Administering the Laws and Regulations to the Motor Vehicle Dealers of the Commonwealth of Virginia

Franchise Dealer-Operators

Responsible for day-to-day operations of the franchise dealership and primary contact with the MVDB.


Two Types of Dealer-Operators

There are (2) types of dealer-operators, Franchise and Independent. Both Dealer-Operators are similar in job duties and functional roles. What differentiates between Franchise and Independent DO’s is the oversight and regulatory requirements.

Franchisers require a substantial amount of knowledge and experience for franchise dealership operators. While in 2011, the independent Dealer-Operator Recertification Program was established as a required continuing education program administered by the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board. You can find out more details on the Independent Dealer-Operator Recertification Program.


DMV Service Centers require a $50 Test Fee.

What to Bring?

  • Proper Identification (Valid Drivers License, Passport)
  • $50 payment for testing fee

How to Become a Franchise Dealer-Operator

The first step to becoming a Franchise Dealer-Operator is starting right here...

Take the Franchise Dealer-Operator Qualification Test

To better prepare yourself for taking the Dealer-Operator Test, we recommend you do the following first:
  • Take the Dealer-Operator Practice Quiz and the Salesperson Test Quiz Here
  • Download and use the Salesperson Study Guide (MVDB 35), also located in our Forms and Publications section.
  • Download and use the Dealer-Operator Study Guide (MVDB 34), also located in our Forms and Publications section.
  • Complete the MVDB 57 (Dealer-Operator/Salesperson Qualification Test Application) .
    1. If you DO currently hold a valid Virginia Salesperson License, check on the MVDB 57Dealer-Operator Franchise (80 questions).
    2. If you DO NOT currently have a valid Virginia Salesperson License, check on the MVDB 57Combined Dealer-Operator Franchise (100 questions).
Next: Go to any DMV Customer Center to take the Franchise Dealer-Operator Exam. A DMV associate will set you up on the test console.
  • If you DO NOT PASS the examination test,  you can retake the test the same day or another day. You must pay the $50 fee each time you retake the test. 


Upon passing the Franchise Dealer-Operator exam, you are a qualified Franchise Dealer-Operator. To finalize your qualification, the following must be completed by the dealership and the applicant:

  • The MVDB 61 Application for Salesperson license, (Sections 1, 2, 3, and 4).
  • The MVDB 61 must be signed by the dealership representative and the applicant.
  • Submit the appropriate fee of $50 for the salesperson license to the MVDB.
  • Dealership will submit Criminal Background Record Vendor and report/file as required to the MVDB. Otherwise the MVDB will collect the Criminal Background Check fees from the dealership, prior to issuance of the salesperson license.