered to be misleading.  Also, the processing fee 
and dealer name or VADLR failed to be disclosed. 

Joe’s Blvd Auto Sales, and Yousef Abualia.  Paid a $1,000 civil penalty for advertising on Craigslist under "by 
owner" instead of "by dealer" category which is considered to be misleading.  Also, the processing fee and dealer 
name or VADLR failed to be disclosed. 

 

NOTE:  Depending on the circumstances, all Board Actions may be appealed 

              to Circuit Court, or for an administrative hearing. 

For prior issues of Dealer Talk click HERE 
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What’s Wrong With This Picture? 

This dealer was not compliant with dealer records be-
cause there was no systematic retrieval process in place 
for the Field Representative to be able to verify the rec-
ords.  

§ 46.2-1529.  All dealer records regarding employees; lists 
of vehicles in inventory for sale, resale, or on consign-
ment; vehicle purchases, sales, trades, and transfers of 
ownership; collections of taxes; titling, uninsured motor 
vehicle, and registration fees; odometer disclosure state-
ments; records of permanent dealer registration plates 
assigned to the dealer and temporary transport plates and 
temporary certificates of registration; proof of safety in-
spections performed on vehicles sold at retail; and other 
records required by the Department or the Board shall 
be maintained on the premises of the licensed location. 
The Board may, on written request by a dealer, permit 
his records to be maintained at a location other than the 
premises of the licensed location for good cause shown. 
All dealer records shall be preserved in original form or 
in film, magnetic, or optical media, including microfilm, 
microfiche, or other electronic media, for a period of five 
years in a manner that permits systematic retrieval. 
Certain records may be maintained on a computerized 
record-keeping system with the prior approval of the 
Board. 

tracks the number of temporary 
tags issued to each dealer.  A re-
print of the temporary tag will 
produce a duplicate tag with the 
same expiration date.  It is a re-
quirement that the year, make, 
and VIN on the temporary tag 
must match the vehicle on which 
it is displayed.  

If the vehicle will be titled in an-
other state and the paperwork has 
not been completed, the dealer-
ship can process an extension pri-
or to the 30 day temporary tag 
expiration date. The dealer will 
not need to receive approval from 

DMV prior to the extension.  Vehi-
cles being titled in Virginia are not 
permitted an extension unless the 
sales and use tax (SUT) has been paid 
to the DMV.   

A second original 30 day temporary 
tag can be issued (this will create a 
new tag number) for the following 
reasons: 

1. An extension needs to be pro-
cessed for an out of state cus-
tomer and the 30 day tag is ex-
pired. 

2. An extension needs to be pro-

cessed for a Virginia customer 
and the 30 day tag has expired 
and the SUT has been paid. 

3. The temporary tag was voided 
due to entering the information 
incorrectly. 

4. The temporary tag was voided 
due to a contingency of sale. 

When issuing the 2nd original 30 
day temporary tag the PoD vendors 
system will require the dealer to 
mark why a second original is being 
issued.   Questions?  Email dealer-
services@dmv.virginia.gov 

DMV News 
Cont. from pg. 1 
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http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter15/section46.2-1529/
mailto:dealerservices@dmv.virginia.gov
mailto:dealerservices@dmv.virginia.gov


 

 

The path to a Dealer-Operator license begins with a required two-day course of study each month at various com-
munity colleges in Virginia with the curriculum and instruction provided by VIADA. 
The course takes the attendee from establishing the dealership under local zoning and Dealer Board requirements, 
through the sales process with its multitude of forms, laws and regulations, in to a sampling of opening and operat-
ing expenses, and ending with a discussion on ethics. 
The course is open to all existing dealers and their employees.  
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Date College Contact Information 

2016 

Oct 11-12 Northern Virginia in Reston 

Claire Wynn 

703-450-2551 

www.nvcc.edu/loudoun/continuing 

Nov 01-02 Blue Ridge Community College in Weyers Cave 

Registration 

540-453-2215 

www.brcc.edu 

Nov 15-16 Germanna Community College Fredericksburg 

Registration 

540-937-2913 

www.germanna.edu/workforce 

Dec 06-07 Lord Fairfax Community College in Middletown 

Registration 

540-868-7021 
www.lfccworkforce.com 

2017  

Jan 10-11 Germanna Community College , Fredericksburg 

Registration 

540-937-2913 

www.germanna.edu/workforce 

Jan 24-25 Patrick Henry Community College , Martinsville 

Registration 

265-656-0260 

www.ph.vccs.edu 

Feb 07-08 Paul D. Camp Community College , Franklin 

Renee Brown 

757-569-3984 

www.pdc.edu/workforce-
developement 

Feb 21-22 
Virginia Western Community College, Greenville 
Center, Daleville 

Registration 

540-966-3984 

www.virginiawestern.edu 

http://www.viada.org
http://www.nvcc.edu/loudoun/continuing
http://www.brcc.edu/
http://www.germanna.edu/workforce
http://www.lfccworkforce.com/
http://www.germanna.edu/workforce
http://www.ph.vccs.edu/
http://www.pdc.edu/workforce-developement
http://www.pdc.edu/workforce-developement
http://www.virginiawestern.edu/


