Administering the Laws and Regulations to the Motor Vehicle Dealers of the Commonwealth of Virginia


Are you currently a Virginia Licensed Automotive Dealer? Are you looking to become a Licensed Automotive Dealer?     You have come to the right place! 


How Do I Become A Virginia Automotive Dealer?

Are you looking into the business of selling cars and trucks?   How about motorcycles?   Maybe you are looking at selling RV’s or trailers?
Well to do any of that you must become a licensed Motor Vehicle Dealer in Virginia.
MVDB has laid out a detailed step by step process in our section on:

Two Types of Dealers

Franchise Dealers

— A dealer in new motor vehicles that has a franchise agreement with a manufacturer or distributor of new vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers to sell new motor vehicles or to sell used motor vehicles under the trademark or distributor regardless of the age of the motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers (§46.2-1500, definitions)

Independent Dealers

  — A dealer licensed to sell used motor vehicles, trailers, motorcycles and RV’s (§46.2-1500, definitions)

Dealer Renewal Process

The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will mail all forms and documents needed to renew all licenses and certificates approximately 30 days before the expiration date.

The documents below are included in your dealer renewal packet.


Cars / Trucks / RV / Trailer / Motorcycle

Manufactured Home / Watercraft

Non Virginia Motor Vehicle Dealer

If you have not received the packet before the expiration date, please contact the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board.

All forms must be signed, with any fees attached, and postmarked no later than the last day of the month in which the licenses/certificates expire (i.e. March expiration dates must be postmarked no later than March 31) in order to avoid a late fee.

A late renewal fee will be calculated at 50% of your dealer and salesperson’s license fees. Renewal applications received more than 30 days after the expiration date will be treated as a new or original application.

Submitting Changes to the Board

What kind of changes would I submit to the Board?


A dealership goes through changes all the time, but some of those changes need to be submitted to the MVDB so our records can reflect accurate information about your dealership. 

Non-Virginia Motor Vehicle Dealers-Foreign Dealers


Motor Vehicle Dealers Licensed in states (“Foreign Dealers”) other than Virginia  may sell motor vehicles at wholesale auctions in Virginia.  Under no circumstances may Foreign Dealers sell at retail nor sell directly to any Virginia Motor Vehicle Dealer.

To obtain a certificate of dealer registration, you must follow the steps below : 

  • Hold a valid Dealer License in your home state, and include a photocopy of that license with your initial or renewal application for registration
  • Complete a MVDB 52, Non-Virginia Motor Vehicle Certificate of Registration.
  • Fees for initial (new) Foreign Dealers are: $100 for the application and a $60 fee for the Virginia Motor Vehicle Transaction Recovery Fund (Total Fees $160)