sites are most useful for their model 
information, vehicle configurators 
and photo galleries, whereas dealer 
websites are found to be most use-
ful for inventory searches, and vehi-
cle pricing and third-party sites are 
most useful for vehicle ratings/
reviews and vehicle comparisons. 
Other key findings: 
— More than half (53 percent) of 
automotive internet shoppers use a 
mobile device. For 2016, 
smartphone usage surpasses tablet 
usage (37 percent versus 33 percent, 
respectively). The use of desktop or 
laptop computers remains most 
common at 92 percent, but has 
been decreasing from 99 percent in 
2012. But the proportion of time 
spent shopping on mobile devices 
continues to increase, with 33 per-
cent of the total shopping time now 
conducted on a mobile device. 
— The three most frequently visited 
third-party sites have remained con-
sistent since 2012 (listed alphabeti-
cally): Consumer Reports, Ed-
munds.com and Kelley Blue Book. 
Among the 37 third-party websites 
measured in the study, TrueCar ex-
periences the largest increase in site 
visitation for a second consecutive 
year. 
The 2016 New Autoshopper Study is 
based on responses from 17,349 
purchasers and lessees of new 2014 
to 2016 model-year vehicles who 
used information gathered digitally 
during the shopping process. The 
study was fielded from February 
through June. 
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auto internet shoppers are YouTube 
(13 percent), DealerRater (7 percent) 
and Facebook (5 percent). 
Thirty-four percent of new-vehicle 
buyers using social media post a pic-
ture of their new vehicle on a social 
site. Of those, 88 percent will post to 
Facebook, followed by Instagram at 
21 percent. 
“Social media platforms aren’t as 
useful as automotive shopping web-
sites for automotive information, but 
they do serve the needs of consum-
ers for unbiased dealer reviews, affir-
mations from other vehicle owners, 
accessing automotive-related videos 
and exchanging ideas and opinions 
with friends and family members,” 
said Battaglia. 
Auto shopping websites still reign 
Traffic to auto shopping websites 
outpaces that to social media sites 
among internet car shoppers. The 
study found that more than nine out 
of 10 visit at least one automaker’s 
site during the shopping process, 
while 84 percent visit a dealer site 
and 79 percent visit a third-party site. 
On average, internet shoppers visit 
10 automotive websites in their 
shopping process: four automotive 
manufacturer websites, three third-
party websites and three dealership 
websites. 
The most frequently accessed con-
tent on automotive shopping web-
sites is model information (89 per-
cent), vehicle pricing (88 percent) 
and photo galleries (81 percent). 
But automotive internet shoppers 
find different types of sites more use-
ful for different reasons. For exam-
ple, they find that automotive brand 

More car shoppers are using social 
media during their search, but a 
small number find the information 
there to be particularly influential. 
According to J.D. Power’s 2016 
New Autoshopper Study, 22 percent of 
internet car shoppers use a social 
media site as a source during their 
search. That’s up from 16 percent in 
2015. 
But of those shoppers who use so-
cial media, only 13 percent said the 
information influenced their pur-
chase decision, and just 2 percent 
said a social media site was the 
“most useful site” they visited. 
“Social media plays a large role in 
many consumers’ lives, so it's not 
surprising that it’s one of the tools 
they're using during the vehicle-
shopping process,” said Mike 
Battaglia, vice president, automotive 
retail at J.D. Power. 
“While we would not expect social 
media sites to compete head-on 
with designated auto shopping sites 
like Toyota.com and Kelley Blue 
Book, it's easy to understand the 
role and relevance social plays in the 
automotive shopping process.” 
The study analyzed how new-
vehicle buyers use digital devices to 
gather information prior to pur-
chase, as well as which websites and 
apps they use during the shopping 
process. The study also examined 
which types of content new-vehicle 
buyers access during their shopping 
process and which content they find 
most useful. 
Details about social media use 
According to the study, the most 
popular social media sites used by 



MVDB Mission Statement 

The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will 

administer sections of  the Common-

wealth’s Motor Vehicle Dealer Laws 

and regulations as charged; while 

providing a high level of  customer ser-

vice for the automotive consumer and 

dealer community. 

MVDB 

2201 W. Broad Street 

Suite 104 

Richmond, VA  23220 

Visit us on the Web! 

www.mvdb.virginia.gov 

U.S. Department of  Transportation offers 
Guidance for Highly Automated Vehicles 

Phone: 804-367-1100 

Fax: 804-367-1053 

E-mail: dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov 

 

Editor:  Ann Majors 

DISCLAIMER:  We make every effort to ensure 
information in Dealer Talk is accurate, but it is not a 
substitute for legal advice. 

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD 
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On September 19, 2016, the White House issued a press release outlin-
ing the release of a fact sheet and guidance documents from the U.S. 
Department of Transportation, related to Highly Automated Vehicles 
(HAV’s).  To read the White House press release, click HERE. 

September 20, 2016, the U.S. Department of Transportation issued a 
regulatory framework for vehicle manufacturers, state regulators and 
other stakeholders regarding the development and deployment of au-
tonomous cars and trucks. The proposed policy initiative comes as both 
traditional automotive makers and tech giants march increasingly closer 
to readying such technology for public use. The proposed guidelines set 
a 15-point safety assessment, which requires autonomous vehicle manu-
facturers to submit a notice to the DOT stating their autonomous vehi-
cles meet certain specifications regarding crashworthiness, individual 
privacy, cybersecurity, safety systems, privacy, data recording, ethics and 
more.  To read the full DOT guidance document click HERE. 

http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov
https://www.whitehouse.gov/the-press-office/2016/09/19/fact-sheet-encouraging-safe-and-responsible-deployment-automated
https://www.transportation.gov/sites/dot.gov/files/docs/AV%20policy%20guidance%20PDF.pdf
https://www.transportation.gov/sites/dot.gov/files/docs/AV policy guidance PDF.pdf

